We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very moving experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust

David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust
Mbagathi Road, Nairobi 00503 , Kenya
+254 733 891996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust (DSWT) Elephant Nursery in Nairobi National Park provides a safe haven to orphaned baby elephants rescued by the DSWT. The Nursery provides the first stage in the hand-rearing and development of milk dependent baby elephants. Once they graduate from the Nursery, aged 2-3 years, the elephants move to one of the DSWT's Reintegration Centres in Tsavo East National Park, from where they will ultimately return to the wild.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very moving experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you wonder whete the abandoned elephant babies end up after their mothers are illegaly killed or snared in the psrks, look no further. Although a super touristy attraction, I hope that this place lasts for a long time. Do make sure you are there well ahead of the 11 AM opening time as the queue builds fast. Enjoy and if you want to support your own little. baby for a year, they will let you in after hours to look at the stable too.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    900
    237
    47
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Good work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I really appreciated the good work this organisation is doing to see to it that the baby elephants who would have perished in the wild have a bright future ahead of them. Worth a visit and a donation will go a long way towards this noble course.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Its so great to see the elephants up close. You are separated only by a rope but the elephants don't know they aren't supposed to cross it! You can touch and pet the baby elephants as they approach - really awesome.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Great work helping (cute) elephants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I first read about this place a few months ago when we started researching what to do when we went to Kenya. We decided we had to go, and as a good way of building up to the visit we decided to foster/sponsor an elephant too. We enjoyed the monthly updates as they reminded us of our upcoming trip, and it was fun to hear what they were all up to.

On the day, we went along to the foster parents session in the evening (which I had booked by e-mail) where we were joined by around 35 other foster parents. We were led round to meet the young rhino for a few minutes before we lined up to see the elephants coming back from their afternoon in the park.

It wasn't long before they came running round the corner in small groups of 2-3 and then into their pens for the night (often enticed with a large bottle or two of milk). Once they were all in their pens then we were free to wander round and see them all. All the keepers were around too and happy to answer questions. We found our elephant and said hello but she wasn't too interested in us. Others were more curious though and wanted a sniff. A couple were only a couple of weeks old with really soft skin and hair - only about waist high too but still very heavy and capable of drinking quite a lot of milk.

Overall it was a great visit, the work they do is great and it will be interesting to see our elephant make it to Tsavo one day too!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

It may be a drive to get there, but its worth it as you fall in love with the baby elephants. I am very happy that there is such an organization doing such commendable work.
Its a good place to teach the kids about wildlife conservancy, and while a bit dusty and hot i really can't complain.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust also viewed

 

Been to David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust to your Saves list