We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel on Mombasa Road” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel on Mombasa Road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel has good looking and design. It is near airport and just across Airtel Parkside Towers.
You can order rooms that has beautiful view to Nairobi national park. The room has excellent bed, television, air-conditioner, and bath room. The minus points are bad wi-fi signal and experienced that the hot water from shower suddenly stops when being used.
Staffs are nice and friendly. However, you may need to do some attraction to call them in the restaurant. Also, beware that it took some time before the food come (around 15~20 minutes). The nice points are the food are delicious indeed!
Me and my friend got special discount because we book the hotel via tour agent.
Overall, it was very nice and pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    271
    119
    45
    33
See reviews for
66
150
44
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had some time on our hands before our flight back to the UK and fancied a meal. Our travel company in Kenya suggested the restaurant in this hotel and we weren't disappointed. The staff were very friendly and polite (as were most of the people we came into contact with during our holiday). The food was delicious and quite reasonably priced considering the Ole - Sereni's appearance as a high quality hotel.

Room Tip: We didn't stay at the hotel, only ate in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had some hours to kill while waiting for a flight and were delighted to spend them here....asleep. So, we didn't get to enjoy the dining. Staff was helpful and smiling. Rooms modest in size but nice quality. Baths the same. Worth a stay, wish we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor, as we were in and out. But it was okay, for sure. We faced the highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here due the close proximity of the hotel to the airport. We were in a club room which was the only room large enough to put an extra bed in. It had a very small balcony overlooking the national park. No animals, only one ostrich which was very far away.

The room was of reasonable size. Didn't like the bathroom too much with the glass walls and glass doors without locks. Large and comfortable beds. Decent tea and coffee making facilities.

We ordered room service and it arrived promptly and was very tasty. Breakfast downstairs was very good, a wide range of food items to choose from.

Check out took a bit of time. The lady at the front desk was more interested in talking on her mobile phone rather than speeding up the check out process.

A lovely hotel, very expensive and only worth it if you need to catch an early morning flight.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mendota heights
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel prior and after our safari trip. It's a nice, new hotel. Located right next to the park reserve, with great views and occasional animals. It's located near the airport, so no hassles with Nairobi traffic. Kid friendly with a pool.
Service did vary some - mostly very good, but some slow meal service. But food was very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forked River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel twice, each time the service was exceptional. The restaurant overlooking the park is wonderful. There is no guarantee you will see animals each and every time, but none the less the view is incredible. Hotel is situated in close proximity to the airport- which is a definite plus in Nairobi considering traffic if you are doing a quick turn around. The entrance to the game park is not far either. We rented a SUV with a driver for the day- approx 220 USD, but that provides you with someone who can speak the language and knowledge of the area. The food was very good, and the staff friendly and warm. Definitely consider staying here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I'm just about to wrap up a month long stay at the Ole Sereni. From the time you walk in the front entrance, you are welcomed with a warm personal greetings and smiles. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcome. You can read about the property and it's views in the many other write ups on this site but I'd like to focus on my experience with several of the staff I've come to know during my stay. First, PR and Communication Executive Aziz Mussaji introduced himself to my colleague and I at the Thursday evening manager's reception. He offered his personal contact information and has checked on us constantly during our stay. He even went out of his way to take us for a much needed round of golf on his day off! He seems to have made a personal mission of making sure we were extremely well taken care of during our stay. While I've stayed at many very nice hotels, I can count the number of times I've received this kind of personal attention on one hand. I noticed Aziz treating other guests with the same attention as I've received as well. I'd also like to make special mention a few other members of the hotel staff for their wonderful attitudes and helpfulness. They are:

Michelle of the Gourmet Club (which if you stay multiple days, is and excellent way to save $$$ on meals and massage), Sheila at reception, the staff at the front entrance who always made sure my driver was ready when I needed to go out, Zippy, David and, Edith at the Big Five restaurant, the cleaning staff who were always ready to fix up my room on a moments notice and finally Michael the trainer at the health club who made sure I didn't slack off on my workouts. I'll be having my birthday here next week and while I'd rather be at home with my family, Aziz has already begun planning to take us on another outing to celebrate. It's been a really nice experience so far.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.