We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 124 Hotels in Nairobi
Bagshot, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Total relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A wonderful hotel, the staff always go out of their way to be helpful.
The food is excellent, especially the buffets and great value for money.
The gym is wonderful and the massage after a real treat!
The only slight negative for me is that there is no bath only a shower although it is a walk in shower that is easily big enough for 2!
The hotel is set on the edge of a game reserve with the restaurant and pool areas in prime viewing position and the introduction of a new watering hole should mean more animals to watch.
Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Mr. Nicola,

Thank you so much for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

I am delighted to learn that your stay was a pleasant one especially the Health Club facilities. We are however considering the option of installing a bath tub.

I am sure in your future visist, you will see a refreshing change.

Once again, thank you for sharing your views and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    257
    117
    44
    33
See reviews for
65
148
44
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were staying here at the end of our safari for one night and had a flight in the morning, so the proximity to the airport was great.

The hotel itself was great. When we arrived there was some confusion with our booking but they went out of their way to sort it out and get us a room. We did not have a room facing the National Park, which would have been great, but it was clean and well presented with nice touches, like the beautiful animal photos.

The restaurant food was delicious, good value and best of all the tables had a view over the Nairobi National Park.

There was free internet available in the business centre for guests.Even though it is close to the main road, you do not hear traffic noise.

There is not alot else around the hotel, but if you are there to just staying there to be close to the airport then it is a great spot.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view over the National Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Mr. Kyle,

Thank you so much for taking time to give us your positive feedback.

I sincerely appreciate it.

I promise you will have the best room facing the National park during your future visits:)

Once agina, I thank you for sharing your experience at Ole-Sereni and look forward to having you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Reserved table,party of 8, we were seated way in the back, no service/attention for fifteen minutes. We moved, after battling with the hostess who only backed down after we decided to leave. Super slow with the drinks, the food,the bill. The food was ok, but the service killed it. Never again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Mr. Hanif,

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

Our sincerest on apologies on the painful delay you faced in geeting served.

Ole-Sereni surely doesn not stand for this level of customer service.

May I please request you to reconsider our services with an assurance that you will be positively delighted.

I look forward to having you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great experience in the hotel tell living for almost for six months, working and living very well and inserting live style in Africa. Aziz the marketing manager very good and friendly, a lot of friends from the hotel due the service that they bring to me. Good place to back for more vacations. And the safari very good experience in the natural environment. Rooms are ok and quiet.

Room Tip: Higher floors better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Mr. Alvaro,

Thank you so much for taking time to log your feedback.

I am glad to know that your stay has been a pleasant one.

I hope you enjoyed our services as much as we enjoyed having you with us.

We thank you for patronising Ole-Sereni and look forward to welcoming you back.

Buen Viaje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Proximity to airport is main thing. It is a nice enough place, recently remodeled. Rooms are small, but adequate, especially for overnight close to airport. Restaurant is good, service okay though not up to the price. Overall it is good for a late arrival or early departure. If I had need of longer stay thee are many other choices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Mr. Robert,

Thank you for taking time to log your feedback about our services.

You had mentioned about the 'Service' levels which were not up-to mark. May I please know in which way it was lacking so we can address it right away.

Once again, I thank you for your inputs and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here in October 2012. Hotel is located close to the airport, so you avoid the terrible Nairobi traffic on your way in. Means that for traveling into the city you have to have a lot of patience. Traffic jams can be enormous. Hotel is nice, former US Embassy. Right next to the Nairobi National Park. Woke up with views of grazing antelopes and beautiful birds. Food in the restaurant is okay, but nothing special. Service, both in restaurant and bar, can be very slow. But hey, you've got a great view to kill time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback which will go a long way in improving our service levels.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Ole-Sereni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I arrived at this hotel, with a group of friends, late at night after a delayed flight from England, only to be told that they had sold our rooms that had been pre booked. They clearly had an arrangement with a nearby hotel that they moved us to, but when you arrive late at night and tired it is definitely not what you want to do. We had chosen this hotel as it is close to the airport and saved us going into the centre of Nairobi after a late flight, in future we will be going back to the hotel we have used before and always had impeccable service. The manager even stood in the hall as we loaded our luggage back into the taxis without so much as uttering any apology at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Ms. Jane,

Thank you for taking time to log your feedback.

May I profoundly apologise for the series of inconveniences you had faced during your experience with Ole-Sereni. We surely do not stand for it but obviously we failed to deliver our promise to you.

May I please request you to reconsider your decision on not choosing us. You have my personal assurance that your future travels will have my personal assurance on a far superior experience.

I really hope you will offer us this rare opportunity to make up for the recent experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Ole-Sereni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.