We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Asian Fusion in a garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zen Garden Restaurant

Zen Garden Restaurant
Lower Kabete Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
254 8034466
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Asian Fusion in a garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I loved the food here - the service was good considering that they had a full house on a sunday afternoon. Everything was fresh and the presentation was good. Not for the budget traveller, but a good food with generous portions - be prepared to pay a bit more and you will leave there feeling satisfied.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    64
    28
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Good food but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went for an evening meal at the Bamboo Asian fusion restaurant (there are different bits of Zen Garden open in the evening and during the day).

The food was good - we had a couple of the soups (generous helpings), spring rolls, dumplings and other starters, and then sushi and pad Thai for mains.

BUT I have to say its pretty overpriced, especially the sushi - KES 1000 and upwards for the very plainest rolls, with the platters at KES 3000! I would go to Onami in Westlands instead if you want sushi - its pricey too, but not this pricey... Even a bowl of soup here sets you back over KES 800 ($10). For Nairobi, that is expensive.

That said, the selection is good, so if you are in a larger party, which we were, almost everyone can find something on the menu they like.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"REFRESHING"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I love this place because its on the road side and yet you cant notice the beauty till you go in. The garden, sounds of birds and the coaches-come-sits just make my day. you can choose between the Chinese restaurant menu or the Jade menu which offers very very nice alcoholic cocktails and my favorite is the AFTERNOON AFFAIR. The service is good and the owners are always around in case you need to book for a party. The inside is lovely with the huge aquariums and comfortable sitting. If you have kids no need to worry coz the garden is big and they offer bouncing castle and trumplin for them. Eating at the garden is the best. Apart from their cocktails I always go for their Creamy Fusilli Funghi which can be prepared hot (spicy) and am never disappointed .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Quite Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We visited Zen Garden with couple friends past month. This is a quite and nice restaurant settled leafy Runda area. One of the popular expat destinations in Nairobi. The service is average, but you can apply this to most restaurants in Nairobi. There is big green area where kids can play freely. They close outside serving around 6pm and they serve only appetizers and restaurant picks up after that where you can get full menu of options. Food is good, but again serving is very slow though...if you are looking for a relaxing place Zen where you need to go during weekends. If you plan to have a dinner, I recommend you to make a reservation. Since there are not many restaurants in the area it can get really busy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The atmosphere and setting of the restaurant is lovely. I have always enjoyed visiting this restaurant but for the past few times the service has really dropped.The food is not worth the price. . The pizzas and calzones were served burnt and blend. It takes ages before someone comes and picks your plate up after eating.The waiter decided to keep the change for himself and just comes and drops the receipt back, the change being a significant amount. We always leave a good tip and the change is not an issue but this was suprising.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen Garden Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zen Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zen Garden Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.