We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nairobi's Panera...with better coffee.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dormans Restaraunt

Dormans Restaraunt
Mama Ngina Street, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 364 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nairobi's Panera...with better coffee.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stopped at Dormans for lunch in in mid-June. I ordered the caprese sandwich and a coffee. The place and menu reminded me a lot of a Panera Bread with an African flavor. The sandwich was pretty good, especially at about $4. The coffee was great! Of course, when the coffee is picked and roasted within 50 miles of where you drink it, it should be good. The place was very busy, and the staff was swamped, but they were pleasant. Overall, I'd like to return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect! Free fast wireless!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great European food, with sandwiches, wraps, salads. they also serve breakfast all day and their cakes are delicious!! free wireless and great coffee what more do you need?

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not a fan”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The selection was really limited considering its a coffee shop. Then the worst thing happened. I ordered a chocolate chip milkshake. That is by far one of the worst shakes i've had. The pastry took ages and the staff weren't too serviceable when i reminded them of my order.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Almost as good as Java House but not quite there. I did enjoy the Carrot cake and loved the Ice coffee.
The environment was not as nice as the previous, but it was still a nice place to sit eat and talk to people.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food...fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The food is always great, staff polite and responsive.

I especially love the strawberry smoothies and the paninis. A good place to catch up with a friend.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dormans Restaraunt also viewed

 

Been to Dormans Restaraunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dormans Restaraunt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.