We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, lethargic staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekend offer of $ 199
Ranked #23 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good food, lethargic staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Had lunch at big five restaurant. Food took a long time but was worth the wait. Restaurant staff very slow and lacking in energy. Plates not cleared from table long after we had finished. Tried several times to catch eye of any waiter and eventually got one to give us our bill. For prices charged, the service is average.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    215
    103
    38
    32
See reviews for
57
126
35
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good location for both airports some rooms have nice views over the national park which we were lucky to have. The hotel its self is very nice with good facilities however it is severley
let down by incompetent staff and management

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed one night at the Ole Sereni at the recommendation of my travel agency, True Africa. I needed a place to stay while waiting for a flight to Addis the late the next day. True Africa arranged for all my transfers and lodging and everything went very smoothly. The hotel is very nice, modern and the public rooms are beautifully decorated. Front desk service was very good and the restaurant was excellent. I spend most of the late morning and afternoon on their veranda overlooking the park. Don't expect much in the way of wildlife viewing however. I only saw one antelope and an ostrich in the distance. The Ole Sereni is a bit expensive, but its location , nice rooms, and good restaurant make it a very pleasant stay for people flying in or out of Kenyatta airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Nice clean and good hotel with good service. The room was good. Check-in was good and fast. Food in the restaurant is excellent, well presented and the service is superb. Kindly note i am a regular visitor to this hotel and member of the Gourmet Club. They have nice theme nights in the restaurants esp for Friday and Saturday. The hotel is conveniently located on the main road to the airport and Mombasa. You will definitely love the experience.

Room Tip: Choose park facing rooms, there is a watering hole where you can chance to see some animals early mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had stayed on 3 separate nights in Ole Sereni, at the end of September 2012. The hotel is great for an overnight or short stay, however as the rooms are small, it would not be ideal for a longer visit.

The location of the hotel is ideal for onward travelling, it is about halfway between the International airport and Wilson Airport. If you not going into down town Nairobi, best to stay outside as the traffic can be horrendous, 2 hrs for a couple of miles of journey.

We first arrived in the evening from Heathrow, with a morning flight to catch from Wilson to Mara, the second time, we booked in lunchtime after returning from Mara, with a morning flight to catch from the International airport to Zanzibar. Finally another evening arrival from Zanzibar and returning following night to UK. The staff was at all time very friendly and helpful. For our final day we have arranged a late booking out from the hotel at 6 pm, so we could relax and meet up with some friends for lunch.

The decoration of the hotel is beautiful. The terrace overlooking the National park is great place to eat, drink or just chill out. There is an outdoor swimming pool, which looks inviting, however we did not had time to try it out.

As I mentioned the rooms are on the small side, but they where very clean, and tastefully decorated. There is a mini bar with free mineral water, tea and coffee making facilities and a safe. Also shampoo, soap and shower gel provided and a hair-dryer. We stayed 2 nights in rooms facing the National park. This rooms are a bit larger and more expensive, but the view of the park is great and we have seen giraffes, zebras and ostriches before getting dressed in the morning. Also the bathrooms have baths, instead of just shower cubicles. The rooms overlooking Mombasa Road are decorated same as the park view ones, slightly smaller and only showers.

We had 3 breakfasts, 2 dinners and buffet lunch in the hotel and both the service and the quality of food was excellent. The shop is well priced and we have bought some items for bringing home as presents.

All in all, it is a very good hotel, and would stay again. Already recommended it to friends who are going to stay there next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uae
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

close to Nairobi international airport (20 minutes) as well as Wilson (25 minutes) airport. situated on the boundary of Nairobi National park, so you get to see animals if you are lucky. Rooms are clean and moderate size. Buffet breakfast good and even the dinner was good. Staff is friendly and service is prompt. Check out was quick. Quieter location then panari Hotel as panari is located on the main road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

For those travellers who are basing themselveds in Nairobi or looking for somewhere to park themselves for a night or two before heading out on a Safari then this place will give you complete peace of mind. The hotel felt very safe, was of a very high standard and the food/drink was also good with a very wide variety to suit all tastes.

We stayed with our 2 chilfren and had a king bed with an interconnecting room with 2 single beds.

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.