We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jupiter Guest Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jupiter Guest Resort
Chiromo Lane off Ojijo Rd, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“stay away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

stayed at this guest house for one day and could not sleep at all due to the pounding music,do not pay for the place in advance but as per the days you decide to stay. I would never recommend it to anyone the only thing we enjoyed was the spinach the rest of the food was bland and not tasty at all. The toilet leaked on flushing,the rooms were tiny and service was lousy.

Room Tip: there are no good rooms its next to a club and noisy through out
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
2
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Pleasant place with friendly staff. Clean and tidy located close to Westlands for good and easy access to the shops etc. requires a short walk tho of 10-15 minutes or a 5 min taxi. At this price it is great value although rooms are on the small side for the standard rooms, but at this price in this location cannot complain. Price comes with breakfast, which is basic but perfectly fine. They have a kitchen and I heard the food is good. There is also a good bar opposite and so not isolated if you don’t wish to go to Westlands or move far. One draw back was that staff were noisy early in the morning and the sound carries. So if looking for a lie in may need to advise the management.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was very comfortable here. There are comfortable beds with canopy mosquito nets. I got to take an actual hot shower and the bathroom was very clean. There are quite a bit of mosquitoes which I am guessing is due to the hotel's proximity to a dam. However, the hotel will provide you with bug spray. The food is okay...don't get a milkshake. The pork chops smelled amazing and unfortunately, I never got to try them. There is free WiFi here and you can use the business center for a cheap 100 Kenyan shillings per day (about $1 USD). I recommend visiting Carinvore which is right down the street. Don't walk there though! Get a driver. Also, there is a large Walmart-like store across the street. In the parking lot you can buy some awesome souvenirs at a very good price. My friends bought some beautiful purses here and I bought hand-carved animal heads to hang on the wall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

I stayed at the Jupiter after I found out the Parklands sports club was full. The location is close to both Westlands and Town. However that is about the only redeeming quality. Almost every night there is loud pounding music coming from a near by club (not just Friday and Saturday), I had bugs in my room, cats would wander in the rooms and the power was constantly cutting in and out. There was no back-up generator to keep the security light running at night and thus the guard would stand out with the gates open to let in some lights. Given the area and the city this is not a recommended practice!!! I ended up leaving the hotel in the middle of the night for another place as I just could not take it any longer. The hotel would not give me a refund and any of the night I had paid for and were not helpful int he least. If you want to say a couple of dollars stay here, if you want a comfortable stay that includes safety and sleep I suggest looking at one fo the apartment hotels (were you can save money by cooking some food) or at a guest house like the Miti Mingi. NEVER EVER AGAIN

Room Tip: Don't eat the food outside of breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torquay
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

I stayed there for five nights recently. Having checked all the other budget hotels in Nairobi recommended by Trip Advisor (and finding most were charging far more than I'd been led to expect) I was directed to the Jupiter Guest House by my friends at Parklands Sports Club.

The location is very convenient for both the city centre and Westlands. The staff were excellent; friendly annd helpful. The en-suite room was clean and the bedsheets were changed every day. I didn't eat there, so can't comment on the restaurant, but in every other respect I can highly recommend the Jupiter to travellers looking for low cost, safe, clean accommodation near the city centre and Westlands shops.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jupiter Guest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter Guest Resort

Also Known As:
Jupiter Guest Hotel
Jupiter Guest Hotel Nairobi
Address: Chiromo Lane off Ojijo Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 92 hotels in Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jupiter Guest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jupiter Guest Resort to your Saves list