We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful oasis in the hustle and bustle of Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ndemi Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Ndemi Place to your Saves list
The Ndemi Place
Ndemi Close, off Ndemi Road | P.O. Box 76120, Nairobi 00508, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful oasis in the hustle and bustle of Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Ndemi Place is HOME away from home - and this is largely thanks to the extremely friendly staff of Ndemi ("Asante to Catherine, Bernard, Moses, Viola & the team). Possibly, THE BEST customer service you can get in Kenya. I stayed there 4 times in Sept/Oct 2013: every time I was returning to Ndemi (from Eldoret, Mombasa, etc.), I truly felt like coming home. The staff would help me with any inquiry (e.g. ordering a taxi) or question I had, and they are very reliable - this spares you a lot of time and sometimes hassle, if you don't know Nairobi/Kenya too well.

Ndemi is a very peaceful place with wonderful garden. Peace is what you most probably will be looking for after surviving it through the insane Nairobi traffic.

Rooms are spacious and clean. Bathrooms - same same. WiFi is available. TV is available in the lounge area. Breakfasts are good. For other meals, you can get it delivered from any of the restaurants in the neighborhood (very fast, within 15-20mins, and inexpensive).

The neighboring area is very safe and rather well connected. You find big shopping malls within walking distance (Junction, 15 mins walking), also sport grounds and health clubs (Impala Club: I used their track, gym, pool; got very good massage there). For nightlife, there is a cool bar/club on Ngong Road (Brew Bistro & Lounge) - very lively on weekends (mix of African and Western club music).

I arrived to Nairobi on the day of the Westgate mall incident. Before travelling, I was checking on various hotels - also those of international chains and in downtown. After my arrival and seeing what was happening in the Westgate mall, I was very happy - almost relieved - I chose this discreet and homelike place to stay (and not one of "mass tourism"). I felt completely safe in this peaceful oasis.

Last but not least, I would advise Ndemi Place to anyone looking for peaceful, charming and secure place to stay in Nairobi. Let's be clear - Ndemi is not Hilton or Sheraton (one comment below seems to mistake Ndemi with one of the posh hotels, expecting Intercom in the rooms - hmmmmm, I personally find it quite amusing :-). But I would not swap Ndemi for any of these high-end hotels.
Ndemi is a lovely place which offers great value for money and assistance you won't get anywhere else. So don't hesitate - go for it!

Ndemi Place will always be "my place" in Nairobi/Kenya!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    32
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
23
21
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I'm currently staying at Ndemi Place. So far the service has been great. The manager's name is Moses and he is extremely helpful. Any services you require, he organizes without any fuss. Today he walked us to a local bank to transfer money and has also organized meal delivery from a local restaurant.  

The room we have is simple, yet spacious and clean. If you are after a modern place then this is probably not for you. The cost will be more though as Ndemi Place is quite cheap in comparison to the 4 and 5 star hotels. The rooms have free wifi which was a nice surprise.

Management organized a driver to pick us up from the airport. Despite having to wait nearly an hour the driver waited for us, with name card in hand, and drove us back to the hotel for a very reasonable fee. Management has obviously built a relationship with honest and reliable taxi drivers. Today we used a different driver who took us to a local giraffe park and coffe restaurant for a reasonable fee.

I gave this place a 5 due to it's cost and my expectations. it's very quiet and in a relatively safe part of town. 

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Ndemi Place is a lovely and affordable place to stay while in Nairobi. The staff are remarkably friendly and helpful. The house itself is set in a lush garden and the area is peaceful and quiet. The rooms at Ndemi are simple but very comfortable. (Although sound travels in the house and can get noisy with many people) Moses, was helpful with last minute reservations as well as booking taxis. The location is also well suited as it is on Ngong Road and close to Junction Mall that has everything you need. Phone SIMS, food, supermarket, atms restaurants etc. Also it is 5 minute walk to Toi Market which is a great second hand outdoor clothes market. There is also a tropical disease doctor just down the road if you need medical support! Stay at the Ndemi, you will be pleased!

Room Tip: avoid room 4 or 2 if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Arrived late in the night on a Sunday. The place is located in a quiet residential area. Expect a fairly long commute from the airport to the hotel. The traffic can be very bad.

The good - the setting is actually quite nice, the area is quiet, and the staff is friendly. The transportation they connect you with, Lazarus, is very accommodating and very nice.

The bad - the place needs a lot of maintenance and renovation. Appears to not have been well maintained. My mosquito net had a ton of holes in it. Everything is fairly old.

The ugly - the bathroom comes with a suicide shower (an electric in line water heater attached to the shower head). Mine actually arced current while I was showering. Also, it only had one setting . That setting was burning hot.

The place could be wonderful, but in its current state it is average at best.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night and absolutely loved it. Had family visiting Kenya or the first time from the US. The staff was overly friendly, accomodating and all around nice people. The chef was awesome and made us an awesome meal. We also enjoyed the mandazis and samosas with the high tea. I would recommend this to staying at any hotel - it adds a different kind of touch. Thank you so much, to all the staff - you made our night there memorable. Baraka tele!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The 11/3/12 review has it right. This is a once elegant colonial villa, now somewhat down at the heels. It could use a major re-wiring and re-plumbing, but then it would cost four times as much to stay here.
The staff at Ndemi Place was very friendly and responsive to our needs. We made email reservations (for 5/1/13 to 9/1/13) months in advance with Viola, bill to be paid on our arrival. She arranged prompt and efficient transportation for us from and to Jomo Kenyatta airport.
We were initially disappointed with our room. We asked for another room, but it was late at night, and the other room wasn’t made up. However, they had it ready the next day, and it was a big improvement. It looked out on the sunny front yard of Ndemi Place, with good toilet, multiple electrical outlets, and much better atmosphere for the balance of our time there.

Food was great! Chef Cosma enjoyed our attempts at Kiswahili and provided good service, including French press coffee, cereal, fruit, scrambled eggs for breakfast, and delicious vegetarian meals for just the two of us in the evenings. The dinners were extra, about US$11 per person, but were well worth it, saving us having to find a restaurant that met our needs.

Ndemi Place is safe and secure, with a guard always at the gate to let people in and out. The grounds were a peaceful, beautiful surrounding for our times of rest and regrouping. It was absolutely silent at night. Lovely bird sounds greeted us each morning, with some Hadada Ibis congregating in the large garden behind the house. We even went for a walk in the surrounding residential neighborhood on Sunday morning, passing locals walking to church. This was the perfect place for us to rest up while we toured Nairobi and got over our jet lag, en route to Lamu in our very first trip to Africa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

It is what you expect. We didn't expect too much and were well aware that other hotels in Nairobi charge double or more (here 60USD per single / 100USD double). So with this in mind we found a beautiful and peaceful garden villa. We really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ndemi Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ndemi Place

Address: Ndemi Close, off Ndemi Road | P.O. Box 76120, Nairobi 00508, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a serene natural resort of Kenya’s capital city, The Ndemi Place is the ideal stop over for guests seeking peace and vintage charm in the city of Nairobi. Enjoy the warm and inviting touch of guest house hospitality combined with all contemporary comforts for the distinguished business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Ndemi Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ndemi Place Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ndemi Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.