We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baby Cockroaches” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Zen Garden Restaurant

Zen Garden Restaurant
Lower Kabete Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
254 8034466
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Baby Cockroaches”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We usually have a great time at Zen Gardens for a Sunday Brunch, so we decided to visit it once again towards mid Sept.
When we got there they sat us at a table that was too small for 7 pax, despite prior reservation. After complaining they moved us to a larger table inside.
Half way through our meal I got a baby Cockroach in my plate and thought it came from the food, but when we complained the only thing the waiter did was take my plate away and kill the Cockroach which was on the plate. As the meal progressed we saw a few more Cockroaches on the table and discovered they were coming out from within the table since the table had not been cleaned properly for a long time. We complained again and they moved us to sofa set and cleared out table away. We asked to see the manager to complain, but he refused to come see us and sent his assistant to deal with us. We booked through Eatout and we ever entitled to a 10% food discount which they did not give us when our bill was presented, we had to ask for the discount and they only gave us 10% we were already entitled to with no compensation for the ruined meal. We left the assistant manager with our contact details asking them to ask the owners to call us and till date we have never heard back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shivradia, Owner at Zen Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Khilan,

We are extremely sorry to hear you had such a poor experience at Zen Garden. We apologise again for this bad experience. We have looked into the issue and we can guarantee that this will definitely not happen again. I apologise on behalf of the staff and manager on the way the matter was handled. Please can you send us your details to info@zengarden.co.ke and the bill amount as we would like to refund the full amount to you.

Our sincere apologies.

Thank you

Zen Garden Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    64
    28
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Beautiful place; garden is lovely and indoor dining nice as well. Food served very nicely. Starters were less than average. Sushi was excellent though one roll was extremely spicy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely setting but inconsistent quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Each time I go to Zen Garden I always leave feeling a bit dissapointed as it never quite meets expectations. The first meal I had there, we had asian cuisine and the children had pizza and whilst the pizza was great ... the asian food was ok, but quite bland. The next time we went we had sushi which was great, but the kids pizzas were not and the sevice was all out of sync. The final time the food was all ok but distinctly average. Friends have often recommended this place and whilst the setting is lovely, the food always seems to fall short. Perhaps it's just our bad luck.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Nice setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great place away from town. Food was great, enjoyed the service and ambience of the place. It gets crowded though towards evenings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Zen Garden is a beautiful leafy setting and an oasis of stylishness and calm in the middle of Nairobi. The food is very good and the staff are charming and efficient. It is especially nice at lunchtime or on warm evenings when you can sit outside. We go a lot and enjoy it every time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen Garden Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zen Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zen Garden Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.