We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zen Garden Restaurant

Zen Garden Restaurant
Lower Kabete Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
254 8034466
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Good food but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went for an evening meal at the Bamboo Asian fusion restaurant (there are different bits of Zen Garden open in the evening and during the day).

The food was good - we had a couple of the soups (generous helpings), spring rolls, dumplings and other starters, and then sushi and pad Thai for mains.

BUT I have to say its pretty overpriced, especially the sushi - KES 1000 and upwards for the very plainest rolls, with the platters at KES 3000! I would go to Onami in Westlands instead if you want sushi - its pricey too, but not this pricey... Even a bowl of soup here sets you back over KES 800 ($10). For Nairobi, that is expensive.

That said, the selection is good, so if you are in a larger party, which we were, almost everyone can find something on the menu they like.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    47
    56
    26
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"REFRESHING"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I love this place because its on the road side and yet you cant notice the beauty till you go in. The garden, sounds of birds and the coaches-come-sits just make my day. you can choose between the Chinese restaurant menu or the Jade menu which offers very very nice alcoholic cocktails and my favorite is the AFTERNOON AFFAIR. The service is good and the owners are always around in case you need to book for a party. The inside is lovely with the huge aquariums and comfortable sitting. If you have kids no need to worry coz the garden is big and they offer bouncing castle and trumplin for them. Eating at the garden is the best. Apart from their cocktails I always go for their Creamy Fusilli Funghi which can be prepared hot (spicy) and am never disappointed .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wonderful and Quite Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We visited Zen Garden with couple friends past month. This is a quite and nice restaurant settled leafy Runda area. One of the popular expat destinations in Nairobi. The service is average, but you can apply this to most restaurants in Nairobi. There is big green area where kids can play freely. They close outside serving around 6pm and they serve only appetizers and restaurant picks up after that where you can get full menu of options. Food is good, but again serving is very slow though...if you are looking for a relaxing place Zen where you need to go during weekends. If you plan to have a dinner, I recommend you to make a reservation. Since there are not many restaurants in the area it can get really busy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The atmosphere and setting of the restaurant is lovely. I have always enjoyed visiting this restaurant but for the past few times the service has really dropped.The food is not worth the price. . The pizzas and calzones were served burnt and blend. It takes ages before someone comes and picks your plate up after eating.The waiter decided to keep the change for himself and just comes and drops the receipt back, the change being a significant amount. We always leave a good tip and the change is not an issue but this was suprising.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Try the Pekin Duck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Zen garden has both a cafeteria and an Oriental restaurant, I have tried both and both being good I still prefer the Jade, oriental restaurant.
From Jade all food is good and excelent but the Pekin Duck is "Superb" you have to try it! You can ask for half or whole, but half can certainly feed two. It is crispy and tasty and comes with thin anckakes to wrap it with some veggies.
If you go many and want to share more than the duck you should try: SIzzling Garlic Beef, any of the fried rice, the Gyoza dumplins, the sushi, the green curry, however I'm sure whatever you try you will be for sure having an excelent experience which doesn't happen often in Nairobi.
The atmosphere is very calm and relaxing a good complement to a good food.
Is a must try if you are in Nairobi just for few days!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen Garden Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zen Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zen Garden Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.