We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably Priced Chilled Place to stay in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ndemi Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Ndemi Place to your Saves list
The Ndemi Place
Ndemi Close, off Ndemi Road | P.O. Box 76120, Nairobi 00508, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 120 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Reasonably Priced Chilled Place to stay in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Found this place when waiting in Nairobi for a friend to arrive. I had spent a night in The Country Lodge but needed somewhere cheaper to hold up for a few days. It is a nice quiet B&B with really friendly staff. I stayed in a single room first which wasn't amazing but was clean and did the job. Then moved in to a twin when my friend arrived which was really nice. It is in a quite area and has a big garden doesn't feel like your in Nairobi at times. There is a nice front room with an open fire giving a nice homely atmosphere. They serve a good breakfast and all in all for the price I would recommend it. If you want something up market and willing to pay a bit more go to the Fairview.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    32
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
23
21
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

Our first choice of hotel was full so decided to stay here based on the positive reviews. In general we were pleased with our choice, the personal touch was nice and Monica and Thomas were very helpful with directions, advice & arranging excursions. Monica could only recommend one restaurant which was within walking distance, DiVino, which was very nice but according to the guidebook there were others close by too. But she was very kind to arrange a taxi to pick us up after the meals at the restaurant.

Downside was that it was difficult to sleep, the first evening which was a Saturday, other guests came back very late and were really noisy so got woken up. When breakfast is being prepared, which is about 6am, you can hear the footsteps on the wooden floors of someone going in and out of the kitchen. Since our room was next to reception, you could hear all the conversations through the wall. If we had a different room, perhaps it would have been quieter.

The second night was even noiser, with some American guests who arrived in the middle of the night, shouting something about hot water. Another guest left at around 4.30am presumably for an early flight so was woken with all the noise of the discussion with the taxi driver, the car and the suitcase being rolled through the guest lounge. With the thought of being woken again when it was time for breakfast to be prepared we got up and left early for the airport and missed breakfast.

The breakfast was disappointing, the fruit was very nice but had some mud on the skin of the watermelon so did not want to eat it, then we were asked if we would like bacon or sausage, to which we replied bacon, but then got sausage plus 2 pieces of cold toast. It just was not a nice breakfast - based on this we decided not to have an evening meal prepared but to go out both evenings to a restaurant.

The bathroom also was a problem, since there was no power in the shower at all, it was just a trickle of water.

The gardens were lovely though and the building really nice too, Steve one of the drivers was particularly helpful and took us on all the excursions within Nairobi which was great plus to and from the airport (our arrival flight was delayed by about 2 hours but he waited there for us all that time). It was nice to come back to the guesthouse after the excursions but missed the facilities of a hotel, where you could take a drink at the bar or simply have a cup of tea in the lovely gardens, so it was boring, but then again, it is only a guesthouse.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

My first time in Kenya. Spent a few days in Nairobi before traveling to Kisumu. Then back again to Nairobi before flying back home. Stayed at Ndemi place both times I was in Nairobi.
- Monica: Reservations handled very well by Monica. I called once, then exchanged a few emails with her to get payment and airport transfer arrangements. She was very clear and prompt with her responses, and very kind and cheerful too.
- Thomas: Took care of my every need in the evening and early morning. Thomas gave me his mobile number, helped me buy a local sim card from Safaricom, and anticipated my every need. He was always there even before I needed him.
- Cosmos: He would wait on me each morning, to prepare breakfast for me and the other guests. He had a ready smile and a genuine desire to please. He also prepared dinner for me one evening. It was an excellent meal of asparagus soup and chicken curry, with fruit salad for desert. Set up by candle light. I totally enjoyed that.
- Evans - Was the taxi driver that Thomas assigned to me. His car was a 90s era Toyota. A bit old but comfortable enough and still reliable. Since this was a business trip, I had to make frequent trips into town. Evans was always available to me wherever I needed to go. With my Safaricom number, I could call him on my mobile phone each time I needed him. He knows the streets of Nairobi very well and brought me to the exact places I wanted to go. Never got lost. The fare was also very reasonable.
- My room was simple, but very comfortable. Hot shower. Comfortable bed. No TV in the room, though. Had WiFi access from my room and decent connection speed.
- The place was very quiet and felt very safe. The living room has a TV and a PC with internet connection for free use of the guests. When the place is full, the living room is a good place in the early evenings to meet the other guests and swap travel stories.
- Location: is very convenient. Very close to Adam's Arcade and Junction Mall, both of which have a Java House where you can have dinner. Junction Mall has a large Supermarket. Adam's Arcade is walking distance, but walking alone at night is not encouraged.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Ndemi is a rare thing in Nairobi, being in tranquil and leafy Kilimani and relatively cheap, though doubles are not nearly as good value as singles or twins. The staff are discrete and very nice, especially Chef Cosmos. The WiFi is free and first rate - by far the fastest I've found in Kenya. The rooms are pleasant and clean, if a bit noisy - there is nothing but birdsong to mask the sound of heavy footsteps on gravel or floorboards.
The trouble for me is that it is very much a guest house rather than a hotel. They make no secret of that. But when you are lounging in the garden you'll probably want a G&T but you can't order one. And when you decide to head out for a drink or dinner, you'll need a taxi and maybe to track down the manager to order you one, and maybe it will take half an hour for him to find one. Maybe he'll give up. After about 9pm they lock the house doors from the inside so you'll have to rouse the manager to get back in.
In summary, it's a great place to stay if you want a haven of peace in Nairobi and you believe the Nairobbery stories of the city after dark. If you're in a hurry or you want to hit the town, you'll probably find it's not trying to compete with the hotels.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We only stayed at Ndemi place for a couple of nights as we were climbing mount Kenya, but the owners couldn't have been more helpful. They allowed us to leave our bags there while we were on the climb, they gave us recommendations of places to go and what to see in Nairobi.

The rooms were comfy and the breakfast was great. Really lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

kenya is absolutely beautiful and so are the people. ndemi place gives you the good kenyan spirit and good service. enjoy the reasonably priced rooms and best chef in the area. ndemi also provide access to tours and is a very peaceful and restful green space. you can have a quiet cup of tea or coffee in the afternoon and read quietly near the fireplace on cool nights. the staff looks after you like a kenyan family member. the number one place to stay in kenya. enjoy the kenyan green space and hospitality at ndemi place. a wonderful experience in beautiful kenya. - dominic t. moulden

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Nice and comfy place with a devoted staff. Excellent and cheap meals ( good quality versus price).
In July/August, remember to ask for a blanket and bring warm clothes as nights are very fresh and the cold enters the sleeping room and the bathroom.

Water warmed through electric "instant shower" (common in Kenya)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ndemi Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ndemi Place

Address: Ndemi Close, off Ndemi Road | P.O. Box 76120, Nairobi 00508, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a serene natural resort of Kenya’s capital city, The Ndemi Place is the ideal stop over for guests seeking peace and vintage charm in the city of Nairobi. Enjoy the warm and inviting touch of guest house hospitality combined with all contemporary comforts for the distinguished business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Ndemi Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ndemi Place Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ndemi Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.