We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Conference Venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 134 Hotels in Nairobi
Biarritz, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Conference Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I recently held a short conference at Ole Sereni and I must say that the entire team was fantastic; professional, courteous, helpful, and very friendly.

Everyone we met went out of their way to make sure that all of the participant's needs were met. On the final day when I realized that a guest was having a birthday I asked the restaurant staff to help me with a surprise. They looked high and low to find a bottle of sparkling apple juice (even though I had given them the easy out of using soda water and juice) because I said that it would be a better surprise. I selected a few mini cakes and they didn't want to let me leave without making sure that they were nicely arranged on the plate.

Excellent customer service!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the park. I didn't see any animals, but it's a nice view to wake up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
I thank you for taking time to share your positive Conference experience.

We believe that we are in the business of creating delights for our customers and I am pleased to learn that we achived it in our experience.

We lookforward to having you with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    294
    124
    47
    33
See reviews for
76
157
46
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

i have been to this hotel for over a year, the staff are high class trained and attentive to detail and caring. I had a pleasant stay whenever i checkin , the interior design is breath taking lwith the latest patterns and colours, lts a magical and luxurious hotel. i will definitely recommend all guests from all walks of life to experience its pleasure

Room Tip: choose a room facing the beautiful Nairobi national park. It is unique in the world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
I sincerely thank you for sharing your positive stay experience.

It is truly overwhelming to learn that we achieved your expectations and our goal is to continuously enhance our guests experince.

Once agin, I thank you for your choosing Ole-Sereni and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Hotel is nice and staff are friendly. the hotel is located close to the airport and Nairobi national park. The rooms are nicely decorated but the beds are very hard.

Although it is convenient for airline crew that it is close to the airport, I would recommend staying downtown if you are staying for a longer period.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your stay experince.

I am pleased to know that your stay was a pleasant and we look forward to having you with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel is good for the airport and overlooks the national park which is great. The room was excellent, clean and had good facilities. The food in the restaurant was really nice. The gym does the job and I had a nice massage.

Now, the service! Check in took absolutely ages for no apparent reason but the service in the restaurant was the worst I have experienced ever, and it was consistently poor throughout the 5 nights I stayed there. On one occasion after waiting an hour for food we just gave up, the wrong food arrived on numerous occasions, it often took 20 minutes or longer for drinks and that's if they ever arrived. I appreciate I was in Kenya but I felt shocked by how bad it was which is such a shame as everything else was good and the food, when it arrived, was lovely, especially the lamb shank!

Room Tip: Overlooking the national park but not over the bar/restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
I Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I sincerely regret the service lapses you faced on continuous basis. Ole-Sereni surely does not stand for this level of service delivery.

I have taken up your feedback with the team in the most strict manner and we assure that our future visits will not encounter it.

May we request you to recondier our services during your futre travels to Nairobi.

We loo forward to having you with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nice hotel, just in vicinity of airport and a very nice view on the Nairobi national park. Breakfast lunch and diner with a view on the park. Very friendly staff.Swimming pool with view on park, bar facilities and a good organized gym

Room Tip: Book a room which is facing national park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

I am very pleased to learn that your stay was a pleasant one and hope you will choose our services again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I had the privilege to stay at this hotel for six evenings while in Nairobi. The rooms and hotel were clean. The staff, especially the front desk were helpful and whenever I had a question, they were immediately to provide a solution. The food was excellent however I would suggest purchasing a gourmet club card for additional savings. On my next trip, I will be returning as the hotel is safe and close to the city center, and accessible to the airport but a destination in its own right.

Room Tip: select a room overlooking the national park, although don't imagine the park filled with animals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

I am very pleasad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

In recent years Nairobi's traffic has become infamous, in part due to the traffic circles (roundabouts) which are fine with light traffic but become choke points at heavier densities. Over the years many businesses have migrated away from the city center toward the Westlands suburb, which is now as congested as the city center once was. The Ole-Sereni occupies the former site of the US Embassy, which replaced the old city center site which was bombed in 1998, and then was replaced by an even newer Embassy location in Gigiri, west of the city). The Ole-Sereni occupies a long narrow lot along the road to Jomo Kenyatta Airport, in an area which is mostly industrial, and is even closer to the domestic/charter airport (Wilson). The location makes the Ole-Sereni very convenient for onward travel (whether domestic or international), but somewhat less convenient for doing business in Westlands, Museum Hill, or city center.

The unique draw of the Ole-Sereni is that the hotel is immediately adjacent to the Nairobi National Park, and the layout of the restaurant, bar, swimming pool, etc. have been designed to maximize the view of the park. A watering hole is just over the fence from the hotel, and in the dry season a wide range of wildlife (antelope, zebras, giraffes, birds) come to drink in the early morning and evening hours. The building is set back from the road such that traffic noise is not an issue, though when I was there some construction was underway in an adjacent lot.

Rooms are comfortable and modern, though I found the mattress very firm. The mini-bar drinks were lukewarm, but the walk-in shower had plenty of hot water. WiFi was free and had a strong signal. The only restaurant (the "Big Five") has a good mix of international and African-themed dishes, and an outdoor grill/ buffet is popular during evenings and weekends. The pool is on the small side but the fitness center is well-equipped. The barrista prepares espresso, cappuccino etc. to order, but note that these are not included in the breakfast price.

One drawback of the location is that there are no other restaurants, shops, ATMs etc. within easy walking distance, which means that one is somewhat confined to the hotel unless going out by car or taxi. There is a gift shop selling Kenyan souvenirs, coffee, maps, caps, etc. Staff are friendly and well-trained, and the hotel overall is a very good choice provided one does not need easy access to the western parts of Nairobi, and doesn't mind the somewhat isolated location. A cold Tusker beer while gazing at the national park is something none of the other hotels can offer!

Room Tip: Even-numbered rooms face Nairobi National Park, odd numbers face an empty lot or the road. The odd n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
I sincerely thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I also appreciate the way you have described our services and highlighted all the areas.

I am pleased to learn that your stay was a pleasant one and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#22 of 134 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#43 of 134 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#27 of 134 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
8.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
3.0 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.