We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills stay with friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Khweza Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Khweza Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Khweza Bed & Breakfast
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Ngara Road | Opposite Administration Police Post, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
KES3,000 (KES)
Ranked #25 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No frills stay with friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We spent a single night in small room in dubious neighborhood of Nairobi surrounded by welcoming and helpful staff. The top-notch breakfast was surely the highlight of the stay. Recommeded if you just need a to crash...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    47
    21
    11
    0
See reviews for
6
37
26
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at khweza in June this year and absolutely loved my experience there. The staff are wonderful; so friendly and accommodating, particularly Jumah, my guide he was fantastic. I'm not quite sure why people are commenting on its location, sure it's not the prettiest part of town but I enjoyed the 'realness' of it..if immersing yourself in the real culture of Kenya isn't what you're looking for then maybe Nairobi isn't really a destination for you, or maybe stay at the hilton and dont leave the hotel. :-)
Not once did I feel unsafe here, and I'm a female who traveled alone - and arrived in the evening... The roof top bar is lovely. the wifi is great, the food is very decent, breakfast is included which was great..

Khweza b&b comes highly recommended by me. Asante sana khweza! hope to visit again soon! 

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Free wifi which is great really fast and it worked the whole week I was there. Food isn't brilliant, but they do the simple things very well, and breakfast is included. Rooftop bar is great. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We booked Khweza for one night. The actual check out time is 10:00AM but checked out by evening 8:00PM. They charged reasonable price for late checkout hours. Rooms are clean and neat but no lock for toilet. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. When we went (with my child 5 years old) for dinner at 8:30Pm the kitchen was about to close but the staffs understand our situation and prepared food for us. Though it is closing time they listened our requirements carefully and prepared the food in the way we wanted. Thanks to Chef, Sheela and a lady attended (sorry, forgot the name) our room service. Breakfast was good. The hotel is difficult to locate since it is situated in between cramped buildings area. Evening we went for a walk, the surroundings have road side vendors, It is advisable to return before 6:30pm. I recommend this hotel. It worth its price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I only had one night at Khweza but it was worth while. Staff are all friendly and polite and more than happy to help you out. Food was hot and plentiful and at the time i ordered it for (and cheap as chips) WIFI and clean tidy rooms with everything that was required for a short stay was just what the B&B offered. I emphasise that fact that it is a B&B and caters for Safari's and Back Packers not 5* plus holiday makers!!!! The area is something else to be desired i will not take that away but you are across from the Local Police Post. I had a walk around during the morning and I wasn't hassled, propositioned, or mugged. Most people I saw went about their own business, some passed the time of the day some did not. If you want something functional no frills clean comfortable and affordable this is the place to go

Room Tip: Get a room to the rear of the B&B the front is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Me and my husband stayed there only one night before our flight back home. we didnt expect much but it turned out a very nice B&B.
The hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean, hot shower, small but nicely decorated. Nice roof restaurant though the dinner service was a bit slow. Taxi service is punctual. We were supposed to leave at 1am, the taxi was ready, very nice but the engine didnt start!!! They immediately found another car and we safely went to the airport.
The only concern may be the neighborhood. (We were a little nervous of the environement and prefered to stay in the hotel until the checkout time. But this may be a wrong impression, after all, we didnt know much about Nairobi and spent only a few hours in the city. That s why we rated 4 out of 5.

Room Tip: rooms not siding the main street should be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khweza Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khweza Bed & Breakfast

Address: Ngara Road | Opposite Administration Police Post, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Khweza Bed & Breakfast 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khweza Bed and Breakfast Nairobi offers high quality affordable accommodation minutes away from the Nairobi city centre (approx 1 km). Our rooms are warm and welcoming, have distinctive African decor with the privacy of a hotel and the warmth of home. Khweza Bed and Breakfast Nairobi, is a rewarding lodging alternative, ideal for business travelers, families and leisure travelers. Amenities include: hot instant showers, TV, wireless internet access and a rooftop bar and restaurant offering a variety of African dishes with a magnificent panoramic view of the Nairobi city skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Khweza Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khweza Hotel Nairobi
Khweza Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khweza Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.