We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel is 15 minutes from the airport; thus no need to endure the horrid Nairobi traffic longer than necessary. It is a busy and safe hotel with travellers from around the world. This hotel is next to Nairobi National park, so the views are lovely from rooms on that side, or if you have dinner or drinks at the hotel restaurant and lounge. However, unless you like to sleep on a board, the beds are terribly uncomfortable and the showers could use a renovation.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the National park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your comments.

I regret to learn that you didn't find the comfort levels up-to standard.

We will ensure the concerns pointed our are looked into right away.

Once again, I thank you for sharing your views and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    207
    103
    36
    30
See reviews for
54
119
34
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I wish to breakdown my experience in ole - serene hotel as follows..

1. The security was good during my 4days stay in december. One day we left approx 100 usd in the safe but we did not lock the safe. We even did not notice that we lost some money until when we received a notice from the security and then they later called our room to confirm if the money belonged to us. They gave us the money back.

2. The receptionist (name withheld) was so friendly and very helpful.

3. The big five restaurant was good ESP the buffet breakfast in the morning.

4. Close to the airport and the city too. If you wish to take public transport Mombasa road is just by the hotel..

In summary I am a Kenyan residing in the UAE and I was home for christmas. Was in ole sereni for 4 days with my friend and we both loved it. In a scale a scale of 10 I give it 11 ;)

Frederick

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Mr. Frederick,

I sincerely Thank You for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

There is nothing more delightful to hear from a satisfied guest.

I will ensure that we share your sentiments with the Team.

Once agin, thank for sharing your views and we look forward to welcoming you back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have been here for three weeks and the hotel staff are most wonderful. This is a great lodging point for the many sightseeing areas of Kenya. The location is close to the airport and backs up to the Nairobi National Park. One must take advantage of the game drive through the park. The hotel has an open dining area that overlooks a watering hole in the park. We have seen ostrich, gazelles, and giraffes from the hotel! Excellent dining is available and again the staff is first class!

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
I Thank You sincerely for taking time to give us your comments.

I am delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay and found our services meet your expectations.

We hope you will choose our services again in your future travels.

Once again, thank you for sharing your views and we look forward to having you with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I happened to to be in this hotel for a conference and I had pleasant stay. The hotel is ever busy and the conference was a success. The park scenery was great and I saw some wild ranging from giraffee, ostrich, impala and various birds. At the evening it was a bee of activities at waterhole bar and we had fun as we enjoyed our drinks,the breeze was cool and breathtaking. Services were great from the time I checked in at the reception (checking in was faster than it was previously and I was offered with a very cold mango juice). The restaurant, rooms and the health club was fabulous. I frequently called my fiancé in USA and assured him that the hotel is gthe best suited for our honeymoon because the nice hooneymoon packages offered. I would request all guests from all walks of life to experience for themselves.

Room Tip: Request for a park facing room And additional linen when cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Ms. Philomena,

I am truly overwhelmed by your comments and thank you for taking time to share it.

Nothing is more rewarding than learning about the positive experiences from our guests. This motivates us to excel in all service levels.

I sincerely hope you will choose Ole-Sereni for your precious moments and we look forward to make it a memorable one.

Once again, thank you for sharing your views and we await to welcoming you BOTH soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
406 reviews 406 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Close to the airport with clean rooms yet a few flaws. The check in takes forever, BOTH times that we checked in, even if there is only one person in front of you or the first time we were the only persons checking in after flying for two days! I was served a glass of juice in a broken glass, etc. simple things that need correcting / attention. Stayed here twice once upon arrival to Kenya and right before departure. The first time we were on the 1st floor and the internet worked in our room, the second time on the 3rd floor and it did not work in our room. We went downstairs for a snack one night and signed for the coffee and cake although the waitress could not explain the bill, once back in the room and undressed ready for bed due to an early flight they called and said you can not bill anything to your room from the restaurant so my husband had to get dressed and go back downstairs and pay for the snack. I mentioned this when we checked out and was told that was not correct we could have billed the charge to the room and that they made a mistake. Our wake up call was 15 minutes late and our breakfast we ordered the night before was about 15 minutes late, was not hot and missing some of the order. The first time we stayed there we had breakfast downstairs and it was good, the staff was nice but there were just too many little things that need attention. It is very well located and would stay there again as so easy to get to and from the airport but this time will set my own alarm!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us yor comments.

I would like to sincerely apologise on the series of inconveniences you and your husband had faced. I can assure you that Ole-Sereni stands for far superior standards which obviously we failed to deliver.

I would request you to reconsider our services based on my personal assurance in delivering the finest of service levels.

Once again, i thank you for sharing your views and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel was converted from a warehouse to be the interim US Embassy after the original was attacked & the new one was under construction. Then the hotel converted it into Ole-Sereni. Convenient location to airport in order to avoid traffic all the way to downtown. One side of hotel faces "game park" - not much to see there but ostrich. Pool is nice, and the bar/restaurant facing onto the game park is nice with added touch of reflecting water feature. Food isn't great but service is with a smile. Rooms are pretty small and average.

Room Tip: facing the game park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us your positive comments.

Its unfortunate that you were not able to see much game in the park.

We hope you will choose us in your future travels as well and we look forward to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Location is a major factor when choosing a hotel in Nairobi. Bad traffic makes staying near wherever one needs to visit very important. So on a recent overnight there, between a late-evening international arrival and an early-morning domestic flight, I thought I’d give the Ole-Sereni a try. It’s near to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport (about 5 km), in a great location (on the edge of the Nairobi game park), and impressive-looking (apparently, a conversion of the building used for a while by the American Embassy, although one would never guess from its appearance these days).

Unfortunately, what looks like a five-star hotel offers only average facilities and inadequate service. I checked in just after a tour group, and found no porter available to help with my luggage. (To his credit, the reception clerk saw me struggling with my bags in the tiny elevator/lift and came to assist.) When I got to my room I found that the air conditioning didn’t work. The porter who finally arrived agreed that it was broken. But when I phoned the duty manager, she kept trying to teach me (and the porter) how to use the remote control rather than offering another room. By the time I convinced them to move me, my short night was an hour shorter. The room was OK, nicely furnished but small. The bed was comfortable.

The hotel’s public areas feel like a big lounge – well furnished but crowded (when I arrived) and impersonal. The dining room food was only adequate. The view of the game park from the hotel patio was interesting, but I doubt that people ever see much game so close to the city fence.

On my next overnight turnaround I will try a different hotel near the airport. Otherwise, Nairobi offers much better choices in other parts of the city.

Room Tip: If you choose to pay and extra USD 20 for a room on the park side, stay away from the lower numbered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Mr. Phil,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments

I regret to learn that your stay experience was not upto to your expectations and for that I apologise.

I have taken stock of the concerns you have highlighted and we assure that your future visits will experience a superior product.

Once again, i thank you for sharing your views and we hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;