We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cosy place to stay in.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ndemi Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Ndemi Place to your Saves list
The Ndemi Place
Ndemi Close, off Ndemi Road | P.O. Box 76120, Nairobi 00508, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and cosy place to stay in.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Nice and comfy place with a devoted staff. Excellent and cheap meals ( good quality versus price).
In July/August, remember to ask for a blanket and bring warm clothes as nights are very fresh and the cold enters the sleeping room and the bathroom.

Water warmed through electric "instant shower" (common in Kenya)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilliamfromToulouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ramat Hasharon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

I have to admit that Ndemi place was not my first choice. I got there because my first choice of place was completely booked and had no room for me. I planned to stay at Ndemi place until I'll find another place, but after I got there, I didn't look for another place. The best thing about Ndemi place, is that they really make you feel as if you are at home. The staff is very friendly and whenever you need some help, they are more than happy to give it for you. The rooms are very nice and clean. The showers have hot water all the time. There is a free wifi that can be used, and if you don't have a laptop with, you can use a P.C. in the lobby for free. The food is great (The only complain that I heard about the food was that the portions are too big and it is hard to finish it) and the chef is one of the friendliest guys that I've ever met. In short – Ndemi place is a great place to stay at and I'm sure that anyone that will be there won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adicohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

The Ndemi place is a good alternative for the large hotels. It's with a personal touch, the people are friendly and the food is great. It's at a good spot in town for business people who has to be in Westlands, Upper Hill and downtown a lot. It's not to far from those areas while the hotel itself is in a quite spot.
Only comment is the size of the single room, which has no direct sunlight and is really small. With $50 overrated. I was lucky and was moved to the large double because of the smell of painting that day. This is a perfect room. A little bit outdated but that makes it charming.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanRood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

I booked a room at this place after reading positive reviews here. It really was a pleasant stay in Nairobi. The location is great, good to avoid passing the city if you want to go to Nairobi National Park or Karen area. It's close to nice place to have meals.

The room itself is fantastic. It really made us feel like staying at home or being guests at someone's house. It's way different from staying at ordinary hotel. The taxi service is very good as well. But most important highlight is the people. They were all nice and helpful.

I would really recommend this place if you have a chance to visit Nairobi.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

I organised a two-day workshop in Nairobi with 20 people at The Ndemi Place last April. The leafy Ndemi Place in Kilimani was an excellent venue to host the event, quiet and central at the same time, with plenty of garden to relax during the breaks. We spent three nights at their rooms, which are clean and charming. The staff attention is excellent. You need to try Cosmos cook's crepes for breakfast! Cosmos also prepared excellent food for all of our guests, who did not doubt in applauding him when he came to check how we were doing. The attention given to us by Leni (manager) and Chichi (owner) were excellent as was the care and safety that Thomas offers when sun goes down. Araka the taxi driver will wait for you at the airport and will make sure you arrive in time to wherever you need to go. The conference room is big and comfortable, and offers many possibilities of arrangement. The only problem is when it rains, as this metal sheet construction can become an amazing metal drum. You can compensate this with a PA microphone system they offer, or just relax while rain stops -which never takes too long- and enjoy the sound of the rain while warming up with some of the tea and coffee that they will make sure you always have at hand. The wi-fI connection is reliable, it worked fast and effective even when the whole of East Africa was lacking connection due to the break down of a main cable in the regional system. I strongly recommend The Ndemi Place either as conference venue or/and as your home in Nairobi.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petravirasoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

Spent a week at Ndemi in March with some business colleagues and friends. The rooms were clean and comfortable and well tended too each day. The manager was on point and happily used her personal connections to help whenever needed. Cosmos cooked epic meals for us which were high in both quality and quantity. A natural spot for me to select on my next visit to Nairobi.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

I stayed 3 weeks in Ndemi Place with my colleagues. With the wonderful garden, the nice and skilled staff, Ndemi is a peaceful haven in the heart of Nairobi. The charm of Kenya gives life to it.

Excellent value for money in comparison with the hostels in Nairobi. Do not hesitate to choose Ndemi, both for tourism and business.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milanmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
House of Waine
#1 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Meltonia Luxury Suites
Meltonia Luxury Suites
#43 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Bidwood Suites Hotel
#4 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#13 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ndemi Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ndemi Place

Address: Ndemi Close, off Ndemi Road | P.O. Box 76120, Nairobi 00508, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a serene natural resort of Kenya’s capital city, The Ndemi Place is the ideal stop over for guests seeking peace and vintage charm in the city of Nairobi. Enjoy the warm and inviting touch of guest house hospitality combined with all contemporary comforts for the distinguished business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Ndemi Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ndemi Place Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing