We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khweza Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Khweza Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Khweza Bed & Breakfast
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Ngara Road | Opposite Administration Police Post, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 158 Nairobi B&B and Inns
1 review
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

My mum was in Nairobi after almost 10yrs of being away on business and loved the food and helpful staff at Khweza. The room was bigger than expected, very clean, very clean towels and toilet paper never lacked.

Immeadiately from her check in day of arrival the staff was very helpful, helped her with everything, ensuring her phone worked, had airtime, ensured her daily visits to town were on time and had someone to accompany her as she went to town at a reasonable fee.

The promptness of the staff with regards to her pick up and drop offs was amazing.

Extra initiative was outstanding, as they even reccomended places she should go to collect business items and even went the extra step to ensure that she had an itenerary done. Ensuring she got all she needed from areas they reccomended.

With regards to security, all was safe and Khweza even went the extra step to keep all my mums documents in their safety deposit box as she did her rounds and came back in the evening. All was well.

The staff, were friendly, always smiling and very courteous and ensured my mums very early breakfast was always served at 6.30am before she left for her rounds in town.

The team also made an extra effort to ensure they helped her negotiate for items she was to buy and provided cost indications.

Sally the manager, was very prompt. Took time to meet my mum and ensure all was well and was happy to negotiate any costs she queried.

The food was very homely and felt like food that was just like our food back at home.

I'd definitely suggest Khweza to any business traveller who requires a home away from home and affordable rates accessible to the greater CBD.

Kudos Khweza, keep it up!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    47
    23
    11
    0
See reviews for
6
39
26
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Usa, Japan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Likes: Proximity to CBD is good. Staff is friendly

Dislikes: Where to begin...
1. Cold cement rooms
2. Meals are less than adequate. Eggs is the main staple for breakfast which even when offered different preparations is not good. Limited availability of menu selections. Maybe seven if you're lucky. Soups are powdered soups so if you think you are ordering chicken soup the traditional way..think again. A thick glutaneous bowl of yellow stuff which is strange because everywhere you look in Nairobi is a chicken place.
3. Cockroaches in room.
4. Towels tend to be dirty so check them first before using.
5. Did I say very cold rooms?
6. Wifi is out most of the time and you will have difficulties connecting after 10:00pm because Wifi is nonexistent. I at bed and breakfast now and it's taking me 20 minutes to send this review because the wifi keeps going out.
7. Extremely noisey. The cleaning staff starts off the noise at 6:30am. If you're on the second floor across from kitchen you will hear them join in which sounds like a full fledge ruckus. Staff and guests are loud at night. Things finally die down about 12:00am/1:00am. No need for an alarm clock-the noise will suffice.

Really lower your expectations. I would advice you to save a bit more for a quality hotel. If you stay, eat out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Khweza hotel was a good experience. The hotel is affordable, very friendly staff..not always though! You can take a matatto for 20 Kenyan shillings to be in town, takes about 5 mins to reach town. We stayed there for two weeks, but they never changed our sheets or towels, first three days we did not have hot water, break fast was good..decoration is amazing, comfortable beds..
The roof was nice, small but nice. Not all food on menu is available...and that was kind of annoying. At night it's not a very safe place...but the staff are helpful, they'll tell you how to come back and they'll probably send you a taxi or get you a taxi. One of the things that drove me crazy was the noise, at 6 or 7 in the morning, the stuff starts cleaning and you can literally hear EVERYTHING they're doing!! Plus car beeps and footsteps..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Very nice bed n breakfast, food is good! The rooms are clean and comfortable! The showers are hot! Staff iz friendly and helpful. On the rooftop a nice bar with an amazing view over Nairobi! This view is an unique experience! Loved the sunsets!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This place is a short drive from where to post bus stops, and within walking distance to downtown. I arrived late at night and one of the staff helped me get food at nearby restaurant. I stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed the helpfulness of the staff, as well as the amazing breakfast that came with Cadbury hot chocolate. The hotel is in great condition. We arranged a day trip to the Kazuri bead factory, giraffe breeding center, and the elephant orphanage through the hotel, and their taxi driver Charles was fantastic to work with. I stayed at one of their deluxe rooms in the front of the building and the street traffic was really loud. I slept with earplugs, but the noise disturbed me whenever I was in the room. The rooms further into the hotel were a little smaller but just as nice. It's hard to imagine a better place for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

In comparison with other places within the price range, i recommend this b&b. rooms are clean, with bathrooms and warm water 24/7 which is not that obvious in Nairobi. You can easily walk to the city centre (i did). Breakfast was good, staff will order you a taxi at a fixed price, give a photocopy of nairobi map and so on. just ask.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khweza Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khweza Bed & Breakfast

Address: Ngara Road | Opposite Administration Police Post, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Khweza Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khweza Bed and Breakfast Nairobi offers high quality affordable accommodation minutes away from the Nairobi city centre (approx 1 km). Our rooms are warm and welcoming, have distinctive African decor with the privacy of a hotel and the warmth of home. Khweza Bed and Breakfast Nairobi, is a rewarding lodging alternative, ideal for business travelers, families and leisure travelers. Amenities include: hot instant showers, TV, wireless internet access and a rooftop bar and restaurant offering a variety of African dishes with a magnificent panoramic view of the Nairobi city skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Khweza Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khweza Bed And Breakfast
Khweza Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khweza Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.