We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pool with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Winchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A pool with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is convenient for the airport and uses its location next to a game reserve very well.

The rooms are a little narrow but fully functional with comfortable beds and pillows. I alas had a city view room but got to enjoy the views from the pool.

Breakfast was decent and the food menu covered a wide variety. Service is adequate for this part of the world, things get down in a leisurely pace.

Overall a good airport hotel but not a holiday destination.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    195
    94
    32
    28
See reviews for
50
110
34
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

For its pricing the quality of this hotel are pretty poor. In particular its service and room sizing let it down.
I was coming in on a transfer for only around 10 hours and booked a hotel driver to collect me from my flight, making sure to confirm by email. No-one came to fetch me and I had to call and wait 45 minutes for the driver, who when he did come, did not seem to be very apologetic. As a lone female traveller coming in at night, this was pretty disappointing.
The room was pretty cramped but clean and did a job.
Service in the restaurant was pretty slow and disinterested. The internet was quite slow. The fitness centre was small but servicable and had a great view. Leaving early for a morning flight, I struggled to get the bill made up and my driver organised - not ideal on such a short stay especially when both were requested in advance.
Overall I could not recommend it, especially at the price.

Room Tip: A non-park room has a view of the motorway and office buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying here recently and found the staff friendly, hotel was spotlessly clean, modern and comfortable room with high speed wifi and lovely food.

I would recommend staying here to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel when it first opened, in 2009. Well, it's 2012, and it seems as if this place has not been cleaned since 2009.

It looks tired. People are lazy and rude. Food is awful. Everything happens very very slowly.

Asked to arrange transportation to the airport the night before departure. Yes Sir. Of course Sir. 5:30 am. Airport? What airport? Taxi? What taxi? Don't know nothing. Here's a hotel shuttle, which will cost you ONLY $30. Really? Only? It costs $10 to go to the airport. That is if I'm in a benevolent mood.

The unfortunate part is, Nairobi is not really a place with good hotels, these days. Every place is in a desperate need of being refresh. Rumour goes, the Intercontinental has a renovated wing, but since I wasn't there, I wouldn't know.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

After a hussle and stressfull time at the Nairobi International airport it is pure bliss to enter at Ole Sereni inNairobi.

Warm welcome, great reception staff who are very patient, well spoken and truly aim to make your stay a better one.

The views from the Safari park facing rooms is amazing. Seeing wildlife from the comfort of your room is truly relaxing and an absolute must when you visit this hotel. Ask to get a room facing the park. It is really worth it!

The food and service are very good making the overall experience a great one. I will most defenatly return to this hotel.

Early breakfast and courtesy van to the airport in the morning just gave the whole stay a very nice ending.

Room Tip: Try getting an upgrade to the safari facing rooms. Its defenatly worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We recently stayed one night at this hotel, booked because it was near the airport in Nairobi. The hotel looked grand as we pulled up and walked to the reception area. From there on things went downhill fast. The reception clerk had difficulty with our reservation and it took quite some time to get a room. The room was small and lacking in any sort of charm. As we left to go to eat, a guest service representative wanted to know what we thought of the hotel. I explained that we had just arrived and perhaps he should ask us later. However, he kept dancing around in front of us demanding an answer. The dining area was thick with staff, so we were surprised by the almost total lack of service. The menu arrived an hour after we did. We ordered drinks and after asking for them again three times, a single glass of wine arrived. Further enquiries elicited my husband's drink. We had also ordered a coffee. They brought the cup and my husband had to ask for some coffee to go with it. The coffee arrived much later and was stone cold. We finally persuaded a manger that we wanted to order food and some 20 minutes later the order was taken. A further 55 minutes elapsed and then 2 waiters tried to serve us with meals that we had not ordered. One of them was insistent that it was our order. The other just sighed and walked back to the kitchen. When our food did arrive it was cold and had to be sent back. Further drinks were ordered and did not appear. The bill contained charges for the drinks not received and for service charges on items not ordered and the bill had to be sent back as well. The manager told us that we had to pay service charges by law. My husband told them that it anyone was to receive a tip it would be his wife. (I had to set the table as none of the staff seemed to be willing to do it).
So no, we do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stayed in this hotel several times as, unfortunately, I don't have a choice as my company puts me up here. locations is so and so, yes you can enjoy a view over the wildlife park, but that's about it. Interior decoration in public areas are ok but not exceptionally great, with kitchy statues. The staff is very unfriendly, even rude and sooooo unmotivated. It might have to do with the Indian management of the hotel who doesn't treat them well, although the prices for this hotel are way over priced..... The rooms I stayed in ( several different ones) are generally dirty, small and limited in comfort. the doors to the balcony are of very poor quality and o not open or lock the way they should. Your toilet is cramped next to your shower in some sort of cubicle. Hot water might be available but is certainly not on a constant flow with little pressure on the shower. the AC is of a very poor quality as well and not sufficient. Sheets were not too clean and there are a lot of dustflakes and hairs ( yekkie) in the corners and under the bed ( I don't think they replace the beds to clean...) the wifi is very weak in the rooms and disconnects on a regular basis. The hotel have limited facilities and a shuttle to downtown should be an added value. The food is not very good and pleasd do not have a look in the wet kitchen or other staff only areas, as you might not be hungry at all anymore..... I would not recommend this hotel at all... Stay away from here

Room Tip: No room is worth the price, avoid to be on the 4th floor on Thursdays as they have "functions&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ole Sereni is a premium wildlife resort strategically located just off the Mombasa road overlooking the Nairobi National Game Park. Centrally positioned between the international airport and the city center, this is the only hotel bordering the wilds of the National Park. Ole Sereni offers all comforts and services to the business as well as leisure travelers and enjoys proximity to the central business district, international organizations, financial institutions, government offices and industrial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;