We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Breeze” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Breeze Hotel

West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added West Breeze Hotel to your Saves list
West Breeze Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Masaba Road, Off Bunyala Road | Past NIC Bank, Upperhill Branch, Upperhill, Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Gaborone, Botswana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“West Breeze”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

West Breeze has a warm homely atmosphere. The staff is generaly friendly and helpful, they listen and always wear a smile.

The downside is housekeeping, it appears like service from another place. Management should provide supervision to this department.

Room Tip: choose rooms on the eastern side, west has noise from the train
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelwahome, Manager at West Breeze Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you Labane for choosing west breeze hotel, we are glad that you appreciated the quality of our services. we have taken the necessary measures to ensure that housekeeping services are excellent as well. looking forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I stayed for two nights, the neighborhood is quiet and close to the center.The food is good and so are the rooms, the wi-fi needs to be addressed urgently other than that it is a nice place to stay for a budget price. The staff are exceptionally friendly , they deserve a credit for making the place enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelwahome, Manager at West Breeze Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Many thanks to you Abby, it was a pleasure hosting you and we are glad you enjoyed our services; good food, rooms and friendly staff. we apologize for the wireless hitch, we noticed the problem and addressed it immediately looking forward to hosting you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

With the crazy traffic in Nairobi I find it very beneficial to stay in Westbreeze since it's one of the closest hotels from the airport. That said you still must give yourself enough time to get to the airport comfortably. The staff are very friendly and professional and the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nony W, General Manager at West Breeze Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel whenever you are in Nairobi. We are glad you appreciate the friendliness and professionalism of our staff. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed at West breeze for two nights. Had to be moved as the Wi-Fi was not working in the room. When moved, it was not much better. The rooms are basic but clean. The menu and quality of meals leave a lot to be desired.

The bar didn't have basics and no ice!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelwahome, General Manager at West Breeze Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel.
We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologise for the bad experience.
We have so far gotten our IT personnel fix the Wi - fi problem. Necessary measures have also been taken to ensure that all the menu items are available on request. We are glad that you found the room clean and pleased to inform you that we are in the process of renovating and upgrading our rooms.

We hope that you will give us another chance and do promise you that we will do our best to make your next stay pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Overnight stay transiting Nairobi. Taxi had a lot of trouble finding its location. Tired, dated and worn. Bar/Dining areas hardly serviced and practically no people in them either. Room clean enough. Secure fenced property with 24hour gate guard. Reception staff fantastically good. Reasonably priced, but would just take a lick of paint and some new furniture and fittings to bring this place into a great-value-for-money category. Presently, probably a bit overpriced for what it is. Wouldn’t stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelwahome, General Manager at West Breeze Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to note that you appreciate the cleanliness of the rooms, security, good staff and the affordable rates.

We apologise for the bad experience you encountered locating our hotel. In life, there is always room for improvement and we are pleased to inform you that we are in the process of renovating and upgrading our entire hotel.

Necessary measures have been taken to improve the services in our F & B department.

We truly hope that you will give us another chance for a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in desperate need of a renovation. The owners could do some minor things to improve the overall experience. Repairs to showers to make sure the hot water works and the nozel can be secured to the wall would be a good start. Failing this, a working plug in the bathtub would be nice.

New curtains and bed linen would make a significant difference.

This is a budget hotel and I have no complaints about the cleanliness, but the rooms are tired and old and need some colour and a little bit of care.

Staff are outstanding. A young, enthusiastic crew who are very attentive. The owners lack of investment in the property let this place and a good team of staff down.

Put your hand in your pocket and freshen this place up.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelwahome, General Manager at West Breeze Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write and give us your feedback.

It is a pleasure to read that you appreciate the hospitality and dedication of our staff.

The hotel is currently under renovation to give it a new look.

Give us another chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

After experiencing a VERY wide variety of lodging accommodations in Kenya, I found the West Breeze Hotel to be a breath of fresh air. The staff was very nice and helpful, the food was delicious, and the rooms clean and comfortable. Bathroom was large too. It's not a luxury resort, but that's not what we were looking for. Loved staying here and will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelwahome, General Manager at West Breeze Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write kind review of our hotel.

It is a pleasure to note that we gave you a wonderful experience.

We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Breeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Breeze Hotel

Address: Masaba Road, Off Bunyala Road | Past NIC Bank, Upperhill Branch, Upperhill, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Breeze Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your West Breeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Breeze Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.