We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL PLACE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillpark Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hillpark Hotel to your Saves list
Hillpark Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillpark Hotel
Lower Hill Road | P. O. Box 46037, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 92 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WONDERFUL PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

when I was in my city I was wondering where I could spend my holidays, fortunately I met a pal who suggested this Hotel to me, I had to search for the Hotel through the website and managed to do an online booking, arranged for my trip and when I reached the Hotel I felt as if I was back home in my city, what I enjoyed most was the design of the rooms in the new wing of the Hotel together with the free internet not forgetting free gym and sauna. keep it up since you made my Holiday to be the best in Africa.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
1
2
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I too came here after being booked into the hotel as part of a tour and after reading the reviews had mixed feelings.

On the positive:

-The staff were very helpful
-The room I was shown into was much better than I expected and relatively comfortable. I requested to b put into a room in the new wing which I think helped and I would definitely suggest doing.

On the negative:

-Despite calling twice and emailing three times to arrange an airport pickup I arrived and there was no one there to meet me. Mini drama ensued and I eventually was collected an hour and five dollars later after having to make various calls to the hotel.
- the guy who helped me with my bag and taking it to the room scoffed and the two dollar tip I offered and demanded 5 dollars making it extremely uncomfortable, I paid him the money to just get him out of the room.
- The music from the gym was unrelenting.

So in conclusion okay for a night if you have to.

Katie

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

I came here after 2 nights at the Fairview (great hotel - highly recommended) I only moved because I was meeting an Exodus tour and this was the pre departure accommodation, rooms are tatty, fell over the cleaners bucket as I was shown into the third attempt at a room, no hot water, blaring music from the gym all day/night long, staff are rude and very unhelpful, porter hovered for ages trying to get a tip after I'd carried my own bags, had to ask him to leave in the end, to make matters worse it's £95 a night - same price as the Fairview! I've never written a review before but this place was do bad I felt abliged to warn other unsuspecting travellers.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Well my first stay here was rather miserable, but this time round I managed to get a room as far away as possible from the Gym and the car park. This made quite a difference.

As someone who is always hot and likes to sleep with the windows open, bringing my own mosquito net improved things no end, because I could leave the windows wide open and stay free of insect bites.

The staff seemed more friendly and the food seemed an improvement over the previous trip.

There still seemed to be things not working in the room, but overall this trip was a lot more enjoyable than the last.

Room Tip: Get something as far as possible away from the carpark and the gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Good facility. Good catering staff. Kind service. Use of conference rooms went well. All areas well kept.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I've stayed at the Hillpark a number of times and I keep coming back because:
- the location is great for getting into town (though the Mombassa Road is always v. busy). You can actually walk into downtown area if really bad.
- the rooms in the new part at very good. if there's three sharing, its cheaper taking the excellent and spacious penthouse
- the staff are always very friendly
- there's an incredibly good gym / health club out the back
- always cold beer

Not so good because
- wifi not great - sometimes off for extended periods
- reception staff are not very welcoming, but great once you get talking with them
- food in the hotel is at best average - sometime poor. a member of our group had a bad fish. we always had to wait so long.

Room Tip: The opposite side of the building to the gym - which emits shouting and pumping music from 5am
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012 via mobile

This is a great place to stay for a night or two. The rooms are well equipped and clean and the service is friendly. But I could not believe that none of the rooms have air conditioning or a fan, in a location where it is pretty hot for most of the year. This is a bit of a bugaboo in my book. Free wifi though which is great.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillpark Hotel

Address: Lower Hill Road | P. O. Box 46037, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 92 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most hotels will call you a guest. The Hillpark Hotel treats you like family from the moment you walk through the door. Located in the peaceful leafy Lower hill area, which borders Upper hill, Hillpark Hotel has proven its regard to quality service and personalised attendance. Over the years Hillpark Hotel has managed to grow and upgrade its facility to meet the satisfaction of our clients. The Hillpark Hotel experience is full of thoughtfully orchestrated touches, to make your lodging experience as pleasing as possible. The hotel consists of standard, executive, premium and deluxe suites with elegantly designed interiors and apartments for those who prefer a longer stay at the hotel.For those who appreciate great African and exotic food made fresh from scratch,one meal at a time, by people who really care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelsClick so you can book your Hillpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillpark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.