We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the middle of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Oasis in the middle of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Had an amazing time, the bar was the highlight. The rooms are clean and well furnished with all the amenities one would need. The breakfast is more than adequate and the service is excellent. Thank you all for such a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I am very pleased to know that your stay was a pleasant one.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    231
    108
    40
    32
See reviews for
59
133
39
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kandahar, Kandahar, Afghanistan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Visited several times while working for a security company. Cool staff,nice food and clean and obvoiusly pinches your pocket a bit. Nice swimming pool on the top floor. All the alcoholic drinks were there and no hustles. Secure parking with a guard.

Room Tip: The side next to the park,excellent with early morning rays
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your review.

I am pleased to learn that your experience was a positive one.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The restaurant is great! We were seated on the balcony facing the National Park and the ambiance at night was superb! There was quite a variety to eat including from the grill. Memories were added to our 2013 Valentines!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dennis,

Thank you for taking time to give your positive review.

I am glad to know your culinary experience was a memorable one and hope you will be a regular at our place.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Ole is in a great location - close to the airport and right on the national park. This was the first place we stayed in Kenya, so we loved seeing wildlife right away. The food was great, and service was above average. The sunrises and sunsets are also beautiful here. I would definitely recommend for visitors.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Bill,

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I am glad to learn that your first stay in Kenya was a pleasant one.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stay in this hotel regularly. The hotel is conveniently located in the vicinity of the airport which is great if you are in transit and need to spend the night in Nairobi. You will not be bothered by the hectic traffic that is so commonplace for Nairobi. That said, if you need to spend more time in Nairobi, opt for a hotel closer to or in town. Ole Sereni is miles out. First the pro's: the setting of the hotel is absolutely stunning and the breakfast is unbeatable. The rooms, though quite small, are generally also good. The biggest con is the service. I only stay when I am on transit and then I arrive late the hotel. I have now experienced multiple times that our rooms weren't ready (at midnight!) or that we were double charged (we got the money back in the end, but it was serious hassle). This hotel could be such a gem - it has it all, but service needs serious improvement.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Mr. Louise,

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I sincerely regret the service lapses you faced.

We will ensure these shortcomings will not exist during your future visits and I hope you will give us an opportunity to show you the improvements.

I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Not only did they pick us up at airport, but also the hotel was excellent. The art in the hotel and the architecture of the hotel were very impressive. The staff and rooms were excellent. But most of all the hotel's location next to the game preserve afforded views from our hotel room of ostriches, antelope and gazelles.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
I sincerely thank you for taking time to give us your positive comments.

I am very glad to learn that your stay was a pleasant one and you even had the opportunity to spot some game in the park.

We hope you will consider our services during your future travels to Kenya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We went there for drinks in the evening and to enjoy the sunset overlooking the Nairobi national park. Entrance is through the hotel on the first floor. We waited near the door that goes to the open terrace to be seated at a table outside. The view from that terrace is amazing. If you're lucky, you get to see some animals in the distance in the national park. Its a great place to see the sunset in Nairobi. So we waited and waited with tables empty but nobody came to ask if we wanted a table until finally one of us went and said please arrange a table for so many people (we were about 10). The waitress said okay in a very subtle tone and hurriedly put one together. Got a good view right near the edge of the park. So we ordered and had our drinks, etc..saw the beautiful sunset. Bill came we paid and got the receipt and change back. We always cross check the bills there for obvious reasons. So the change was short. When asked, the waitress said 'oh we don't have that change'. We spoke to the managing guy there and said its not like we would have minded but its courtesy to tell customers such things. Not everybody checks their change always. Even then, not a single apology from them! I'm not sure whether its a racist issue or what! I just did not have a pleasant experience with the service there.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
I Thank You for taking time to give us your reviews.

I would like to sincerely apologise on the service lapse you experienced. Ole-Sereni surely does not stand for this level of customer care.

May I request that you allow us another opportunity to make up on the error.

I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.