We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ole Sereni - neither fish nor fowl” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Lusaka
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ole Sereni - neither fish nor fowl”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is a very odd hotel, neither fish nor fowl. It tries to be upmarket but is located in the midst of a smoke-belching industrial area, in-between 2 busy airports with constant traffic, and facing a rather dusty ‘gamepark’ where more people than game can be seen.
To end a 2-wk Kenya safari, we spent a couple of nights here (to see Nbi Park and visit Sheldrick’s elephant sanctuary). We’d booked a park-facing room ($400, industry-facing rooms are cheaper), believing it’d be quiet and would offer nice views of game, but no such luck. Instead we had disco noise from the 4th floor above, ‘waterhole’ [bar] noise from the terrace below, and corridor noise from other guests all night long. Maybe one should avoid the weekend?!
Our room was ok, not very large but clean and comfy, and we appreciated coffee-maker, safe and fridge. Alas, despite pretty bows, the towels were frayed. The AC was intermittent and had the tendency to suddenly cut out. Our double-bed was two singles pushed together, with separate sheets, but the mattresses were ok.
Food was ok too, especially the extensive breakfast buffet (starting at 6 a.m., convenient for early departures) that caters to all nationalities. The restaurant at dinner time is very busy, the waiters overworked and therefore slow, especially on weekends. Because, despite its odd location and high prices, this hotel is very popular with Nairobians who come out here for a meal, a drink, and a lively get-together.
I appreciated the unlimited, free internet access on the Business Centre’s 4 computers, their print-out facility and kind help-desk.
Another oddity is that this hotel does not allow normal city taxis anywhere near its remote location, and one is forced to use its VERY expensive hotel transport (US$50 to anywhere in town, normal rate c KSh1000). On the final morning we had booked an early taxi to the airport ($30, normal rate KSh1700), but at the appointed time no transport was in sight. The 6 hotel taxis, allegedly always on stand-by, had all gone. We had to wait ½ hr before one of them came back, and nearly missed our flight! Not good, not good at all!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    230
    108
    40
    32
See reviews for
59
132
39
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel is coined one of the better ones in Nairobi. One of the main reasons that I chose to stay here is due to Ole Sereni checking out as one of the best when safety and security is taken into account. The hotel is located only about a 10min drive from the airport depending on the time of day and traffic congestion. The rooms are equipped with the basic amenities of a comfortable bed pillows and duvet, 29" television with a few english channels, a desk, telephone (in bathroom and on desk) and basic travel sized toiletries of shower gel, shampoo and body lotion. Some of the rooms overlook the stunning view of the game reserve where giraffe, wild boars and gazelles can be seen on occasions while others look onto a dusty road. The food and drinks are prepared fresh and to a high standard for an affordable price averaging £12- £20 for an evening meal. The staff are mostly pleasant and very accommodating and alway willing to teach you about Kenyan culture or Kiswahili. The highlight for me was the opportunity to get the most amazing full body deep tissue massage by therapist Joan for a mere £25 followed by the hospitality and friendly natured Jorim offering relaxation aromatherapy sessions in the spa and sauna. The facilities include a swimming pool and bar area that also overlook the safari game resort and hosts a customer appreciation evening every Thursday with free drinks and nibbles from the grill.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the safari reserve for more picturesque view to Nairobi Kenya. When booking airp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is convenient for the airport and uses its location next to a game reserve very well.

The rooms are a little narrow but fully functional with comfortable beds and pillows. I alas had a city view room but got to enjoy the views from the pool.

Breakfast was decent and the food menu covered a wide variety. Service is adequate for this part of the world, things get down in a leisurely pace.

Overall a good airport hotel but not a holiday destination.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

For its pricing the quality of this hotel are pretty poor. In particular its service and room sizing let it down.
I was coming in on a transfer for only around 10 hours and booked a hotel driver to collect me from my flight, making sure to confirm by email. No-one came to fetch me and I had to call and wait 45 minutes for the driver, who when he did come, did not seem to be very apologetic. As a lone female traveller coming in at night, this was pretty disappointing.
The room was pretty cramped but clean and did a job.
Service in the restaurant was pretty slow and disinterested. The internet was quite slow. The fitness centre was small but servicable and had a great view. Leaving early for a morning flight, I struggled to get the bill made up and my driver organised - not ideal on such a short stay especially when both were requested in advance.
Overall I could not recommend it, especially at the price.

Room Tip: A non-park room has a view of the motorway and office buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying here recently and found the staff friendly, hotel was spotlessly clean, modern and comfortable room with high speed wifi and lovely food.

I would recommend staying here to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel when it first opened, in 2009. Well, it's 2012, and it seems as if this place has not been cleaned since 2009.

It looks tired. People are lazy and rude. Food is awful. Everything happens very very slowly.

Asked to arrange transportation to the airport the night before departure. Yes Sir. Of course Sir. 5:30 am. Airport? What airport? Taxi? What taxi? Don't know nothing. Here's a hotel shuttle, which will cost you ONLY $30. Really? Only? It costs $10 to go to the airport. That is if I'm in a benevolent mood.

The unfortunate part is, Nairobi is not really a place with good hotels, these days. Every place is in a desperate need of being refresh. Rumour goes, the Intercontinental has a renovated wing, but since I wasn't there, I wouldn't know.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

After a hussle and stressfull time at the Nairobi International airport it is pure bliss to enter at Ole Sereni inNairobi.

Warm welcome, great reception staff who are very patient, well spoken and truly aim to make your stay a better one.

The views from the Safari park facing rooms is amazing. Seeing wildlife from the comfort of your room is truly relaxing and an absolute must when you visit this hotel. Ask to get a room facing the park. It is really worth it!

The food and service are very good making the overall experience a great one. I will most defenatly return to this hotel.

Early breakfast and courtesy van to the airport in the morning just gave the whole stay a very nice ending.

Room Tip: Try getting an upgrade to the safari facing rooms. Its defenatly worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.