We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hassle Free But Expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekend offer of $ 199
Ranked #24 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
sao paolo
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Hassle Free But Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

If you're just passing through Nairobi airport and don't want to deal with the traffic and go into the city then you'll probably consider this place. There isn't much choice in the way of airport hotels near Jomo Kenyatta and this is reckoned to be the best of the bunch. It's an expensive but safe option with big clean rooms. Ask for a view over the park and you might see a buck if you're lucky. Check in can take ages. There are hookers in the bar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    226
    108
    39
    32
See reviews for
59
129
37
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

When I say "close to the airport" it's bout five miles, but still probably the most convenient. I stayed for one night in transit from Uganda to Zambia and was really impressed. Its location is a little strange ... it looks as though it's been plonked in the middle of nowhere, just off he main Mombassa Road... but it does look straight out onto the Nairobi National Park.

There's not much you can say about the place which isn't good ... Good service, good room, good bed... extra toiletries provided very quickly, good food and just a nice place to be...

We took an airport taxi to the hotel and got the same driver to pick us up next morning, which seems the cheapest way to do it...

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the National Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was a welcoming visit after 10 days of seat bouncing, dust, early rising and late evenings in the Kenyan countryside. The 2 day stay prior to our departure for Europe provided excellent views of the National Park, patio area to have beverages/snacks, buffet breakfast, dinner menu not extensive but well prepared and exceptional Kenya gifts in the Gift Shop. Staff was attentive, friendly, room was well lit, A/C worked well and exceptionally clean. It's location provides easy access to both major Nairobi Airports.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the Reserve for animal watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel and excellent staff. Prices a bit high .For transport from the hotel I would advice to get a taxi from outside. Hotel transport is too expensive and charges per person using the same taxi. My partner and I  wanted to go to town and we used a public transport from the main road. 

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, England
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had an overnight stop here last week. The problems with my room when I checked-in (the aircon wasn't working) were swiftly sorted. The room was fine, but a little small. The food in the restaurant and for breakfast were excellent. The place was very busy and it's obviously where a lot of people meet up on a Saturday night. It overlooks the Nairobi national park, and so, potentially, you could eat breakfast or drink a sundowner whilst watching Buffalo, Zebra and Giraffe, but none showed up during my stay. It's very handy for the airport - ten minutes away. On the downside was the cost. It was a nice hotel, the staff were very helpful and friendly, but was it worth $240 ? probably not

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

After an epic adventure around Kenya, this was our last overnight stop, as the hotel was near the main airport for our flight back to the UK in the morning. It was suggested by our tour operator Somak as it saved a trek back into Nairobi city and all the traffic congestion that goes with it. Having traveled all day and arrived at the hotel mid evening, we were all tired, but the check in was fast and efficient and our rooms were of a good standard and both overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park.
The staff are very attentive and the food was very good, but the service in the restaurant was a little slow. The buffet breakfast in the morning was excellent and we would definitely stay here again prior to departure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed at Ole Sereni for a night because we had an early flight the following morning and given the traffic situation in Nairobi we thought it would be safe for us to spend the night there.Well, when we arrived at the reception desk,the gentleman at the reception did not seem very enthusiastic to serve us.We requested him to organize an early pick up for us and that meant that we needed to have our breakfast early too.By 6am,breakfast was not fully set -up.Some stations had not been stocked as yet,so we made do with what was available.Now the disappointment was when we went checked out and we asked which cab we were using to the airport.The person manning the reception that morning was surprised and told us that there were no such arrangements booked in their system yet we paid for it.When we went at the pick-up door no one seemed interested to get us a cab,the staff out there kept blaming the staff at the reception but to be very honest,that was none for our problem....all we needed was better service.To us there is no Ole Sereni Reception or Ole Sereni security etc etc.We waited for about 30 minutes and we eventually gave up and had to grab a cab that was coming to drop off some guests because we were getting late and had a connection flight.Of course we never got our refund back.
We also felt that the rooms were too tiny for 200USD charge.
The dinner though was superb.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.