We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short but pleasant stay at OLE SERENI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    293
    124
    47
    33
See reviews for
76
156
46
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I deliberated on the title of this posting / review. I did not want to come across to harshly as this is the first time I have stayed at the Ole Sereni in Nairobi, Kenya. It is a nice hotel with an awesome view over the game park when one sits in the restaurant and from some of the rooms. While one overlooks the game park the chance of seeing something closeby is probably slim. We did see some buck clsoe to the watering hole and some birds of prey passing by. In general I cannot rate this as an excellent hotel...it is a good hotel but could be so much better. The finishes inside are looking tired. I found this hotel pricey compared to others I have stayed in in East Africa for the quality of the facilities on offer. The food was good but as in many places service is slow. Having said all this I would gladly stay here next time compared to where i have stayed before...which itself was not too bad. It is close to the airport and also the site I needed to visit for business which is an important consideration in Nairobi since traffic in the capital can be unbelievable if travelling through or close to the peak times and when there has been a rain storm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your valuable feedback.

I have taken stock of your concerns and we will address it with highest priority.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Had an amazing time, the bar was the highlight. The rooms are clean and well furnished with all the amenities one would need. The breakfast is more than adequate and the service is excellent. Thank you all for such a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I am very pleased to know that your stay was a pleasant one.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandahar, Kandahar, Afghanistan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Visited several times while working for a security company. Cool staff,nice food and clean and obvoiusly pinches your pocket a bit. Nice swimming pool on the top floor. All the alcoholic drinks were there and no hustles. Secure parking with a guard.

Room Tip: The side next to the park,excellent with early morning rays
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your review.

I am pleased to learn that your experience was a positive one.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The restaurant is great! We were seated on the balcony facing the National Park and the ambiance at night was superb! There was quite a variety to eat including from the grill. Memories were added to our 2013 Valentines!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dennis,

Thank you for taking time to give your positive review.

I am glad to know your culinary experience was a memorable one and hope you will be a regular at our place.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Ole is in a great location - close to the airport and right on the national park. This was the first place we stayed in Kenya, so we loved seeing wildlife right away. The food was great, and service was above average. The sunrises and sunsets are also beautiful here. I would definitely recommend for visitors.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Bill,

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I am glad to learn that your first stay in Kenya was a pleasant one.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stay in this hotel regularly. The hotel is conveniently located in the vicinity of the airport which is great if you are in transit and need to spend the night in Nairobi. You will not be bothered by the hectic traffic that is so commonplace for Nairobi. That said, if you need to spend more time in Nairobi, opt for a hotel closer to or in town. Ole Sereni is miles out. First the pro's: the setting of the hotel is absolutely stunning and the breakfast is unbeatable. The rooms, though quite small, are generally also good. The biggest con is the service. I only stay when I am on transit and then I arrive late the hotel. I have now experienced multiple times that our rooms weren't ready (at midnight!) or that we were double charged (we got the money back in the end, but it was serious hassle). This hotel could be such a gem - it has it all, but service needs serious improvement.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Mr. Louise,

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I sincerely regret the service lapses you faced.

We will ensure these shortcomings will not exist during your future visits and I hope you will give us an opportunity to show you the improvements.

I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#24 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#41 of 130 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#28 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
8.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
3.0 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.