We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust

David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust
Mbagathi Road, Nairobi 00503 , Kenya
+254 733 891996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 43 attractions in Nairobi
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust (DSWT) Elephant Nursery in Nairobi National Park provides a safe haven to orphaned baby elephants rescued by the DSWT. The Nursery provides the first stage in the hand-rearing and development of milk dependent baby elephants. Once they graduate from the Nursery, aged 2-3 years, the elephants move to one of the DSWT's Reintegration Centres in Tsavo East National Park, from where they will ultimately return to the wild.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Espoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Must to see in Nairobi. Feeding of baby elephants and seeing them playind in mud is just so great ewperience. I was there in April 2010 and i wish to go back. You can also adobt an baby elephant and the money will go to all foster animals in the place. It is nice to see that someone is working for helping baby animals whose mom has been killed or died.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    894
    234
    46
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved seeing the baby elephants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Even though we saw many elephants on our safari, there is something about seeing orphaned, baby elephants that really tugs at your heart strings. I thought this place was worth seeing, even if its only open for an hour a day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Baby elephants - need I say more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

It has baby elephants, all orphans, all drop dead cute and at times within arms reach. Even an old cynic like me was moved and thoroughly enjoyed the whole thing

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We foster elephants at the orpahange and our decision to visit Kenya was predominantly to see them. And we were not dissappointed! We visited during the public viewing and even though there were alot of visitors, everyone got a front row view and it was amazng how close we could get. The keepers were very informative as well. We are returning at a later time which we have had to book ahead of time which is just for foster parents for a more one on one experience and we can't wait. We organised a driver to take us from our hotel and wait for us which was a great decision, and our driver also took us to the Giraffe Centre which is close by. A visit to David Sheldrick is a must if visiting Nairobi, it was better than we could have ever imagined.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A story that needs to be told”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have been to this place already twice. The secon time my teenager daughter loved it.
hey only open to the public for one hour a day, but this is a reflection for their genuine love for wildlife and their respect for their need to be "left alone"...
Dame Daphne Sheldrick is a woman of vision and energy, and this place is a tribute to the dedication of this exceptional human being to the cause of giving a second chance to orphan elephants. Not to be missed!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust also viewed

 

Been to David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust to your Saves list