We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to airport, but taxi was expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Seoul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Close to airport, but taxi was expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Good:
If you need to stay near the Jomo airport, especially when you have an early flight, I recommend this hotel. It serves nice room, wonderful breakfast. It takes just 15 min to the airport, so that you don't need to worry about the traffic.

Bad:
If you are interested in Nairobi city, I'm not pretty sure because this hotel is located in out of the city center. Moreover, hotel taxi was too expensive! Don't take the taxi from this hotel. It will charge you $30 only for 15 min drive to the airport. Totally ripping you off.
And a lot of airport guys will rush to you when they saw you are in the Ole Sereni taxi for asking tips as a return of 30 sec work. If you get to know local taxi, you better get the drivers number.

Room Tip: Hotel price is quite different by website up to $100. You'd better compare prices all the websit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your comments.

Its very unfortunate to learn that you did not find our product up-to mark.

In regards to your comment on our Taxi Tariff, we offer competitive pricing as any other hotel in town.

Once again, I thank you for sharing your views and hope to have you with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    231
    108
    40
    32
See reviews for
59
133
39
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The location of the hotel is close to the airport and away from the citycenter. Very good for early/late flights! The surroundings are quiet and you might get a look at some wild animals from the restaurant if you are lucky!
The breakfast is the best I have experienced in Nairobi and I only wished that I'd more time to eat before my departure.
The room was clean, with own fridge and new bathroom.
The restaurant was fantastic, what a great service and food. I was impressed! During the service there was a band playing and I enjoyed it a lot as they played with good volume, which is great as it is a bit common for bands to play to loud!

Only concern was that the bed was very hard and uncomfortable to sleep on, please add soft madrases and I will be back!

Room Tip: As for a room facing the gamepark!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Olifo,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments with us.

Its truly overwhelming to learn that your stay was satisfactory.

We are in the process of changing our Mattresses and I can assure that your future stays will see that change.

Once again, thank you for sharing your views and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have been to Ole Sereni before.

I will never return.

We made a reservation to have lunch at Ole Sereni's Big Five restaurant on 22nd December, 2012. On 24th December, the hotel called to confirm our booking and i did so.

On 25th of December (the day of our reservation) our family of 5 pax arrived at Ole Sereni, patiently waited for our turn to be seated and gave our reservation name.

That was the beginning of a long long lunch.

Apparently the table we had reserved had been given away to another party. We were asked to sit somewhere else as they tried to find a table for us. One person in our party was on crutches and the other was unwell, apparently this did not matter to the management.

We were seated outside under the sun and beside the band. I declined to accept this as the band was very loud and the sun excessive.

We sat there for 10 minutes waiting for a change of table only to realise that no one was coming back to us!

I walked back to the reception and asked to speak to the Manager. The lady whom was pointed out to me turned out to be the one who needed just a few minutes to find us an alternate table! I asked to speak to HER manager and he was most apologetic.

He found us a table indoors (even if our reservation was for terrace sitting). As we prepared to sit, one of the other waitstaff said that they had found the perfect table for us. I requested the rest of the party to sit as i checked out the new sitting. This was a good move on my part.

A circular table and a rectangular ones had been joint together jutting unto the walk path. The seating would have meant that anyone seated by the path scoot over anytime someone wanted to walk by.....SERIOUSLY????

We retained the indoor seats given. By now it was 2pm for a reservation of 1 pm. We were already tired.

The buffet was disorganized with no clear indication of where to start. Plates could not be found (other than salad plates) and we had to wait for more. The food selection was either sea food (which we are allergic to) or turkey.

For Ksh 4,500 (an equivalent of roughly 45 Euros or 52 USD) i was hoping for more than one protein but there we were.

We served what we could, listened to music and generally tried to relax after such a trying beginning.

As we would our lunch to a close, we realised that the our sitting area was now very hot and stuffy. We noticed that some of the terrace diners had left and asked to be moved to the terrace. Again the lady manager (yes the same one who needed a few minutes earlier) asked for a further few minutes.

10 minutes later i approached her and asked her whether she has managed to find us a vacant table on the terrace. She swiftly replied that none were available, When i pointed out to one empty, cleared available table, she said that perhaps the diners were getting dessert! Then she changed her mind and said that yes we can move there.

We sat at the table devoid of any cutlery and with dirty and stained linens and waited for the linens to be changed and cutlery provided. We were out of luck!!

The lady manager came over and covered the largest stain on the linen with a cloth serviette!!!!! Apparently that was the best they could do!! I was disgusted.

We returned to the buffet to serve dessert only to be informed that lunch was fiished and the kitchen was closed and as such NO DESSERT!!!! FOR 4,500 YOU CLOSED THE KITCHEN AND THERE IS NO DESSERT???? ARE YOU SERIOUS!!

I again turned to thr reception and asked how this could be from a lady manning the reception by the name of Jamila. Jamila turned to her colleague and broke out into swahili leaving us wondering whether the conversation was for us? About us? with us????? Jamila said that she will get back to us.

We set back on our filthy table and waited for word from the hotel as to the dessert situation.

We saw a few friends and started chatting only to realise they had also had a terrible time of it. Reservation lost, repeated requests for drinks, dissatisfaction with buffet and of course NO DESSERT!! Clearly this was not an isolated incident of poor service from the staff.

They introduced us to another party which had been seated for 15 minutes with NO acknowledgement from any of the staff. The party left immediately after and yes, they will also NEVER return to Ole Sereni!

Jamila came back to us and with the worst attitude i have ever seen from someone in the service sector told us we can serve dessert.

