We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust

David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust
Mbagathi Road | Kws Workshop Entrance - Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00503 , Kenya
+254 733 891996
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
and up
Elephants Orphanage Tour From Nairobi
Ranked #1 of 92 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust (DSWT) Elephant Nursery in Nairobi National Park provides a safe haven to orphaned baby elephants rescued by the DSWT. The Nursery provides the first stage in the hand-rearing and development of milk dependent baby elephants. Once they graduate from the Nursery, aged 2-3 years, the elephants move to one of the DSWT's Reintegration Centres in Tsavo East National Park, from where they will ultimately return to the wild.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Must to see in Nairobi. Feeding of baby elephants and seeing them playind in mud is just so great ewperience. I was there in April 2010 and i wish to go back. You can also adobt an baby elephant and the money will go to all foster animals in the place. It is nice to see that someone is working for helping baby animals whose mom has been killed or died.

Visited February 2012
1 Thank SatuRuismaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loved seeing the baby elephants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Even though we saw many elephants on our safari, there is something about seeing orphaned, baby elephants that really tugs at your heart strings. I thought this place was worth seeing, even if its only open for an hour a day.

Visited December 2012
Thank Alowery81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Baby elephants - need I say more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

It has baby elephants, all orphans, all drop dead cute and at times within arms reach. Even an old cynic like me was moved and thoroughly enjoyed the whole thing

Visited January 2013
Thank TMcMurray_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We foster elephants at the orpahange and our decision to visit Kenya was predominantly to see them. And we were not dissappointed! We visited during the public viewing and even though there were alot of visitors, everyone got a front row view and it was amazng how close we could get. The keepers were very informative as well. We are returning at a later time which we have had to book ahead of time which is just for foster parents for a more one on one experience and we can't wait. We organised a driver to take us from our hotel and wait for us which was a great decision, and our driver also took us to the Giraffe Centre which is close by. A visit to David Sheldrick is a must if visiting Nairobi, it was better than we could have ever imagined.

Visited January 2013
3 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A story that needs to be told”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have been to this place already twice. The secon time my teenager daughter loved it.
hey only open to the public for one hour a day, but this is a reflection for their genuine love for wildlife and their respect for their need to be "left alone"...
Dame Daphne Sheldrick is a woman of vision and energy, and this place is a tribute to the dedication of this exceptional human being to the cause of giving a second chance to orphan elephants. Not to be missed!

Visited December 2012
1 Thank MagisterRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing