We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,friendly B&B at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khweza Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Khweza Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Khweza Bed & Breakfast
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Ngara Road | Opposite Administration Police Post, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 158 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean,friendly B&B at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Me and my husband stayed there only one night before our flight back home. we didnt expect much but it turned out a very nice B&B.
The hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean, hot shower, small but nicely decorated. Nice roof restaurant though the dinner service was a bit slow. Taxi service is punctual. We were supposed to leave at 1am, the taxi was ready, very nice but the engine didnt start!!! They immediately found another car and we safely went to the airport.
The only concern may be the neighborhood. (We were a little nervous of the environement and prefered to stay in the hotel until the checkout time. But this may be a wrong impression, after all, we didnt know much about Nairobi and spent only a few hours in the city. That s why we rated 4 out of 5.

Room Tip: rooms not siding the main street should be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    47
    23
    11
    0
See reviews for
6
39
26
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nakuru, Rift Valley, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We spent a night here on either side of a trip to Tanzania. The staff were friendly, and the service they gave us was well beyond the call of duty. We were coming back to Nairobi in the evening, so I rang, gave them my first name only, and asked them to send a cab to pick me up off the Arusha shuttle. Not only did the cab arrive promptly, but they had looked me up in their booking database, and the driver had a paging sheet with my full name on it. Would the run of the mill 5 star hotel have been able to match this?

The rooms are good, the beds comfortable, the showers hot (to scalding), and the breakfast good, and punctual!!!

I can't comment on the area - both days we arrived late and left early, but for the price it is first rate

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

To start with what seems to be a major concern for other people- the area! Don't be afraid!!! During the day it's perfectly safe to walk to town, I did it (on my own) every day for a month. Take a cab at night and all's good!
The B&B itself is great, pretty rooms, with steaming hot showers. Breakfast is amazing, as are the views from the roof terrace. The staff will go out of their way to help you in any way they can.
I stayed for a pretty long time (over a month) and felt at home there. I would come back anytime and can only recommend it!

Room Tip: I've heard that the rooms facing the street can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We supposed to stay for just 1 night in Nairobi from our safaris to Mombasa, so we decided to stay at a cheap hotel. but the moment we entered the street which hotel was located, I freaked out. the area is terrible! hotel itself is OK for the money we spent, but I will never ever come back. the breakfast on rooftop was OK. our room was on the road side of the building and it was impossible to sleep because of noise. The taxi service was good. bedding and towels was not very clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khweza, Manager at Khweza Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to note that you enjoyed the taxi service that the hotel offers and the breakfast.

We do realize that the hotel is located in an area with high human traffic, and this might be quite intimidating to guests. We however do assure you of safety, as we always have 24 hour security and we are also located right across from the Administration police post.

We recently brought brand new white linen and towels for all the rooms, so all the older ones have all been replaced. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will be back to the hotel as we strive to offer a better product and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We chose this B&B because of the reviews from Trip Advisor...and although it was fine (clean, ok breakfast, roof top patio was nice), I would not recommend it to a friend. I didn't like the area it was in - and when we returned to Nairobi, we stayed at a hotel downtown for the same price and it was three times as nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed at the Khweza hotel after finding that the bus we were due to take to Tanzania was full and so we needed last minute accommodation. We did not expect much from this B&B but it turned out to be a great experience. The hotel provided a reliable taxi service with a friendly driver who let us know about the best places to eat and visit. The hotel staff were extremely warm, welcoming and friendly. The rooms were clean and well equipped with television, mosquito net and clean shower. The hotel also had a lovely rooftop bar. This B&B is basic but good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Clean rooms, good fresh food, free wifi, and hot showers! The staff were helpful and hospitable, and the front door locks behind a large iron gate which makes you feel very safe. Try to ask for a room off the front of the building as the windows and walls are very thin, and it's impossible to sleep in the rooms on the front of the building (we had to ask to be moved...). But everything was switched around without any problems, and the rest of our stay was very comfortable (beautiful rooftop dining as well!). Beware the "sister hotel" La Mariposa, we were bumped here one night after Khweza had plumbing issues, and it was dirty, loud, roach infested... :o(

Room Tip: Pick a room in the middle/back of the building, away from the busy street in front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khweza Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khweza Bed & Breakfast

Address: Ngara Road | Opposite Administration Police Post, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Khweza Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khweza Bed and Breakfast Nairobi offers high quality affordable accommodation minutes away from the Nairobi city centre (approx 1 km). Our rooms are warm and welcoming, have distinctive African decor with the privacy of a hotel and the warmth of home. Khweza Bed and Breakfast Nairobi, is a rewarding lodging alternative, ideal for business travelers, families and leisure travelers. Amenities include: hot instant showers, TV, wireless internet access and a rooftop bar and restaurant offering a variety of African dishes with a magnificent panoramic view of the Nairobi city skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Khweza Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khweza Bed And Breakfast
Khweza Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khweza Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.