We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of West Breeze Hotel

West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added West Breeze Hotel to your Saves list
West Breeze Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Masaba Road, Off Bunyala Road | Past NIC Bank, Upperhill Branch, Upperhill, Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We´ve used this hotel as PREPAID accommodation including airport taxi transfers. Everything was confirmed in written from the hotel a few weeks before the arrival. Immediate surprise and dissapointment came just at the arrival to West Breeze Hotel when the reception staff informed that first we have to pay for the accommodation and taxi as well. We´ve refused and submitted our prepaid voucher. Next morning we´ve been told accommodation is ok but taxi is not paid. Just at our departure West Breeze confirmed that taxi is paid as well. Otherwise room so so, bathroom was not clean at all. We considered this accommodation for 1 night only as a real "bed&breakfast" on our long way so not a real big issue.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Booked this hotel at the last minute upon returning from Tanzania. First off, it was very hard to find. Seemed as if nobody knew where it was. After finding it, the first person at reception was very unfriendly. Room was large but definately outdated. After resting in the room, we went back down to the reception area and there was a new girl behind the desk that was very helpful and friendly, wish I knew her name. She was quite pleasant. We hired the driver from the hotel for two days as I think we may have been the only guests. I really wish I could remember his name as he was outstanding. Took us everywhere we wanted and picked us up exactly when he said he would. He was extremely friendly. The place has a bar but I am not sure its open as when we were there it did not appear to be but, again, we may have been the only guests. The breakfast was good. Not sure I would return as it was overpriced and the location was not good if you wanted to get out and walk around. However, the second girl at reception and the hotel's driver were great people.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have used this hotel on several occasions now and find the staff to be extremely helpful, nothing is too much bother for them, they go out of their way to make sure you have a good stay. Restaurant not too good, but hey, food isn't everything

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I've used this hotel a number of times over the past few years and have found the staff generally friendly. The location is good for the airport. It is next to a train line so you get the occasional train passing by. It could really use a makeover though as the rooms are getting tired and have that well-used look about them.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

noisy plumbing, poor sound proofing, no mosquito screening, no air conditioning & no fire escape - little sleep - then no hot water in the shower.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Breeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Breeze Hotel

Address: Masaba Road, Off Bunyala Road | Past NIC Bank, Upperhill Branch, Upperhill, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Breeze Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your West Breeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Breeze Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.