We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, great staff, good sleeping rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekend offer of $ 199
Ranked #23 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Newark DE
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, great staff, good sleeping rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Very nice hotel for a small conference. Excellent restaurant, well trained and attentive staff, sleeping rooms comfortable. And clean. Bad internet everywhere so if you have heave duty use think twice. Otherwise a very nice experience. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the game park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    215
    103
    38
    32
See reviews for
57
126
35
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for three days and the staff were quite attentive and polite.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Had a quick lunch after a business meeting here. Terrible service... they just can't get their act together! The view overlooking the Nairobi National Park was good though.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

For context, I am a frequent international traveller, and generally stay at upscale hotels. This was my first trip to Nairobi.

I stayed at the hotel Ole Sereni for 1 night on February 29, 2012.

Pros: staff was very friendly and helpful. Service was generally slow, but more than competent. Check-in took some time, I served my own coffee at breakfast, etc. The staff seemed very focused on cleaning. The hotel was VERY clean! The only meal I had at the hotel was breakfast, which was quite good. The fresh fruit and fruit juices were fantastic! The hotel is convenient to the airport at Nairobi. Finally, the shower was nice and hot - which I appreciated having just arrived from New York.

Cons: the rooms are small, but well appointed. The bed is hard. I believe the hotel turns off the air conditioning at night. I awoke twice quite hot despite having set the AC to 18 degrees prior to turning in. The rooms are overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I stayed here during Christmas period where they had a "Christmas Special Offer". I guess it was because of the low numbers expected.

I think it is a good hotel, save for the price which I think is overpriced. One thing I noticed is that the price for wine on the menu was different from the one at the bar! I felt it was cheaper to buy wine by the bottle, and so I asked for it. The price at the menu was KES 1900. I did not have hard cash on me so I asked that the bill be attached to the room so that all bills will be cleared on checkout so that I use my credit card only once. The waiter kept insisting that they usually take cash for this.

So I asked to talk to his supervisor if there is a problem with me paying for it at the end of my stay. He immediately backed down and started speaking low tones asking me if I had even KES 200. I told him that that is not right and that was when he went away.

At the end of the stay, the bill for the wine incredibly came to KES 1400! Was that why the waiter wanted cash? Left me really wondering.

The hotel parking is also quite squeezed, tight and can only take so many cars. The reception is quite deep into the restaurant yet I'd expect it to be the first place that I find myself looking at.

The food was OK but I loved the breakfast more. The paintings and colours used are also very inviting

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is a very odd hotel, neither fish nor fowl. It tries to be upmarket but is located in the midst of a smoke-belching industrial area, in-between 2 busy airports with constant traffic, and facing a rather dusty ‘gamepark’ where more people than game can be seen.
To end a 2-wk Kenya safari, we spent a couple of nights here (to see Nbi Park and visit Sheldrick’s elephant sanctuary). We’d booked a park-facing room ($400, industry-facing rooms are cheaper), believing it’d be quiet and would offer nice views of game, but no such luck. Instead we had disco noise from the 4th floor above, ‘waterhole’ [bar] noise from the terrace below, and corridor noise from other guests all night long. Maybe one should avoid the weekend?!
Our room was ok, not very large but clean and comfy, and we appreciated coffee-maker, safe and fridge. Alas, despite pretty bows, the towels were frayed. The AC was intermittent and had the tendency to suddenly cut out. Our double-bed was two singles pushed together, with separate sheets, but the mattresses were ok.
Food was ok too, especially the extensive breakfast buffet (starting at 6 a.m., convenient for early departures) that caters to all nationalities. The restaurant at dinner time is very busy, the waiters overworked and therefore slow, especially on weekends. Because, despite its odd location and high prices, this hotel is very popular with Nairobians who come out here for a meal, a drink, and a lively get-together.
I appreciated the unlimited, free internet access on the Business Centre’s 4 computers, their print-out facility and kind help-desk.
Another oddity is that this hotel does not allow normal city taxis anywhere near its remote location, and one is forced to use its VERY expensive hotel transport (US$50 to anywhere in town, normal rate c KSh1000). On the final morning we had booked an early taxi to the airport ($30, normal rate KSh1700), but at the appointed time no transport was in sight. The 6 hotel taxis, allegedly always on stand-by, had all gone. We had to wait ½ hr before one of them came back, and nearly missed our flight! Not good, not good at all!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel is coined one of the better ones in Nairobi. One of the main reasons that I chose to stay here is due to Ole Sereni checking out as one of the best when safety and security is taken into account. The hotel is located only about a 10min drive from the airport depending on the time of day and traffic congestion. The rooms are equipped with the basic amenities of a comfortable bed pillows and duvet, 29" television with a few english channels, a desk, telephone (in bathroom and on desk) and basic travel sized toiletries of shower gel, shampoo and body lotion. Some of the rooms overlook the stunning view of the game reserve where giraffe, wild boars and gazelles can be seen on occasions while others look onto a dusty road. The food and drinks are prepared fresh and to a high standard for an affordable price averaging £12- £20 for an evening meal. The staff are mostly pleasant and very accommodating and alway willing to teach you about Kenyan culture or Kiswahili. The highlight for me was the opportunity to get the most amazing full body deep tissue massage by therapist Joan for a mere £25 followed by the hospitality and friendly natured Jorim offering relaxation aromatherapy sessions in the spa and sauna. The facilities include a swimming pool and bar area that also overlook the safari game resort and hosts a customer appreciation evening every Thursday with free drinks and nibbles from the grill.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the safari reserve for more picturesque view to Nairobi Kenya. When booking airp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.