We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible experience, don't miss this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust

David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust
Mbagathi Road, Nairobi 00503 , Kenya
+254 733 891996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 42 Attractions in Nairobi
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust (DSWT) Elephant Nursery in Nairobi National Park provides a safe haven to orphaned baby elephants rescued by the DSWT. The Nursery provides the first stage in the hand-rearing and development of milk dependent baby elephants. Once they graduate from the Nursery, aged 2-3 years, the elephants move to one of the DSWT's Reintegration Centres in Tsavo East National Park, from where they will ultimately return to the wild.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Incredible experience, don't miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Elephant orphanage at the Sheldrick center is truly amazing. You get to see ( up close) and learn all about each baby elephant. The staff are incredibly knowledgeable. I went expecting to see cute baby animals, and I left with a new-found appreciation for a magnificent species. It is only open form 11am to Noon so make sure you plan accordingly. Don't miss this, and be sure to bring your camera!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,001
    261
    54
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“amazing organization”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I visited here in August and loved seeing the baby elephants get their noon milk feeding. The talk is informative and they explain the tragic effects of poaching and give you a short history on each of the babies at the Nursery at the time. When one pulls your heart strings, you are able to foster the baby for a mere $50 US annually (minimum). I fostered a baby and was able to reserve a spot for an evening visit before my flight home 20 days later. Seeing the babies come in from their day out foraging and being fed and put to bed was amazing.

Noon visits are only one hour in length and the night-time visits are limited to 30 people and are from 5-6pm. This is not nearly enough time to watch these delightful animals, but when you are trying to eventually reintigrate animals back into the wild, I can understand wanting to limit time with large groups of people.

The entrance fee was very reasonable. (1000 Kenyan shillings, about $11 U.S. or Canadian)

The best part of this organization is not only seeing the babies (a must do if you are in Nairobi!) but all of the other work they do as well. Their rehabilitation program gets these eles back into the wild. Their vet units and anti-snare teams are working to help injured adults in the wild and the anit-poaching teams are out trying to destroy platforms used by poachers.

Since coming home, I have spent countless hours on their website, reading about their efforts and the babies at the nursery. They send me a montly newsletter as well. I am now fostering 5 babies and have 2 more that I want to add to my list. I really hope one day I can make it back there again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocentaina spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Terrific! Well worth a visit. A bit sad to see a huge rhino in too small an enclosure, elephants seemed happy and well cared for. Entrance fee very reasonable.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Over-Crowded”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Just feels over-rated and over-crowded. The organization does good work, but is not visitor-friendly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Must-see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is a fabulous place to take children, as the elephants are close enough to touch, and the guides will allow visitors to interact with these amazing creatures. Our kids couldn't believe they could stand within inches of animals that are usually past a huge barrier in a zoo. The work the Sheldrick Trust is doing is amazing, too.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust also viewed

 

Been to David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.