Fruit skewers and cake slices. The fruit skewers had clearly been hastily put together and the watermelon in them had gone bad. The cake selection was terrible and no one had more than a bite. We had to select our dessert plated carefully as several plates were dirty!!

We reiterated our request for cutlery to use for dessert and by the time we received it, we had used our fingers and realised it just wasnt worth it!

We asked for our bill and quietly paid and left. We were exhausted from our attempts to get the mediocre service we received.

At a total of Kshs 26,500 ( 234 Euros or 311 USD) this was the WORST experience that we could have had on Christmas day.

There was absolutely NO value for our money and the management and staff in no way made this an enjoyable meal. The customer service left a bad taste in my mouth as did the rotten fruit and the terrible attitude from their staff.

I have been to Ole Sereni before.

I WILL NEVER RETURN!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Ms. Wambui,

Thank you for taking time and effort to share your experince.

I regret to learn that your experience was not satisfactory.

May i please request for your contact info as i would like to personally get in touch with you to resolve this issue.

Ole-Sereni surely does not stand for this level of service and I would like to request for an opportunity to assure you of it.

I sincerely request for your response and hope we can have you back as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

First, they didn't have any Fanta or Sprite which in essence meant they only had Coke, club soda and tonic water for soft drinks selection. There was no coconut cream so they couldn't make piña coladas, despite having a hypermarket 5 minutes away. Lastly, I ended up changing my order from the tandoori chicken because they didn't have it. Yes they had chicken, but not tandoori, which is a bit confusing.

As for the actual dining experience. Service is prompt and the staff are helpful. We tried their cosmopolitan, mojito and mai thai. the mojito was really good, the rest were passable. My friend's glass was chipped but she didn't want to make a fuss. The tempura prawn, caprese salad and calamari starters are good. Entrees were good but I expected spectacular. Then everything went downhill. It took almost 15 minutes to clear the table, they forgot the drinks order we made when they were clearing the table and depending on your waitstaff, you might not be allowed to order dessert from the main restaurant past a certain time, even if that's where you ordered your lunch from. Dessert was. . .sweet. Not much else to say about it.

They should also look into a small play area for kids.

In conclusion, the major plus points are the amazing view and ambiance. The food is ok, not memorable especially for the prices.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Sir / Madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments.

Our sincere apologies on the inconveniences you had faced especially on the delay in service. I have taken stock of your comments:

1. Unavailability of Fanta / Sprite: The outlet where you were dining 'Waterhole' did run out of it but it was organised from the other outlet which took some time and we apologise for it.

2. Tandoori Chicken: Since it was festive season we were not running our regular menu but only the Buffet hence the reason of the non-availability.

We would like you to give us another opportunity to ensure you are satisfied with our services. Our Food & Beverage Manager has been trying to get in touch with you but in vain.

We look forward to having you with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed one night at this Hotel on our way from London to Zanzibar. The room was quite small, same for the bathroom that is basically composed by a basin in the room itself and a shower box. Breakfast buffet is nice & rich and the terrace overlooking the park is lovely. Check-in and check-out process was very slow and the transfer to the airport that we booked with them was late. We had the impression that rather than respecting the arranged time they were waiting to see if they could have more people on the same van. The driver was finally convinced to leave after informing him that he would have paid for a new flights in the event we had missed our flight. Definitely expensive for what offers, however very convenient to reach the airport and if you fancy a quick Safari in the park. I would suggest to book your own transfer and not rely on theirs.

Room Tip: Do not rely on their transfers to/from airport or attractions
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Sir / Madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments.

My sincere apologies on the delays you faced. Ole-Sereni surely stands for superior service standards.

May I request you to reconsider our services in your future travels as you will experience a far superior stay.

Once again, I thank you for sharing your views and wish you a Brilliant 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Do not stay at this hotel if you are expecting to see animals. The hotel is adjacent to scrub land of the Nairobi National Park. If you wish to see elephants and other assorted African animals, then go the large game reserves of the Coastal Province.

Be sure to ask for a room facing the park, otherwise you will be given one facing the highway. It is also a good idea to ask for a non-smoking room unles you are a smoker. The rooms are smal but confrotable.

The big plus of this hotel is its location close to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Sir / Madam,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience.

I am sure it was very disspointing not to have any sight of animals in the Game Park. Lately there has been much human traffic in the park which has made to animals move away from this side but they do come across during early hours of the day and especially during the night.

I hope you will get to see them during your future visits.

Once agin, I thank you for sharing your views and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

i had a pleasant stay at ole-serene between 24/12/12 and 26/12/12 and the is hotel good with very friendly and helpful staff, decent and comfortable rooms with the latest facilities and guest have a choice of smoking or non smoking rooms, the big five is amazing providing a wide taste of varieties and guests from all walks of life have full satisfaction. I really appreciate the heated and controlled swimming pool where i and my friends from South Africa enjoy chilled beers while overlooking the African Ocean( national park). The presence of animals in the park was a peculiar experience: ostrich, giraffe e, the cranes, antelopes. i am delighted to be in such a prestigious and luxurious hotel where by all my requirements are taken care of especially by one cheerful guest relation officer called Shadrack whom is best suited in the hospitality industry. As a well experienced traveler in the all continents i will recommend all guest visiting Nairobi to stay at Ole-sereni hotel.

imo hoffman.
hoffman_@yahoo.com

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Mr. Hoffman,

I sincerely appreciate the time and effort you have taken to give us your comments. Thank you.

It's very rewarding to see a guest who is satisfied with our services.

We look forward to your continued patronage.

Once agin, thank you for sharing your positive experience and we wish you a brilliant 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.