We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hassle Free But Expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 131 Hotels in Nairobi
sao paolo
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hassle Free But Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

If you're just passing through Nairobi airport and don't want to deal with the traffic and go into the city then you'll probably consider this place. There isn't much choice in the way of airport hotels near Jomo Kenyatta and this is reckoned to be the best of the bunch. It's an expensive but safe option with big clean rooms. Ask for a view over the park and you might see a buck if you're lucky. Check in can take ages. There are hookers in the bar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    293
    124
    47
    33
See reviews for
76
156
46
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

When I say "close to the airport" it's bout five miles, but still probably the most convenient. I stayed for one night in transit from Uganda to Zambia and was really impressed. Its location is a little strange ... it looks as though it's been plonked in the middle of nowhere, just off he main Mombassa Road... but it does look straight out onto the Nairobi National Park.

There's not much you can say about the place which isn't good ... Good service, good room, good bed... extra toiletries provided very quickly, good food and just a nice place to be...

We took an airport taxi to the hotel and got the same driver to pick us up next morning, which seems the cheapest way to do it...

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the National Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was a welcoming visit after 10 days of seat bouncing, dust, early rising and late evenings in the Kenyan countryside. The 2 day stay prior to our departure for Europe provided excellent views of the National Park, patio area to have beverages/snacks, buffet breakfast, dinner menu not extensive but well prepared and exceptional Kenya gifts in the Gift Shop. Staff was attentive, friendly, room was well lit, A/C worked well and exceptionally clean. It's location provides easy access to both major Nairobi Airports.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the Reserve for animal watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Good hotel and excellent staff. Prices a bit high .For transport from the hotel I would advice to get a taxi from outside. Hotel transport is too expensive and charges per person using the same taxi. My partner and I  wanted to go to town and we used a public transport from the main road. 

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had an overnight stop here last week. The problems with my room when I checked-in (the aircon wasn't working) were swiftly sorted. The room was fine, but a little small. The food in the restaurant and for breakfast were excellent. The place was very busy and it's obviously where a lot of people meet up on a Saturday night. It overlooks the Nairobi national park, and so, potentially, you could eat breakfast or drink a sundowner whilst watching Buffalo, Zebra and Giraffe, but none showed up during my stay. It's very handy for the airport - ten minutes away. On the downside was the cost. It was a nice hotel, the staff were very helpful and friendly, but was it worth $240 ? probably not

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

After an epic adventure around Kenya, this was our last overnight stop, as the hotel was near the main airport for our flight back to the UK in the morning. It was suggested by our tour operator Somak as it saved a trek back into Nairobi city and all the traffic congestion that goes with it. Having traveled all day and arrived at the hotel mid evening, we were all tired, but the check in was fast and efficient and our rooms were of a good standard and both overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park.
The staff are very attentive and the food was very good, but the service in the restaurant was a little slow. The buffet breakfast in the morning was excellent and we would definitely stay here again prior to departure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed at Ole Sereni for a night because we had an early flight the following morning and given the traffic situation in Nairobi we thought it would be safe for us to spend the night there.Well, when we arrived at the reception desk,the gentleman at the reception did not seem very enthusiastic to serve us.We requested him to organize an early pick up for us and that meant that we needed to have our breakfast early too.By 6am,breakfast was not fully set -up.Some stations had not been stocked as yet,so we made do with what was available.Now the disappointment was when we went checked out and we asked which cab we were using to the airport.The person manning the reception that morning was surprised and told us that there were no such arrangements booked in their system yet we paid for it.When we went at the pick-up door no one seemed interested to get us a cab,the staff out there kept blaming the staff at the reception but to be very honest,that was none for our problem....all we needed was better service.To us there is no Ole Sereni Reception or Ole Sereni security etc etc.We waited for about 30 minutes and we eventually gave up and had to grab a cab that was coming to drop off some guests because we were getting late and had a connection flight.Of course we never got our refund back.
We also felt that the rooms were too tiny for 200USD charge.
The dinner though was superb.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#24 of 131 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#41 of 131 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#28 of 131 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
8.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
3.0 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 131 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.