We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet guest house, very nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Margarita House

Save Saved
You added Margarita House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Margarita House
Lower Plains Road | off Karen Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sweet guest house, very nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Don't be alarmed if you come into Nairobi in the late evening as you drive along dark, dirt roads. I wish I had been forewarned so I would not have been a bit freaked out. We arrived very late from Los Angeles, it is a 45 minute ride from the airport, so we were really tired and had an early flight to Tanzania. All night long that night we heard dogs and roosters so... not too much sleep. They were so nice to us and had prepared a very early breakfast for us before we left. We returned to them for our last night in Africa after our trip to Tanzania, it was so much better. We did not hear the animals, perhaps we were used to the time by then and not so freaked out, We had a great breakfast in the morning and they arranged for us to tour all day and then to dinner and to the airport to go home. Loved the town of Karen, and the whole day there! Do not book any tours, ask them for a driver and do it yourself, so much less $$$. See Baby elephant rescue at 10:00, giraffe encounter and the Blixon Museum... it's a great day. Margarita allowed us to return that late afternoon and take showers and rest before dinner and our late flight. They were really wonderful. It is not luxury, but very clean, comfortable beds and the nicest people. Also, ask them to send a driver to pick you up at the airport and take you back...someone will be waiting for you with your name..

Room Tip: All rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
12
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tigard, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our stay was very quiet & restful. The food was delicious. The room and bathroom were neat & tidy. The staff was very attentive and professional and kind. Would love to visit the Margarita House again!
Thank you for making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a wonderful small (16 rooms) hotel in the Karen, just southwest of Nairobi. We stayed three nights following our nine-day safari in the Masai Mara. The entire grounds and hotel are enclosed, gated, and guarded 24/7 for security so you feel completely safe while staying there. The Margarita House is family run and the owner's residence is at one end of the building---you will most likely meet them during your stay. By the way, the Margarita House is named after the owner's grandmother.

The room was charming with a comfortable poster bed with mosquito netting, couch, full bath, flat screen TV and fireplace (P.S. WIFI is free and available throughout the facility and grounds). Our room had a balcony that overlooked the gardens. It was nice to sit there and have coffee in the morning.

It is not only peaceful and beautiful but the staff is tops. They will personally take care of everything for you. The chef prepares the best meals and it's all safe. They follow international food preparation standards. We ate salads, fresh fruit and did not have to worry. It was all delicous and they are so accommodating if you have special needs (we are vegetarians). Food costs are very reasonable. We ate almost all our meals there. It was so good.

The location is great too. In one day we visited the nearby Sheldrick Baby Elephant Orphanage, the Karen Blixen museum and the Giraffe Centre. The staff at the Margarita House will arrange for a trusted driver who stays with you at all times during your excursions so there are no worries about getting back (very reasonable too).

If you are planning to stay in Nairobi and want something more than a big hotel, I highly recommend the Margarita House.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed in a Master Suite at Margarita House while overnighting in Nairobi during a business trip. The hotel is neat and clean but a few matters require improvements. Shower pressure very low and almost no hot water, so my shower was a luke warm trickle. My dinner was average - heavily salted chicken and fries/chips. I found the furnishing a bit spartan and my room a bit dark. The property is very difficult to find - my driver got lost. On the positive side the hotel is very clean and secure and service was polite and prompt. There is free wireless Internet of reasonable speed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

After a long flight this place was just marvelous!!! We also decided to do the room with meals. Breakfast was just so nice, organic and they were just so eager to serve. Lunch we had outside, but dinner was fantastic. We even watched some Kenyan TV shows. Bedroom was very comfortable and bathrooms had everything we needed. The owners were very friendly and accommodating

Room Tip: We stayed right behind the front desk and our windows face the front. The flowers in the yard were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

It is in a funny location with the driveway over a bumpy field, but we found it a functional and safe (guarded gates) place to convene at the beginning and end of our Kenyan stay. Beds were comfortable and rooms spacious. My brother mentioned the heating turning on above his room as soon as people started having showers in the morning which woke him up, but I don't know what room that was, sorry. I use earplugs generally, but my partner was woken and I was aware of the neighbours barking dogs in the night on both nights that we were there. One of them sounded pretty distressed. The cooking staff were very friendly and attentive (my mother is dairy free), for both breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: I think the dogs are at the back of the hotel, so a front room might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Overlooking the nightmare of getting to Margarita House and Victor unable to give the driver directions, ( the arranged driver was a no show), the neighbours' dogs barked the entire night. The light bulb dangled over the bed with no light shade and there was no mattress cover under the ill fitting sheet. A dirty ashtray and empty beer bottle was on outside table at our room's entrance and was not removed. The landing and stairs were filthy. On our return from our safari the dogs continued to bark and we were woken up at 6 30 by the neighbours' man sweeping under our window. The experience was unpleasant and the rooms dark and depressing.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Margarita House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarita House

Address: Lower Plains Road | off Karen Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Kenya’s best kept secrets, Margarita house is a budding boutique hotel fittingly situated on the periphery of Nairobi city, in the up-scale suburb of Karen. We are conveniently located within 5 minutes drive of major tourist attractions such as; Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum, giraffe center and the Nairobi safari walk. At Margarita House we offer professional personalized service delivered in a serene and relaxing environment. Try us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Margarita House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarita House Hotel Karen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margarita House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.