We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly an improvement on last time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hillpark Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hillpark Hotel to your Saves list
Hillpark Hotel
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Lower Hill Road | P. O. Box 46037, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Certainly an improvement on last time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Well my first stay here was rather miserable, but this time round I managed to get a room as far away as possible from the Gym and the car park. This made quite a difference.

As someone who is always hot and likes to sleep with the windows open, bringing my own mosquito net improved things no end, because I could leave the windows wide open and stay free of insect bites.

The staff seemed more friendly and the food seemed an improvement over the previous trip.

There still seemed to be things not working in the room, but overall this trip was a lot more enjoyable than the last.

Room Tip: Get something as far as possible away from the carpark and the gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pint6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Carol Stream, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Good facility. Good catering staff. Kind service. Use of conference rooms went well. All areas well kept.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank retacSBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I've stayed at the Hillpark a number of times and I keep coming back because:
- the location is great for getting into town (though the Mombassa Road is always v. busy). You can actually walk into downtown area if really bad.
- the rooms in the new part at very good. if there's three sharing, its cheaper taking the excellent and spacious penthouse
- the staff are always very friendly
- there's an incredibly good gym / health club out the back
- always cold beer

Not so good because
- wifi not great - sometimes off for extended periods
- reception staff are not very welcoming, but great once you get talking with them
- food in the hotel is at best average - sometime poor. a member of our group had a bad fish. we always had to wait so long.

Room Tip: The opposite side of the building to the gym - which emits shouting and pumping music from 5am
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nazza12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is a great place to stay for a night or two. The rooms are well equipped and clean and the service is friendly. But I could not believe that none of the rooms have air conditioning or a fan, in a location where it is pretty hot for most of the year. This is a bit of a bugaboo in my book. Free wifi though which is great.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deadly174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

First night (or rather early morning) I got there at about 3am after an 18 hour journey - desk staff very surly and didn't seem to want to check me in - eventually things happened and I got a room.

Room looked interesting with stone shower cubicle and claw foot bath, but in the shower, the tap fell off and i couldn't get hot water. So I went to sleep on the stone-like mattress for a few hours until......the gym opened at about 6.30am!! All the gym windows wide open, directly opposite my room window which was also open!! so thumping disco music and a personal trainer shouting his head off. Had to shut the window, but could still hear the gym at high volume.

I did get moved after a few days, which was marginally better, except the the room now overlooked the carpark at the front of the hotel, so every night we had the symphony of the car alarms. Every night, from about midnight onwards, a never-ending cacophony of car alarms of many different noises. Always left for at least 5 minutes until someone bothered to disarm it or whatever, by which time sleep was suitably disturbed.

By leaving the windows open I got bitten badly by the mosquitoes - no mosquito net provided.

The bar by the poolside was ok apart from the television which seemed to be on all the time with some sport at high volume - not very relaxing.

I've saved the best bit till last - the restaurant. Put simply: avoid at all costs. The food was really very poor. Breakfast was just about passable, but the evening meals, especially the buffet was quite disgusting. In 14 days I had food poisoning three times. I once ordered a burger from room service and it was absolutely revoting - having been shipped off to boarding schools as a child, I've learnt to eat most things, but this really was horrible. Greasy stringy meat, cold soggy chips.

As someone else has commented, the staff were very unhelpful and always looked as if you were inconveniencing them by asking for something. Their website says you are treated not as a guest, but as family. All I can conclude is that it must be family who don't like you very much!

Room Tip: Insist on one of the refurbished rooms but nothing anywhere near the gym unless you want to wake at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pint6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

This hotel costs a fair bit, so you'd expect a fair bit. But no, the ruins are pokey, the restaurant is complete rubbish, and the worst bit was the service. No smiles, the staff look annoyed when you ask them a question. And the worst bit is when we asked for a nearby shop, the one recommended was suggested by reception we took a taxi that cost 1000 shillings. Turns out it was a 3 minute walk away! Never again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orolain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed in this motel for three nights last month. Motel was the start and finishing point of our Kenyan tour. We were put into one of the old rooms at the front of the motel which to say the least was an interesting experience. Bed was hard as a rock, no hot water and toilet system would not flush as it was broken. Asked on numerous occassions for mainetnace to check out toilet but no assistance forthcoming.
On our last night after returning from our camping tour we were placed in one of the refurbished rooms. Much better only compalint would be again no hot water for the shower as the hot water tap when touched fell off the wall.
Reception staff need lessons in manners. A simple hello and thank you from them would not go astray. When we checked out of the motel the gentleman (if you could call him that) was rude and needs to be very aware that he is lucky he still has a job because if I was your boss you would be out.

Room Tip: For a start don't even stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Moth082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Upper Hill Hotel
#93 of 145 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#21 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#41 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Summerdale Inn
#60 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
The Monarch Hotel
The Monarch Hotel
#24 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Mvuli House
#55 of 194 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillpark Hotel

Address: Lower Hill Road | P. O. Box 46037, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most hotels will call you a guest. The Hillpark Hotel treats you like family from the moment you walk through the door. Located in the peaceful leafy Lower hill area, which borders Upper hill, Hillpark Hotel has proven its regard to quality service and personalised attendance. Over the years Hillpark Hotel has managed to grow and upgrade its facility to meet the satisfaction of our clients. The Hillpark Hotel experience is full of thoughtfully orchestrated touches, to make your lodging experience as pleasing as possible. The hotel consists of standard, executive, premium and deluxe suites with elegantly designed interiors and apartments for those who prefer a longer stay at the hotel.For those who appreciate great African and exotic food made fresh from scratch,one meal at a time, by people who really care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hillpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing