We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good security” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good security”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I have been in this hotel twice, the first time was a Marketers Night event and yesterday I was attending Pivoteast event. One thing that I like about Ole Sereni is their security & safety measures; When the event started we were taken through a safety drill.
Then I left behind my bag that had my stuff as we left for lunch, security team collected all paraphernalia left on seats and kept them safe - some people had actually abandoned their laptops. I found my bag safe at the security desk and was very pleased........I can't forget to mention that the meal was very delicious. Keep up!

Mkulima

Room Tip: ideal for meeting outside town and have ample space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    291
    123
    47
    33
See reviews for
75
154
46
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel recently as a day room prior to a late evening flight out of Nairobi. The positive was that it was close to the airport. The size of the room was nice (and I was told I was upgraded to a deluxe??). The bed, although good in size, was hard as a board. The shower and toilet area are within the same area, so it is not possible to take a shower without getting water all over the floor in the toilet area. The towels (photo attached) were worse that I use for bathing my dogs at home. I was tempted to put them in the waste basket.

I ate an early dinner in the restaurant. Although the portions are generous (overly so), the prices are extremely high. But the worst part was, it took 55 minutes from the time we ordered our food until it arrived and the restaurant was not that crowded (it was a Sunday). We tried to catch the waiter's attention to inquire when the food might be coming, but he never looked our way. After he brought the food, he never once came back to ask if we needed anything or how the food was. I had had enough and just wanted the bill to pay. I finally had to go and get him from the opposite end. I have never had such poor service at any hotel I have ever been to.

I could have just as easily gotten a hotel room in downtown Nairobi for a lower price and just spent a little longer time traveling to the airport. I think I would have been less frustrated. Never again would I stay at this place!

Room Tip: The only good room would be a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of our trip.The hotel was very convenient as we arrived late,and left after lunch the next day, it is close to the airport.Our room had a small internal balcony area with an opening door, overlooking the park.The room was quiet and clean, the food was good. The management was helpful, on request our check out time was extended to after we had lunch.Free wifi in the lobby.
An ideal short stopover.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I have stayed at the Ole four times. I like it because of the proximity to the airport. Nairobi is expensive period---but I request a rate directly with the hotel and since all my stays have been weekend, I always get it for under $200 double occupancy. Good for Nairobi. The hotel is nice. The rooms are great. Park rooms offer a great view of the vast expanse. City view and side rooms are not view appealing. But if that does not matter,opt for one of those and save a lot. Rooms are somewhat cramped, but A/C, TV. Wifi, Hot water all good. Honor bar etc exist. The problem is that they are stingy and cheap with amenities. Cant get even a second towel with two people in the room. They are ridiculous on that score. Breakfast is totally first class however. Four star quality. Lots of choices. Surroundings etc beautiful. Service reasonable. Very good options for Nairobi if ur prepared to fight for amenities.

Room Tip: Pick park view if price is no object, if not, pick city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

It seems more or less ok... but....
The bed is as hard as rock, the wall seem paper thin, and my room seemed to be right next to some sort of cleaning room, where the cleaning staff congegate of a morning to talk and clatter about as loudly as possible at, say 7.30 in the morning. On Saturday. The management managed to fail to organise vehicles as required meaning we missed an activity. And how a hotel in Nairobi can serve bad mangos, bad pineapple and bad watermelon is beyond me. Apart from that, it was lovely. :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

A hotel at this price should provide service, which in Nairobi is not hard to find. Have these waiters had any training whatsoever? Service would make all the difference but I felt ignored.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed on business trip for a week in this hotel. I was worried when the company booked this hotel due to all the bad reviews on tripadvisor.com. Honestly I do not know what the problem is I have nothing to complain about. The walls are not any thinner than the last Hilton I stayed in. Furthermore any noise is normally fellow travellers, either enjoying themselves or having enjoyed themselves int he bar to much, the hotel cannot be held responsible for this. The only slow service was when the waiter went out of his way to find extra cold beer. Outlook of the hotel is lovley, gym superb, and the aircon works no problem (you have to close the window for the aircon to work). The hotel is not close to town centre but is close to airport.
I am not sure why there have been so many bad reviews other than a lot people are either whiners or don't realise that you need to relax a little in Africa.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#24 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Panari Hotel
The Panari Hotel
#41 of 130 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#28 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
8.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
3.0 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#6 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.