We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baby Elephants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust

David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust
Mbagathi Road, Nairobi 00503 , Kenya
+254 733 891996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 43 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust (DSWT) Elephant Nursery in Nairobi National Park provides a safe haven to orphaned baby elephants rescued by the DSWT. The Nursery provides the first stage in the hand-rearing and development of milk dependent baby elephants. Once they graduate from the Nursery, aged 2-3 years, the elephants move to one of the DSWT's Reintegration Centres in Tsavo East National Park, from where they will ultimately return to the wild.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Baby Elephants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Had a blast! Took great pics, elephants were playful and friendly! Staff was helpful in making sure elephants moved around and took pics for visitors. Wished they stayed out longer!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    992
    260
    52
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Warms your heart!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Firstly, the place is only open from 11-12, I don't want anyone to miss out!

They are doing a fantastic job here, rescuing baby elephant and rhino from around Kenya, who have lost their mothers, more often than not, due to poaching (yes, despite continued awareness around the world,, education is still not getting out around the world, in china, where most of the ivory goes for luxury items, they believe that the tusks naturally fall out and grow again, like milk teeth in humans, knowledge is power and there needs to be better education about elephant ivory, and the death it brings, as it still happens all too often ) , mothers get killed), or natural death.

You get let in, paying a nominal entry (500 shillings, around £4) and walk to a clearing with a wonderful view of the national park (the orphanage is in the park, but you don't have to pay the park entry fee) where there are plenty of milk bottles! The elephant come in 2 groups and there is a guy with a microphone telling the story of each and every elephant. Where he/she was found, how old, how long they have been there etc. They also touch on the success stories of reintegration into Tsavo.

They do such a great job here. Sometimes you find orphanages whom don't release back into the wild, so it was fantastic that they do.

You can tell that they really care about the animals, and are predominately a rescue and release facility rather than a tourist attraction, which is just fine by me! Often you find with similar places, all they care about are the tourists and the dollars they bring, and looking after the animals is almost a second thought. This orphanage is NOT one of them!!

I felt honoured to be able to meet these wonderful, gentle, and oh so cute animals!

I would recommend you buy Daphne's autobiography, I haven't finished it yet, but so far, it's great. From her early childhood, where even then she was lookimg after baby orphaned animals, like moongoose, dik dik, bush buck, zebra to growing up, (this is where i am in the book) marriage and her work with elephant and rhino. If you can read it before going to the orphanage, then I think your visit will have even more meaning!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it - elephants were so cute!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed this. It was fun to see the elephants being fed and to hear the story of the Trust. We adopted a baby elephant. You have to get there at 11AM to see them being fed. It lasts for 1 hour. There was a lot of construction on the way and it took us a very long time to get there so allow extra time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Brilliant, we want to adopt an orphan elephant.unfortuneately it poured with rain while I was there as I would have liked to have stayed longer

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lovely baby elephants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The DSWT raises orphan baby elephants whose mothers were often killed by poachers. From 11 - 12 it is feeding time. They come running into their feeding area where they drink milk out of a bottle. Very dearing to watch. Then they play around a bit. There are two rounds, first the very little ones and then the slightly older ones. Ver nice. Entrance fee KES 500 (around EUR 5).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust also viewed

 

Been to David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.