We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable and near the airports” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Reasonable and near the airports”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is only 15-30 minutes, depending on the traffic, from both airports. So it is handy as a stop over, for a night. It is a popular choice with flight and cabin staff, who appear keen to 'let their hair down', after a long haul flight. The rooms are ok, nothing special, but ok. The food is reasonable and served inside or out, also in the bar as well. The hotel is keen on it's large screens for music and sport coverage....so not a quiet option for a drink! The hotel overlooks the National Park and we did see a few Zebra, from the bedroom window. It would not be my choice for anything longer than one night, but is fine if your flight arrives late or leaves early in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the National Park and on an upper level, if you want a quieter sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your review.

We see that you did not find our comforts up-to your standards but rest assured we will look into the options of enhancing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    194
    93
    33
    28
See reviews for
50
109
33
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a nice hotel which is around 30 minutes from Nairobi's main airport. Getting to/from the airport doesn't involve driving through the centre of Nairobi which is a real plus for anyone who has experienced the driving in Nairobi.
The hotel is spacious with pleasant bars and restaurants. Food is good and staff are pleasant and helpful.
Most of the rooms overlook a Game Park but even with binoculars we failed to see a single animal during our stay - I'm sure they're there somewhere!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

I am pleased to learn that your stay was a pleasant one apart for any game sighting.

I hope your future visits will include this delight.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I deliberated on the title of this posting / review. I did not want to come across to harshly as this is the first time I have stayed at the Ole Sereni in Nairobi, Kenya. It is a nice hotel with an awesome view over the game park when one sits in the restaurant and from some of the rooms. While one overlooks the game park the chance of seeing something closeby is probably slim. We did see some buck clsoe to the watering hole and some birds of prey passing by. In general I cannot rate this as an excellent hotel...it is a good hotel but could be so much better. The finishes inside are looking tired. I found this hotel pricey compared to others I have stayed in in East Africa for the quality of the facilities on offer. The food was good but as in many places service is slow. Having said all this I would gladly stay here next time compared to where i have stayed before...which itself was not too bad. It is close to the airport and also the site I needed to visit for business which is an important consideration in Nairobi since traffic in the capital can be unbelievable if travelling through or close to the peak times and when there has been a rain storm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your valuable feedback.

I have taken stock of your concerns and we will address it with highest priority.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Had an amazing time, the bar was the highlight. The rooms are clean and well furnished with all the amenities one would need. The breakfast is more than adequate and the service is excellent. Thank you all for such a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I am very pleased to know that your stay was a pleasant one.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandahar, Kandahar, Afghanistan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Visited several times while working for a security company. Cool staff,nice food and clean and obvoiusly pinches your pocket a bit. Nice swimming pool on the top floor. All the alcoholic drinks were there and no hustles. Secure parking with a guard.

Room Tip: The side next to the park,excellent with early morning rays
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your review.

I am pleased to learn that your experience was a positive one.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The restaurant is great! We were seated on the balcony facing the National Park and the ambiance at night was superb! There was quite a variety to eat including from the grill. Memories were added to our 2013 Valentines!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dennis,

Thank you for taking time to give your positive review.

I am glad to know your culinary experience was a memorable one and hope you will be a regular at our place.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.