We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful baby elephants!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust

David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust
Mbagathi Road, Nairobi 00503 , Kenya
+254 733 891996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 42 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust (DSWT) Elephant Nursery in Nairobi National Park provides a safe haven to orphaned baby elephants rescued by the DSWT. The Nursery provides the first stage in the hand-rearing and development of milk dependent baby elephants. Once they graduate from the Nursery, aged 2-3 years, the elephants move to one of the DSWT's Reintegration Centres in Tsavo East National Park, from where they will ultimately return to the wild.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful baby elephants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a wonderful place this is! It's only open for an hour or so during the elephants feeding time so make sure to get there early, but it is so worth it! The baby elephants are so beautiful! Thank goodness there is a place like this that will take care of them. I could have stayed all day!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,100
    286
    57
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alesund, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not as exciting as I was hoping for...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I visited the elephant orphanage together with a group in January. We had heard positive things about it, and we were really looking forward to the visit. It might have been just us who didn't know what it really was, but nevertheless, most of us where disappointed. Since we had heard "elephant orphanage" we didn't expect just to see baby elephants get fed inside fences with loads of tourists around. For me, I was more reminded of a zoo (of course I understand that the project is not like that, but I'm thinking about the experience as a tourist). I don't know if it's worth the visit - if you'd really like to see baby elephants, go check it out, but there are many other things in Nairobi that should be higher on your "attractions to visit"-list.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My first choice for sightseeing, observing the orphan baby elephants was educational, and motivational. Seeing the care they're receiving after the tragic loss of a mother, shows what CAN be done, not just what can go wrong. Elephants and staff are each amazing. I will continue to support these efforts in the years to come.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“There is a reason this is # 1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is often referred to as the elephant orphange by the locals.
I just returned from my third visit to Nairobi and my third visit to this
place. This is the only so-called tourist attraction that I felt warranted
a return visit. Don't miss it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing experience with baby elephants - truly enchanting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Was there with a friend who sponsors/adopted a baby elephant there and so we got to do a private visit in the evening when the babies were coming in from the park at the end of the day (around 5pm) and have to say that having a troupe of baby elephants run towards you is incredible! The keepers are so wonderful and friendly as well once you start chatting to them and the whole experience is just enchanting. Well worth a visit!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust also viewed

 

Been to David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.