We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I recently had the pleasure to stay at the Ole Sereni. I was there during the airport fire and the staff were very flexible and accommodating in a time where information was sparse.
The hotel is excellent, the staff friendly and the food superb. My only down side is the beds are a little firm.
All in all i cant wait to go back and stay there again. Superb

Room Tip: National park views are very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

Recently many travellers such as yourself have gone through hectic time due to the unfortunate Airport fire and we are pleased to know that our service delivery was appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    284
    123
    46
    33
See reviews for
73
153
45
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dingle, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This is by far the best hotel I have stayed in for a long time. It's a rare find in Kenya and this is clearly an international hotel with all the services that belng to this. the rooms have beautiful views on the Park, great rooms and wonderful restaurants. The hotel also has a pool. European prices though...

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
I sincerely thank you for giving us your raving comments.

It only makes us very proud of what kind of Hotel we manage.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I visit Nairobi regularly and have stayed at most of Nairobi's hotels and highly recommend Ole Sereni. The hotel is very well run and in perfect condition, which is rare in other African hotels. The hotel is furnished with interesting decor and has a great atmosphere. The location next to Nairobi National Park means that you get a quiet sleep and can enjoy great views across the African savannah from the bar and restaurant. Ole Sereni is close to the airport, but the trip into the city center can take awhile in the notorious Nairobi traffic jams. A great hotel if you are on vacation, but city center hotels may be more convenient if on business.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room on the Nairobi National Park Side. The other rooms look across an construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback.

It is our constant effort to ensure that we provide the finest of comfort and services to all our guests and a positive feedback as this gives us the boost to perform better.

We look forward to wlecoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I was fortunate to haved picked this hotel on my first visit to Nairobi, it is an excellent hotel with good facilities, the staff are extremely helpful and go that extra mile to help you out when asked. The reception at the hotel is very good with friendly staff welcoming you and making the check experience easy. The food is very good and plentiful and the is not shortage of Tusker (Local Beer) if that's your want. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are visiting Nairobi for business or pleasure. If you go find Shadrack at the hotel reception, an excellent member of staff and cannot do enough to help you.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the national park side good views of the wandering wildlife when it shows itse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

Its overwhelming to hear that we made your first visit to nairobi a memorable one.

Thank you for acknowledging Shadrack as he is an integral part of our team and delivers phenomenal service. I will surely share your sentiments with him.

Once again, I sincerely appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on the way back from a safari holiday in the Central Highlands of Kenya.

The hotel is clean, stylish and located in a great position between the two main Nairobi Airports which meant travelling to and from it was effortless.

I was genuinely impressed with its outdoor bars and restaurants, its swimming pool overlooking the game reserve as well as the attentiveness of the front desk staff.

My room was very clean, comfortable and most importantly quiet which ensured a proper night's sleep

The hotel has been adept at displaying its African roots at the same time as appealing to the international traveller set.

My only development point is that the free WI-FI signal needs to be stronger throughout the hotel rather than in a few pockets.

I would certainly consider staying here again next time I am passing through Nairobi

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review.

I am very pleased to learn that your stay was pleasant and upto your expectations.

I have taken note of the concern you raised on the WI-FI strength and we will address it right away.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

The reception was very good. I received a warmly welcome by the friendly staff. All the staff members that I have interacted with have displayed proffessionalism, friendliness, passion for their work. A great deal of respect has been displayed by all. I have noticed high standard of hygiene within the rooms as well as the dinning areas. The staff really make you feel important. This is particularly important for people that are on business as the business environment can be very hectic times. That been the case, nothing is more refreshing than being received with warmth, respect and dignity by the hotel staff. This just rejuvinates you and you feel recharged after a hectic day.

This unexpected invitation to the evening with the Managers was just a cherry on top, as it really made me feel important and most valued indeed. Keep up the good sense of appreciation of the what keeps you in business, and that is the people. This just affirmed by believe on the reason why we are in business and that is my own way to keep customers happy contrary to popular belief that we are in business to make money. Making money to me is the measure of how well we look after our customers.

Thank you and keep up the proffesionalism that is displayed by your employees and look after them as they ensure that they represent you well,which is sign of goog management and leadership behind.

Thank and I look forward to the next stay with you.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to give us this overwhelmingly positive review.

I coudn't have described it better and I sincerely appreciate it.

Comments like these make us very proud of our trade and only reassures us that we are on the right track in treating our customers the way we always envisioned.

I hope you will continue to patronise Ole-Sereni during your future travels to this part of the world.

Once agin, thank you for sharing your sentiments and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Pretty, clean. Very "African" feel for first night in Nairobi, and extremely convenient to Nairobi International Airport. We spent night and flew out of Wilson next morning. Good restaurant with traditional and ethnic African food, also nice menu, including a children's menu. Spacious, updated roomed to a great nights rest:)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive experience.

Ole-Sereni promotes everything Africa and I am glad you had the opportunity to feel it.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#23 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#39 of 129 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#22 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
8.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
3.0 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#10 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.