We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmissable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust

David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust
Mbagathi Road, Nairobi 00503 , Kenya
+254 733 891996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust (DSWT) Elephant Nursery in Nairobi National Park provides a safe haven to orphaned baby elephants rescued by the DSWT. The Nursery provides the first stage in the hand-rearing and development of milk dependent baby elephants. Once they graduate from the Nursery, aged 2-3 years, the elephants move to one of the DSWT's Reintegration Centres in Tsavo East National Park, from where they will ultimately return to the wild.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Dublin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Unmissable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Fantastic up close experience with very young elephants, cared for by experts. Very knowledgeable talks by excellent keepers, though the rudeness of some English guests nattering aloud during their talk was more than irritating but no fault of the staff. Another surprise animal can be seen up close here too!
Go, but only if you are polite enough to listen!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    890
    233
    46
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Baby elephants”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

It was really cute to see the little baby elephants up close. Many of us wonder where they actually get these elephants especially because the elephants work in family and take care of each other. The place is helpful in answering questions. It is a very touristy place to visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Baby elephants, come on......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A must see in Nairobi. A bit touristy and crowded at times, but seeing these animals is very worth it. And your fee goes to a great cause. Don't miss this.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful baby elephants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a wonderful place this is! It's only open for an hour or so during the elephants feeding time so make sure to get there early, but it is so worth it! The baby elephants are so beautiful! Thank goodness there is a place like this that will take care of them. I could have stayed all day!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not as exciting as I was hoping for...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I visited the elephant orphanage together with a group in January. We had heard positive things about it, and we were really looking forward to the visit. It might have been just us who didn't know what it really was, but nevertheless, most of us where disappointed. Since we had heard "elephant orphanage" we didn't expect just to see baby elephants get fed inside fences with loads of tourists around. For me, I was more reminded of a zoo (of course I understand that the project is not like that, but I'm thinking about the experience as a tourist). I don't know if it's worth the visit - if you'd really like to see baby elephants, go check it out, but there are many other things in Nairobi that should be higher on your "attractions to visit"-list.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust also viewed

 

Been to David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust to your Saves list