We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khweza Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Khweza Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Khweza Bed & Breakfast
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Ngara Road | Opposite Administration Police Post, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% OFF
Ranked #29 of 182 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

To start with what seems to be a major concern for other people- the area! Don't be afraid!!! During the day it's perfectly safe to walk to town, I did it (on my own) every day for a month. Take a cab at night and all's good!
The B&B itself is great, pretty rooms, with steaming hot showers. Breakfast is amazing, as are the views from the roof terrace. The staff will go out of their way to help you in any way they can.
I stayed for a pretty long time (over a month) and felt at home there. I would come back anytime and can only recommend it!

Room Tip: I've heard that the rooms facing the street can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    61
    23
    15
    1
See reviews for
8
50
35
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We supposed to stay for just 1 night in Nairobi from our safaris to Mombasa, so we decided to stay at a cheap hotel. but the moment we entered the street which hotel was located, I freaked out. the area is terrible! hotel itself is OK for the money we spent, but I will never ever come back. the breakfast on rooftop was OK. our room was on the road side of the building and it was impossible to sleep because of noise. The taxi service was good. bedding and towels was not very clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khweza, Manager at Khweza Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to note that you enjoyed the taxi service that the hotel offers and the breakfast.

We do realize that the hotel is located in an area with high human traffic, and this might be quite intimidating to guests. We however do assure you of safety, as we always have 24 hour security and we are also located right across from the Administration police post.

We recently brought brand new white linen and towels for all the rooms, so all the older ones have all been replaced. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will be back to the hotel as we strive to offer a better product and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We chose this B&B because of the reviews from Trip Advisor...and although it was fine (clean, ok breakfast, roof top patio was nice), I would not recommend it to a friend. I didn't like the area it was in - and when we returned to Nairobi, we stayed at a hotel downtown for the same price and it was three times as nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed at the Khweza hotel after finding that the bus we were due to take to Tanzania was full and so we needed last minute accommodation. We did not expect much from this B&B but it turned out to be a great experience. The hotel provided a reliable taxi service with a friendly driver who let us know about the best places to eat and visit. The hotel staff were extremely warm, welcoming and friendly. The rooms were clean and well equipped with television, mosquito net and clean shower. The hotel also had a lovely rooftop bar. This B&B is basic but good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Clean rooms, good fresh food, free wifi, and hot showers! The staff were helpful and hospitable, and the front door locks behind a large iron gate which makes you feel very safe. Try to ask for a room off the front of the building as the windows and walls are very thin, and it's impossible to sleep in the rooms on the front of the building (we had to ask to be moved...). But everything was switched around without any problems, and the rest of our stay was very comfortable (beautiful rooftop dining as well!). Beware the "sister hotel" La Mariposa, we were bumped here one night after Khweza had plumbing issues, and it was dirty, loud, roach infested... :o(

Room Tip: Pick a room in the middle/back of the building, away from the busy street in front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos Nigeria
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I write on behalf of my husband. I made the reservation for him based on reviews from trip advisor and i was sure i couldnt go wrong. We had paid for airport pick up and he was picked up despite the fact that the flight had a 3 hour delay. The driver was friendly and also acted as a tour guide for the duration of his trip there. Breakfast was good and full of variety. He had a great time and said he will like to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

It is a different place. If you are looking for some charming, this is your place. we travelled 10 hours or more until arrived Nairobi. Then we rent a car early in the morning, so we just stayed at hotel 6 hours. The room has high ceilings, so so clean room,..but the top roof is perfect! You can have breakfast with good Nairobi views, but go with enough time because the service is not fast. :)
I would came back, the reception service is nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Blue Hut Hotel
Blue Hut Hotel
#90 of 129 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#52 of 129 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#89 of 129 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#70 of 129 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
#15 of 182 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Eden Gardens
#49 of 182 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khweza Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khweza Bed & Breakfast

Address: Ngara Road | Opposite Administration Police Post, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Khweza Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khweza Bed and Breakfast Nairobi offers high quality affordable accommodation minutes away from the Nairobi city centre (approx 1 km). Our rooms are warm and welcoming, have distinctive African decor with the privacy of a hotel and the warmth of home. Khweza Bed and Breakfast Nairobi, is a rewarding lodging alternative, ideal for business travelers, families and leisure travelers. Amenities include: hot instant showers, TV, wireless internet access and a rooftop bar and restaurant offering a variety of African dishes with a magnificent panoramic view of the Nairobi city skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Khweza Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khweza Hotel Nairobi
Khweza Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khweza Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.