We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location, great spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ndemi Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Ndemi Place to your Saves list
The Ndemi Place
Ndemi Close, off Ndemi Road | P.O. Box 76120, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 119 Hotels in Nairobi
Puyallup, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quiet location, great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at Ndemi place for two nights while in Nairobi. The room was large, bathroom was standard by Kenyan standards, and the breakfast was fantastic. Its not a large facility by any means, but very comfortable. We used Ndemi place as a launching point for our safaris, and it worked out nicely. The room did have a mosquito net. The campus does have a night guard for extra piece of mind. Overall its a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    31
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
23
20
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Doesn't have a restaurant, but you can request what you want for breakfast. The double room bed was really wide (not too long though). Does have a bathtub but there isn't enough hot water to actually have a bath, the hot water heater is in the shower head, and only works with low flow rates. You can manage a shower with this set up though.
The double room is large, the single room relatively small by comparison and also more noisy.
The old style door locks take some fiddling around to actually lock and unlock the door, needs some oil and maintenance. It can only be operated with the key so even if you break the glass on the glass door it will not help with getting in or out.
The reservation system does NOT allow for credit cards no matter what you have read, and so you have to bring cash, and make sure you get an email confirmation-it does work but I was a bit concerned.
There are nice gardens and friendly people.
The rating is for the larger double room.

Room Tip: Pick a double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We spent 4 days at Nedmi Place and we really enjoyed it. The rooms were large and spacious and we had a comfortable bed. The staff were amazing! They were always willing to help us out with anything we needed whether it be getting meals or exchanging money. They were always friendly and never made us feel like we were bothering them. The grounds are beautiful and quiet. I highly recommend Ndemi Place for your time in Nairobi.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stayed here for two nights before going on safari. I'm not going to lie and claim Ndemi is a five star luxury resort. But if you are looking for a clean, comfortable, inexpensive, quiet place to cool your jets (or recover from jet lag, as I did) before heading out on your African adventure this is a great place to start.

The rooms are pretty basic, but clean and comfortable; mine had good wifi service and looked over the back garden. There was no TV in the room which did not inconvenience me since I rarely watch TV anyway. Your mileage may vary. It was so quiet at night you might never know a big city was just beyond the walls.

I've seen some complaints here about the shower arrangements but I have to say I've had no issue with them.

What makes Ndemi great is the superb customer service. I don't think I have ever been to a place where I have been treated so well. Viola efficiently made all the arrangements by email, including airport pickup and having a hot meal from a local restaurant here for me when I arrived. My plug converter died and staff went out of their way to find one for me. Anything you need the staff are willing to help.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely, without thinking about it twice.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Ndemi Place is a remarkably quiet and clean place where you can really feel at home, assuming you don't require much luxury. The facilities and service are significantly better than other places I've stayed in Nairobi at similar price points, and the location is quite convenient if Kilimani is where you need to be. The staff are very responsive, helpful, and friendly; they're not always at reception but if you need anything ask the guard and give them five minutes to get there.

The quality of the rooms varies (the showers in particular don't work very well in some of the single rooms), but they're rarely at capacity, so if you're unhappy with your room they can usually move you. In summary, a very comfortable and pleasant (if basic) spot at a reasonable price for Nairobi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Staff is friendly and helpful.
Place not so easy to find for taxidriver. Not recommendable as stop-over from/to airport.
Rooms are dark and old. Don't take the one next to the kitchen, noice will wake you up.
65US$ are definitly too much for this quality.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights mainly for business. The staff are very friendly and helpful (when they are available) and the room facility was fairly basic but functional. One benefit was the free wi-fi that was available and the guest house is in quiet location which is fairly accessible to most places in the city. Ideal for a one or two night stay if you want something reasonably priced (for Nairobi) and don't require home comforts in your room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ndemi Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ndemi Place

Address: Ndemi Close, off Ndemi Road | P.O. Box 76120, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a serene natural resort of Kenya’s capital city, The Ndemi Place is the ideal stop over for guests seeking peace and vintage charm in the city of Nairobi. Enjoy the warm and inviting touch of guest house hospitality combined with all contemporary comforts for the distinguished business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Ndemi Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ndemi Place Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ndemi Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.