We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ndemi Place

Save Saved
You added The Ndemi Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ndemi Place
Ndemi Close, off Ndemi Road | P.O. Box 76120, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
nairobi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Ndemi Place is a lovely and affordable place to stay while in Nairobi. The staff are remarkably friendly and helpful. The house itself is set in a lush garden and the area is peaceful and quiet. The rooms at Ndemi are simple but very comfortable. (Although sound travels in the house and can get noisy with many people) Moses, was helpful with last minute reservations as well as booking taxis. The location is also well suited as it is on Ngong Road and close to Junction Mall that has everything you need. Phone SIMS, food, supermarket, atms restaurants etc. Also it is 5 minute walk to Toi Market which is a great second hand outdoor clothes market. There is also a tropical disease doctor just down the road if you need medical support! Stay at the Ndemi, you will be pleased!

Room Tip: avoid room 4 or 2 if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    29
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
20
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Arrived late in the night on a Sunday. The place is located in a quiet residential area. Expect a fairly long commute from the airport to the hotel. The traffic can be very bad.

The good - the setting is actually quite nice, the area is quiet, and the staff is friendly. The transportation they connect you with, Lazarus, is very accommodating and very nice.

The bad - the place needs a lot of maintenance and renovation. Appears to not have been well maintained. My mosquito net had a ton of holes in it. Everything is fairly old.

The ugly - the bathroom comes with a suicide shower (an electric in line water heater attached to the shower head). Mine actually arced current while I was showering. Also, it only had one setting . That setting was burning hot.

The place could be wonderful, but in its current state it is average at best.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night and absolutely loved it. Had family visiting Kenya or the first time from the US. The staff was overly friendly, accomodating and all around nice people. The chef was awesome and made us an awesome meal. We also enjoyed the mandazis and samosas with the high tea. I would recommend this to staying at any hotel - it adds a different kind of touch. Thank you so much, to all the staff - you made our night there memorable. Baraka tele!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The 11/3/12 review has it right. This is a once elegant colonial villa, now somewhat down at the heels. It could use a major re-wiring and re-plumbing, but then it would cost four times as much to stay here.
The staff at Ndemi Place was very friendly and responsive to our needs. We made email reservations (for 5/1/13 to 9/1/13) months in advance with Viola, bill to be paid on our arrival. She arranged prompt and efficient transportation for us from and to Jomo Kenyatta airport.
We were initially disappointed with our room. We asked for another room, but it was late at night, and the other room wasn’t made up. However, they had it ready the next day, and it was a big improvement. It looked out on the sunny front yard of Ndemi Place, with good toilet, multiple electrical outlets, and much better atmosphere for the balance of our time there.

Food was great! Chef Cosma enjoyed our attempts at Kiswahili and provided good service, including French press coffee, cereal, fruit, scrambled eggs for breakfast, and delicious vegetarian meals for just the two of us in the evenings. The dinners were extra, about US$11 per person, but were well worth it, saving us having to find a restaurant that met our needs.

Ndemi Place is safe and secure, with a guard always at the gate to let people in and out. The grounds were a peaceful, beautiful surrounding for our times of rest and regrouping. It was absolutely silent at night. Lovely bird sounds greeted us each morning, with some Hadada Ibis congregating in the large garden behind the house. We even went for a walk in the surrounding residential neighborhood on Sunday morning, passing locals walking to church. This was the perfect place for us to rest up while we toured Nairobi and got over our jet lag, en route to Lamu in our very first trip to Africa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

It is what you expect. We didn't expect too much and were well aware that other hotels in Nairobi charge double or more (here 60USD per single / 100USD double). So with this in mind we found a beautiful and peaceful garden villa. We really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We truly enjoyed our experience at Ndemi Place. During our stay we learned that it is the home of a former Kenyan ambassador. The house is quaint, comfortable and very peaceful. Staying there you will feel as though you are a guest in someone's home -- because you are. There is a small but very accommodating staff led by Ms. Monica, who patiently worked with us for months by email while we planned our trip to Kenya. The meals were very good and prepared just for us. You will not get all the bells and whistles you would at a hotel, but you definitely get personal attention in a homey environment. Ndemi is a distance from downtown Nairobi, though not impossibly far by car. It is the perfect place to wind down if you are looking for a quite night or two away from everything.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a basic, possibly overpriced (at $100 per night), hotel very far from the impression given by many reviews. It is, indeed, wonderfully situated in pleasant gardens and the house has some sense of the colonial past, but it is now looking rather tired. The rooms vary a lot and don't all match the pictures. We rejected the first room offered (which was at the back) and were then offered one at the front which was closer to the published pictures. However, neither the room nor the bathroom were in very good condition (poor shower, in particular). Breakfast was adequate but no more. The best thing about this hotel is that the staff were welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ndemi Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ndemi Place

Address: Ndemi Close, off Ndemi Road | P.O. Box 76120, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a serene natural resort of Kenya’s capital city, The Ndemi Place is the ideal stop over for guests seeking peace and vintage charm in the city of Nairobi. Enjoy the warm and inviting touch of guest house hospitality combined with all contemporary comforts for the distinguished business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Ndemi Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ndemi Place Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ndemi Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.