We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Margarita House

Save Saved
You added Margarita House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Margarita House
Lower Plains Road | off Karen Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #37 of 156 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Massapequa, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great restful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

After a long flight this place was just marvelous!!! We also decided to do the room with meals. Breakfast was just so nice, organic and they were just so eager to serve. Lunch we had outside, but dinner was fantastic. We even watched some Kenyan TV shows. Bedroom was very comfortable and bathrooms had everything we needed. The owners were very friendly and accommodating

Room Tip: We stayed right behind the front desk and our windows face the front. The flowers in the yard were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
12
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

It is in a funny location with the driveway over a bumpy field, but we found it a functional and safe (guarded gates) place to convene at the beginning and end of our Kenyan stay. Beds were comfortable and rooms spacious. My brother mentioned the heating turning on above his room as soon as people started having showers in the morning which woke him up, but I don't know what room that was, sorry. I use earplugs generally, but my partner was woken and I was aware of the neighbours barking dogs in the night on both nights that we were there. One of them sounded pretty distressed. The cooking staff were very friendly and attentive (my mother is dairy free), for both breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: I think the dogs are at the back of the hotel, so a front room might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Overlooking the nightmare of getting to Margarita House and Victor unable to give the driver directions, ( the arranged driver was a no show), the neighbours' dogs barked the entire night. The light bulb dangled over the bed with no light shade and there was no mattress cover under the ill fitting sheet. A dirty ashtray and empty beer bottle was on outside table at our room's entrance and was not removed. The landing and stairs were filthy. On our return from our safari the dogs continued to bark and we were woken up at 6 30 by the neighbours' man sweeping under our window. The experience was unpleasant and the rooms dark and depressing.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottesloe, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel as a large Family group of 12.
Having spent the previous 4 days climbing Mt Kenya without showering and travelling since the early morning, after providing the name of our booking, my next question was have you got hot water? Victor assured us that all was ready and we were relieved that soon we would be clean and refreshes. At 6pm, 30 minutes from our scheduled pick up for the Carnivore Dinner, 10 people still had not had showers as the water was not hot! Very disappointing. Victor was still promising the water would be hot!! The rooms were lovely and the location good but this is a basic necessity and it was not good enough.

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing but stipulate you want hot water or stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j_blaze123, General Manager at Margarita House, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We regret to learn of your recent experience at Margarita House. On behalf of the management, I would like to offer a formal apology and in addition provide a brief explanation to the circumstances that let do the failure of the hot water system.

We have a Solar water heating system in place and it was unfortunately compromised by cold and overcast weather conditions on the day of your group's arrival. The same system also has a supplementary electrical heating component that is activated during such poor conditions. On the day of your arrival however, there was an unfortunate delay in activating the electrical system. Given the time constraints brought on by your pending dinner appointment, it was difficult for the system to heat up quickly enough, thus resulting in lukewarm temperatures.

In an effort to ensure that the same mistake is not repeated, we have recently increased our hot water storage capacity by 30% and installed a computerized control system that guarantees constant hot water temperatures.

We highly appreciate your valued feedback and look forward to demonstrating our improved services to you and other clients in the future.

Kind regards,

Joel Bwayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Margarita House in Karen. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfasts in the garden were delicious. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The only drawback is needing to take a taxi everywhere, but that seems unavoidable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, kenya
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We live in Nairobi but we needed to stay in Karen due to a late night function on a Saturday. Since I didnt want to pay $250 to say at Karen Blixen etc, I decided, from the website and the reviews, that we would try the Margarita House. We rented the Master Suite, which was beautiful with an amazing giant balcony and a lovely view of the garden. However, once outside the room the place felt and smelt like a hospital. It was completely unwelcoming and you could hear every conversation the staff had outside the room. They have worn out wardrobes in the hallways with all the towels etc, of which we only got two for both of us. The sitting room is large and cold and the staff were generally in there watching TV. Also, the whole building smelt inside and outside of everything they were cooking. The bathroom is huge but they have put no effort into it and the shower rail was suspended from the ceiling by chains. The hot water was either on or off which made it very difficult to have a shower and I ended up having to wash my hair with dishwashing soap because there were NO toiletries. The "pool" is actually on the next property and had no lounge chairs and sits in a garden of a really old house with dirty net curtains in the windows. It was very discocerting, almost like you were on someone else's property. Overall it was a pleasant experience and the Staff were happy to help, but basically had nothing to help with. Breakfast was OK and they were happy to serve it in our room, but again it was not up to the standard of what we had expected. For our purposes it served us well and we enjoyed it, but would definitely not stay there again. It is just strange and makes you feel kind of weird the whole time you are there. I could not recommend this other than to a businessman needing an overnight somewhere. Although the other places in Karen are possibly more than $100 more, pay the extra and enjoy your trip. This is not the place to do it!

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here, please ask for the Master Suite. I was shown two other suites and, u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j_blaze123, General Manager at Margarita House, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to stay at our facility and further still giving us your valuable feedback.

We value your comments and we will take them on board and address every issue with the urgency required. Moving forward we will endeavor to continue improving our facility and we believe that our future guests will benefit from the positive impact your feedback will have.

Regards,

J. Bwayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Potential. Its an often used word, but one that certainly applies to Margarita House. There are aspects of this place that are first class, but also things that let it down. With a little more work this place could be great.
First the positives. The staff are great and simply can't do enough for you. It's in a quiet location and the gardens and pool are a lovely place to relax in the afternoon or evening. The downstairs lounge is extremely nice and the dining room whilst lacking ambiance serves up perfectly good food. The bedrooms are large and clean with plenty of storage.
On the down side the housekeeping service wasn't great as dirty towels were taken away but not replaced and the same for the coffee mugs. There was also no fridge in our room which meant nowhere to keep drinks cold. There was also nowhere to put a wash bag in the bathroom other than on the floor despite the bathroom being a very good size.
Maybe I'm being picky, but Margarita House really could be oustanding if they could just iron out the rough edges (and maybe get some doors that fit properly).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Margarita House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarita House

Address: Lower Plains Road | off Karen Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Kenya’s best kept secrets, Margarita house is a budding boutique hotel fittingly situated on the periphery of Nairobi city, in the up-scale suburb of Karen. We are conveniently located within 5 minutes drive of major tourist attractions such as; Nairobi National Park, Karen Blixen Museum, giraffe center and the Nairobi safari walk. At Margarita House we offer professional personalized service delivered in a serene and relaxing environment. Try us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Margarita House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarita House Hotel Karen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margarita House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.