We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zen Garden Restaurant

Zen Garden Restaurant
Lower Kabete Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
254 8034466
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 322 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Israel
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Beautiful place; garden is lovely and indoor dining nice as well. Food served very nicely. Starters were less than average. Sushi was excellent though one roll was extremely spicy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    59
    26
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely setting but inconsistent quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Each time I go to Zen Garden I always leave feeling a bit dissapointed as it never quite meets expectations. The first meal I had there, we had asian cuisine and the children had pizza and whilst the pizza was great ... the asian food was ok, but quite bland. The next time we went we had sushi which was great, but the kids pizzas were not and the sevice was all out of sync. The final time the food was all ok but distinctly average. Friends have often recommended this place and whilst the setting is lovely, the food always seems to fall short. Perhaps it's just our bad luck.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Nice setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great place away from town. Food was great, enjoyed the service and ambience of the place. It gets crowded though towards evenings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Zen Garden is a beautiful leafy setting and an oasis of stylishness and calm in the middle of Nairobi. The food is very good and the staff are charming and efficient. It is especially nice at lunchtime or on warm evenings when you can sit outside. We go a lot and enjoy it every time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic dim sum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a wonderful restaurant serving fantastic dim sum. It's in a beautiful setting in a wonderful tropical garden. The staff are friendly and helpful. We ordered dim sum, which was historic (to quote the late great Michael Winner). Moist dumplings of prawn, vegetables and chicken, tastefully served in bamboo baskets. The asparagus was particularly good. The restaurant was quiet as it was out of season on a midweek night, but we still had a thoroughly pleasant dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen Garden Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zen Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zen Garden Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.