We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great reception team and views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great reception team and views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here for one night - and were treated superbly by the reception team and restaurant team.
The rooms were not big but comfortable and more than adequate, though we would prefer to have a bit more privacy with the tolilet in the bathroom

The food in the restaurant was superb and breakfast was excellent

The views from the bar on the verandah on the first floor was fantastic, and it was a bonus to sit and watch sunset while sipping a tusker beer

The only fault I could find was the verandah bar staff were not as helpful as the rest of the team - they were a bit arrogant and slow, acting as though they were doing us a favour

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Mr. Mike,

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

I am thrilled to know you had a pleasant experince with us apart from the slow service in our Waterhole Bar.

I assure you that your future visits will witness a superior service levels.

Once again, thank you for choosing Ole-Sereni and i look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    231
    108
    40
    32
See reviews for
59
133
39
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neptune Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I book a room there because was close to the airport, coming back from a safari it is good to know that you don't have to go for a long drive againg the next day. We got upgrated because we where on our honeymoon trip, we needed an iron it was at our room in minutes and also a jacket that need to have clean we got it in two hours, dinner was good and we needed to leaved for the airport at 6:30 am , we had our breakfast and they made sure a taxi was at the hotel on time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Ms. Patricia,

Thank you so much for logging your feedback.

I am thrilled to know you had a pleasant stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I recently stayed at the Ole Sereni for four nights while in Nairobi on business. It’s fairly close to the airport and next to a game park, but entirely self-contained; there’s nothing else in the immediate vicinity. As others have noted, the rooms, while not spacious, are equipped with all the amenities. Those on the game park side have much the better view, although animals were not often in evidence during my stay. Breakfast buffet was better than average but some items on offer one day were not there the next. The verandah, accessible from both the restaurant and the bar, is a big plus in terms of leisurely dining or hanging out. On the minus side, the business center was way below par for a luxury hotel – often there was no one in charge, and even simple tasks like printing and copying were frustratingly difficult. The front desk staff generally seemed able to handle normal routine but was flummoxed by anything out of the ordinary, while the restaurant service ranged from adequate to slow. Given the prices it charges, the hotel could do a better job overall.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor on the game park side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Mr. Marty,

Thank you for taking time to log your feedback.

I have taken stock of your findings especially in regards to the Business Centre and the Reception and I aplogise for the inconveniences. We will ensure these lapses do not occur in future.

I sincerely hope you will consider our services in your future travels to Nairobi.

Once again, I thank you for your inputs and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I cannot express my dissatisfaction STRONGLY enough with the Ole-Sereni Hotel.

I was one of a party of six who had flown from London to arrive after midnight in Nairobi just over a week ago, to be picked up at the airport by Ole-Sereni as arranged, only to arrive at the hotel at 12.30, tired and travel weary, to be told they did not have our rooms - they had SOLD them on!!!!.

We had all the booking confirmation emails with us, they had our credit card as security and nothing - they didn't give a toss. We asked for the duty manager and to say he didn't care about leaving six tourists high and dry in Nairobi after midnight is an understatement!! he even stood in the lobby and watched us leave without as much as an apology.

One of the ladies at reception arranged rooms for us at a nearby hotel but we were not permitted to leave and go to this hotel until she had taken a copy of our passports and took payment (again) for the second hotel, plus the cost of collecting us from the airport, and plus the cost of the cars to take us there. It was quite clear to us that this was a standing arrangement with the second hotel and we were not the only tourists to be treated in this way - and there were two more groups of international travellers at the counter getting the same appalling treatment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Ms. Michelle,

Thank you for taking time to log your feedback.

May I profoundly apologise for the series of grave inconveniences you faced during your recent experience. A standard hotel surely stands for far superior levels of service and obviously we failed to make our mark.

I thoroughly understand your aggravation as you deserve far superior level of care and service levels.

I can assure you that I have taken stock of your inputs with the concerned Dep't heads and we have addressed it with outmost priority.

Should you ever happen to visit this part of the world in future, may I please request you to reconsider our services as you will have my singular attention towards it.

Once again, thank you for your inputs and hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallevik, Sweden
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The room was great but relatively small. It was however nice decorated and it had all essential things that you could need, inclusive AC.
The food in the outside bar was very nice and tasty but the service was very slow. I had to ask quite a few times before I could order and it took at least thirty minutes before the food, I only ordered toasts, to come.
The breakfast was lovely and tasty.
If you have an early flight, choose this hotel, it only takes you 15 minutes to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Had lunch at big five restaurant. Food took a long time but was worth the wait. Restaurant staff very slow and lacking in energy. Plates not cleared from table long after we had finished. Tried several times to catch eye of any waiter and eventually got one to give us our bill. For prices charged, the service is average.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good location for both airports some rooms have nice views over the national park which we were lucky to have. The hotel its self is very nice with good facilities however it is severley
let down by incompetent staff and management

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.