We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Guest House in the bustle which is Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ndemi Place

Save Saved
You added The Ndemi Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ndemi Place
Ndemi Close, off Ndemi Road | P.O. Box 76120, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Bungoma, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful Guest House in the bustle which is Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Our group of eight from up-country was given a very warm welcome. The place is peaceful and the staff very friendly. Cosmos's breakfasts were amazing!
Nairobi suffered a major power outage on our second night and the generator was sufficient for our needs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    29
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
20
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dakar, Senegal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Charming, friendly, quiet place set in a lovely walled garden. I stayed at Ndemi Place for three nights – Saturday before a week in the Rift Valley, and the following Friday and Saturday nights before I left for home.
The overall feel of this place was cool, green, quiet and safe - totally different from the surrounding dusty streets filled with traffic. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Nairobi.

I paid $4800 ksh (about $58.00 USD) per night. Like most places in Africa, they require payment in cash, so make sure you visit the ATM and don't plan on using your credit card at the hotel.

Ndemi place is not an American style luxury hotel – not cheapo but not upscale either. Just solid and comfortable. The building has the gracious feel of an old colonial English lodge (I think it originally was one). Lots of dark woodwork, casement windows, high ceilings, and solid dark wood furniture.

A small but comfortable breakfast room is located on a greenhouse style porch, where they served sausage and eggs to order in the morning along with the usual breakfast buffet – coffee, tea, cereal, fruit, etc. The grounds are very green and leafy, with a bench here and there to relax and watch the birds. The hotel doubles as a conference center, so there are a few large buildings on the grounds. One is a kind of ugly, barracks style building, but the beauty of the rest of the garden made it easy to ignore. There was a conference one of the days I was there. Everyone arrived in the morning and went straight to the conference buildings without entering the hotel itself. They made no noise or trouble.

The comfortable living room has armchairs, a TV and a computer with internet access for guests. The hotel was not very full when I was there. The staff were invariably very friendly and helpful. They arranged for taxis and told me the prices up front.

There is a shopping center about a mile and a half away, down the Ngong road, which is a busy boulevard with a dusty path on each side. I walked there once and it was a comfortable distance. I felt safe as I walked, with all the traffic and bustle, although it was a bit too hot because I went at noon and forgot my hat. The shopping center was VERY much like an American shopping center – bookstore, drug store, gift stores, clothing stores, American-style coffee shops and restaurants, and a big supermarket/general store (Nakumatt) with the feel and products you'd find in a U.S. Wal-Mart or Target store. There are also several ATMs there that took my ATM card from a major American bank with no problem.
I would definitely recommend Ndemi Place.

Room Tip: The first room I stayed in (I think it was room 5) was in the interior of the building looking onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Ndemi Place is a very nice hotel - guest house located in one of the 'posh' suburbs of Nairobi.

It is quiet, clean and well maintained. The staff are helpful and accomodating - they got us chips, brandy and coca cola from the local shops (not very healthy but that's our fault!) and arranged a taxi to the airport at a good price.

The gardens that surround the hotel are a great place to relax on a sunny afternoon. I recommend the spicy African tea.

The next day my flight was delayed and Kenya Airways put me in a business hotel while I waited. Of course it was free to me but if I had paid it would have been much more expensive than Ndemi Place. It was not as good.

Room Tip: If you are a couple I recommend room 10. King size bed and acres of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

A very pleasant, reasonably priced guest house some distance from the city centre, but well located for attractions in Karen and nearby areas. The room was comfortable but showing signs of wear and tear and wouldn't suit people who want a high standard of maintenance, but it was clean and the essentials all worked. The common areas have character and are a nice place to relax or use the free wifi (not possible in the room). The garden is superb and is a great place to have breakfast, particularly as the cook whips up a great omelette which you can have spicy if you want. Good samosas are another highlight of the breakfast.
Overall, by Nairobi standards, this is a good value for money place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

A little bit outside Nairobi but that means peace and quiet. There are lovely gardens to sit out in and enjoy, and the staff are both friendly and accommodating. Due to an early departure they were happy to sort out an early breakfast for us, and in the evening if you come back too late, for the chef to fix you up a bit of food they can sort out drinks and food to be delivered from local restaurants. Rooms very clean, nice hot water and they can sort out travel to and from Nairobi airport.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012 via mobile

Where do I start TV not working (DSTV had not been paid, internet not working as it had been cut off. The chef/Security/repair man very friendly but a one man band show stale breakfast to great you in the morning.

The only thing positive is the bed is comfortable.

Don't be fooled with nice seeming pics. We and the couple renting next door all checked out after one night.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

I stayed at Ndemi Guest house for two days and I found it to be a very nice place. I am a female travelling on my own and the place was really safe as well as really clean and well maintained, The staff is very helpful tehy will help you arrange transports, transfers ...etc at reasonable costs. The Hotel is really well located near a shopping centers with many fast foods all good ( Phoenician serves good wine and sushis). The hotel is equiped with wifim has warm water, a garden, a 24hrs service and is really quiet in a good area.

If you go there talk to Thomas, Jerem or Monica they are all equally nice and will assist you with a great smile.

PS : Monica was expecting a baby when I visited the place I d be happy to know whether it is a girl or a boy ...:)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ndemi Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ndemi Place

Address: Ndemi Close, off Ndemi Road | P.O. Box 76120, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a serene natural resort of Kenya’s capital city, The Ndemi Place is the ideal stop over for guests seeking peace and vintage charm in the city of Nairobi. Enjoy the warm and inviting touch of guest house hospitality combined with all contemporary comforts for the distinguished business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your The Ndemi Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ndemi Place Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ndemi Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.