We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We only stayed overnight before flying on but I have to say the hotel was excellent. Our room overlooked the national park although we didnt see any animals. The atmosphere was similar to other big hotel chains I have stayed in and the staff were very friendly. the restaurant offered a good, varied choice of food and the chocolate on the pillow at night was a welcome touch. the only negative point relates to the somewhat slippery floor in the room onto which a mat had been placed either side of our beds. This resulted in my slipping up although no harm was done. However it could have resulted in a nasty accident. Despite this I would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

I am truly pleased that your stay was a pleasant one.

We do apologise on the slippery floor issue which is being sorted right away.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    194
    93
    32
    28
See reviews for
50
109
33
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We only stayed in this hotel as a dayroom prior to flying back home after 10 day safari so I cannot speak for how it is for a night but the rooms were pleasant and the hotel restaurant and bar and gift shop were awesome and staff very friendly. My only complaint was that when they walked us to our room with luggage we noticed the air conditioning was not working and right then we told them but in the 6 hours we stayed there no one came to fix it.
The hotel is only 15 minutes from the airport so it is a good location for quick access.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I am pleased that your stay was pleasant apart from the aircon being non-functional.

We sincerely apologise on the poor response time which is unacceptable.

I have taken this up with the concerned team memeebr we will ensure timely response.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Have loved every minute of my stay at the Ole Sereni, the rooms are clean and spacious, the food is fresh and delicious and the staff are friendly and helpful. The big five restaurant overlooks the national park so there's the occasional wild animal traipsing past. The gym is filled with state of the art equipment and I have been nothing but amazed with the service I have received. Many thanks to Shadrak and his team for their hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
I sincerely thank you for sharing your positive comments.

It is truly overwhelming to learn that we exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have ben staing at the Ole Sereni on and off for just over a year. I am hot and cold but would ultimately rate this hotel higher than the Intercontinental and the Hilton. Dependeing on where your business takes you, the location is great. 15 minutes from the airport and close to the main commercial and industrial parks. this means you miss the aweful traffic into the city centre.

Located across from the Nairobi national park, the view is serene, and on occasionally you get to see animals, albeit at a distance. I like the rooms, which are comfortable, tiled as opposed to carpeted which is always a good thing for me. (I hate dingy hotel carpets.)

I have had good food and bad food. (My beef fillet last night was definately beef, and definately not fillet.)

Overall the service is poor. We waited over an hour for our food order last night, and at breakfast it takes a lifetime to clear used tables. This hotel needs improved staff supervision. Management need to gt out of their hiding places and get things moving, and improve the general discipline. If they did this they could move this hotel from okay to superb

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your constructive feedback which I sincerely appreciate.

I have taken stock of your concerns on delayed serviced delivery in the restaurant.

We will take this up with the highest priority and I can assure you that your future visits will experience enhanced service levels.

We look forwar to having you with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

It has a very beautiful scenery looking at the the Nairobi national park. Lovely place for an evening drink or dinner. It gets a bit chilly in the evening but they light up some gas fires that keep you warm. The lighting is also superb for a romantic dinner though they pride themselves as more of a business hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your dining experience.

I am pleased to lean that we added delight to your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at Ole serini for a day on June 8 2013. We arrived fairly early and the staff were kind enough to let us check in at 10 AM and since we had booked a room with the a garden view, we requested if we could get a room with the national park view. The staff checked and informed us that they might be able to arrange one for us. By noon they changed us to the room with the national park view and the views were breathtaking,,,,,Normally these rooms are at a premium but they gave offered it to us at the normal rate.

The staff were extremely friendly, good restaurants with stunning views of the national park and great breakfast with an amazing spread. The only issue was the rooms were slightly smaller in area but who cares when you have the best view of Nairobi national park that no other hotel in Nairobi can offer. The hotel touches the boundary of the park

Room Tip: Room with the national park view.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
I sincerely thank you for sharing your positive experience.

Its truly a treat to hear from a satisfied guest.

I am glad to got to exprience the serene view of the National Park.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We've stayed here twice now. It is clean, comfortable, food is excellent and it overlooks the game park. It is quite expensive but seems to be in keeping with Nairobi prices.
For a bit extra you can have a room overlooking the game park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

We look forward to having you with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.