We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near Nairobi Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 7 more sites!
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Falmouth, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near Nairobi Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our travel agent (Extraordinary Journeys) placed us in this very nice hotel due to its location right near the airport. We had a nice room, but particularly liked the breakfast. It was really anything that you could want... omlets, yogurt, fruit, breads and pastries. All kinds of juice were available and the setting was great. I birded during breakfast! I also used the workout room which was completely outfitted for lifting, running, biking, etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I sincerely Thank You for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

Nothing is more rewarding than to hear from a satisfied guest and I am pleased that your experince was memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the ONLY hotel by the Gamepark..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    178
    87
    31
    26
See reviews for
47
105
28
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jorhat
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The rooms are small but very nice. Food is great and the restaurant terrace sitting area overlooking the national park is a great place to sit and have your meals. Overall a tastefully done hotel.The hotel is conveniently located near the airport especially if you have one night before your departure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your comments.

I am very pleased to learn that your stay was pleasant.

We hope you will continue to patronise Ole-Sereni during your future visits to Nairobi

Once again, thank you for sharing your views and we look forward to welcomong you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We arrived late and had to leave rather early, but Ole Sereni satisfied our every need. The staff was very professional, the accommodations were adequate and clean, and the breakfast was far better than average. I must also add that the friend traveling with us left a ring in her room, and we contacted the hotel from the airport, and the hotel preserved the ring for our friend so she could retrieve it when we returned from the Mara. Our travel agent said in all her years this was the first time any lost articles in Nairobi were recovered.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I Thank You for taking time to give us your comments.

I am very pleased to learn that your very short stay was a pleasant one and moreover your friend recovered her posessions. We strive for highest level of integrity with our Team and its overwhekming to see it translated with our guests.

Once agin, we thank you for sharing your positive reviews and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I visited ole Sereni for dinner on valentines and had the most beautiful evening of my life. The hotel is so magnificent. The staff and service and most of all the food was nothing but PERFECT!!!!!. Keep it up.

Wairimu

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive comments.

I am very pleased to know that we made your Special Day even more Special.

Thank you for patronising Ole-Sereni and we look to having you soon with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My first real experience with Ole Sereni. The place has beautiful decor and excellent meeting rooms. I had attended a seminar and really enjoyed the place. I can surely visit again.
Don't forget to try the breakfast. Greatest variety in Town. It is also close to the airport and the National Park

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
I sincerely Thank You for taking time to give us your feedback.

I am pleased to know that your meeting was a successful one and we hope you will choose Ole-Sereni for your future events.

Once again, I appreciate you sharing your views and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tafton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I travel often and the Ole-Sereni is one of our favorite hotels. We have stayed here many times and have always felt secure and very welcome. The staff is superb! Always willing to help and very friendly. Shadrack K has gone out of his way to make our stay comfortable.

We come to Kenya almost every month and will certainly stay at the Ole-Sereni.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Ms. Kathy,

Thank you for taking time to give us your comments.

I am very pleased to know that your stay was a pleasant one.

Shadrack is our Super Star and i will surely share your sentiments on his service levels.

We look forward to having you with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

After some safari days what a difference it was to arrive at the Ole Sereni Hotel. We picked this hotel to be close to the airport for early morning leave the next day. Big and more a hotel for business people. Very modern/trendy decoration and bar with view on the park (we didn't see animals during our evening cocktail).

Excellent food and very big portions (we should not have taken starters since main course and dessert were giant). Try the Leleshwa Kenian wine; good price-quality.

We didn't get much luck with the receptionist who clearly seemed to be new, but with some patience everything went well. Also in the restaurant we were served by a young man who apparently had his first days as a waiter, but this was highly compensated by the professional ladies around.

Luggage was picked up by very positive and professional boys.

Would stay there again if it's only for 1 night and to be close to the airport (= excellent location if you need to be close to the airport). Do ask for a room higher than 2nd floor since there was a party at the 1st floor/ground floor that did last till 3 o'clock in the morning and this could be clearly heard till in our rooms on the 2nd floor.

Very easy 'check-out' and excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher than 2nd floor to avoid noise from 1st floor (restaurant, bar, etc...)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

It gives me great pleasure to know that your stay was a pleasant one and we look forward to having you with us soon.

Once agin thank you for sharing your views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list