We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reason for the bad press” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Kampala
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Reason for the bad press”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

A hotel at this price should provide service, which in Nairobi is not hard to find. Have these waiters had any training whatsoever? Service would make all the difference but I felt ignored.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    252
    117
    44
    32
See reviews for
65
147
44
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed on business trip for a week in this hotel. I was worried when the company booked this hotel due to all the bad reviews on tripadvisor.com. Honestly I do not know what the problem is I have nothing to complain about. The walls are not any thinner than the last Hilton I stayed in. Furthermore any noise is normally fellow travellers, either enjoying themselves or having enjoyed themselves int he bar to much, the hotel cannot be held responsible for this. The only slow service was when the waiter went out of his way to find extra cold beer. Outlook of the hotel is lovley, gym superb, and the aircon works no problem (you have to close the window for the aircon to work). The hotel is not close to town centre but is close to airport.
I am not sure why there have been so many bad reviews other than a lot people are either whiners or don't realise that you need to relax a little in Africa.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,Kenya and all about
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Headed here on a day off just to kick back and relax on the terrace ovelooking the park.This may change if they build the bypass just pass it.The views of the park are certainly relaxing though naturally there were no animals in sight for the 4 hrs we were there,though im told there is the odd sighting.Service was good though having been here before in the evening,this can be a problem especially if your a local.They have a lunch buffet which we decided to have and it turned out to be delicious,sushi,soup,pasta and loads more.For a meal with a view,this is perfect just off the busy Airport road.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I did not stay here but did eat lunch here. Our lunch was held outside on the covered patio. The people were very nice. Upon request, I was given a tour of some of the rooms. I was interested in staying here for my next trip but have later learned and read on TripAdvisor that the service is very slow. I recommend staying at the Sankara or at the Tribe hotels and going here for a lunch. The reason that the view is so wonderful is that the hotel sits on the border of the Kenya National Park. The view is wonderful. You can see for many miles. It is very peaceful and a great place to relax for a nice lunch. I hear that the best time to eat on the patio is either at sunrise or sunset when you have a better opportunity to see animals.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at the Ole Sereni and both times I have enjoyed my stay up to a point, but there are aspects that are severely lacking. The rooms are clean and well equipped however the walls in the rooms are extremely thin which means you can hear everything going on in the rooms either side of you and everything going on in the corridor. I stayed there last week and they were fitting carpets in the corridor outside my room - I was woken up by shouting and hammering sounds at 7 in the morning so gave up and went down to the pool, when I came back up to rest before my flight home the whole floor and my room stunk of potent glue smells making it impossible to sleep and giving me a headache. Not great! Security is also a bit of an issue; as far as I know all the rooms have small balconies but the sliding doors onto the balconies do not lock which is not really acceptable in a country as dangerous as Kenya. Some staff are very helpful and polite but unfortunately the majority seem to be quite abrupt and rude. Overall a nice enough hotel but not as good as it could be.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

They tried to make something "different" but it doesn't work always. We took a club room,thinking it might be big. Also the toilet is badly designed, the glass toilet door doesn't block the noise at all. Having the reception on the first floor is also a bad idea for tired travelers to climb up.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I´ve been around the world in different hotels, but this one is definitely the worst hotel ever. The building used to be some type of office building that was adapted to be a hotel, so the dividing walls are so thin you can hear the TV from both rooms next to mine. There are power outages (not because of the city´s poor supply because all building around always have power), water outages, all the treadmills at the gym not working, A/C not working, bad food, etc. By far my worst experience in a hotel so far. The only "positive" aspect is that it is close to the airport, but the service was so bad we decided it was better to spend 60minutes in traffic than staying in this hotel. And to finish, while checking out they tried to charge my credit card with 500KES more than they´ve should (the money is not the issue, but they came up with the lousy excuse that "the system does not allow us to charge less than that". )

Room Tip: Looking at the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.