We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A baby Elephant lovers must see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust

David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust
Mbagathi Road | Kws Workshop Entrance - Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00503 , Kenya
+254 733 891996
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$62*
and up
Elephants Orphanage Tour From Nairobi
Ranked #1 of 94 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust (DSWT) Elephant Nursery in Nairobi National Park provides a safe haven to orphaned baby elephants rescued by the DSWT. The Nursery provides the first stage in the hand-rearing and development of milk dependent baby elephants. Once they graduate from the Nursery, aged 2-3 years, the elephants move to one of the DSWT's Reintegration Centres in Tsavo East National Park, from where they will ultimately return to the wild.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A baby Elephant lovers must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Simply a Must-See while in the city, Nairobi that is! There isn't anything quite like it to visit with these little guys and learn about their story. If you end up fostering one (or more) of these guys you get to come back in the afternoon for a another more up-close-an-personal visit. The work that's being done there is fantastic and we need to learn from those sometimes very sad story's and protect these precious animals!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kti2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What amazing place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

If you love Elephants you will love his place. The Elephant orphanage is very special. You can have the opportunity to touch the Elephants and see the babies up close. Try to get there early if you can as its only open for one hour and the traffic in Nairobi can be bad at the best of times.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Keepers are just the most amazing people with the Elephants. Seeing is believing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

There wasn't a thing that I can think of that I disliked about the place......Just beautiful and there is game driving to do in the afternoon in between the visits to the Elephants.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank skvarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Baby elephants, what more to say?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I took my nephew and he had a blast. He was so amazed to see the small elephants up close. Don't make the mistake I did though! It's only open for an hour each day so make sure you get the timing right.

The caretakers were also really good and provided some nice stories about the different elephants.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huye, Rwanda
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very fun, and you support a good cause”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I really enjoyed my visit to the Trust and felt great about supporting their cause. I left much more informed and with a desire to continue to help conservation efforts. Make sure you check the times before you go, you want to make sure you're there for the feedings so you get to interact as much as possible with the elephants!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust also viewed

 

Been to David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing