We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all 5 start hotels are the same” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #24 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Not all 5 start hotels are the same”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel for business. I found the hotel very well suited to business travellers. The foyer is average for business meetings, breakfast is average, dinner at Sikia is excellent. The rooms are comfortable and the added touches to improve your sleeping experience is a nice touch. The staff are genuinely friendly and helpful. In room dining is the best I've had at any equivalent hotel in Africa.

Room Tip: Good for business travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Marketing Executive at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hello Sandton,

Thank you for your exquisite review and we are glad that we meet all your needs during your stay here.
I will share your thoughts with the team and will be looking forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Linda Jabesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    165
    45
    12
    8
See reviews for
20
54
32
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went for quick trip. The area is underconstruction so roads are all torn up. Rooms are dated and could use a update. Beds are not comfortable. Even thought they have a pillow menu quality seems low. Internet speed was very very slow. Food is hit or miss. THe club sandwich was very good the chciken sandwich was all bread and almost no meat. French fries both times were undercooked. Wanted a taxi to take me to airport but only offer their van which is 30$ more that my trip there. I told the driver which airline and he dropped me off at the terminal and told me this is the correct terminal. I did not see any signs for my airline. I went in and it was the wrong terminal. Mine was 2 terminals away. I went back to catch the van but he was gone. I had to walk.

Room Tip: Another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Steve R,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel.

I have taken note of your feedback with great concern and will definitely share with the entire team.

I hope to welcome you back to magical Kenya in the near future.

Best wishes,
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let's face it, brands such as Crowne Plaza know how to run a hotel. It's premium priced with the resultant quality to match. I was however impressed by the quality of the finishes throughout the hotel. No melamine cladding here. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent, although pricey for those unfortunate enough not to be thinking in Dollars or other hard currency. Well equipped gym (and it can claim to be a gym rather than the usual airing-cupboard with a dumbbell languishing in a corner). Nice lobby coffee shop serving excellent Cappuccinos. Strongly recommended.

Stayed July 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear HowardRedFoxZA,

Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic feedback on your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We are delighted to read you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us!

I will with great pleasure, share your comments with the entire team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Magical Kenya.

Best Wishes,
Allan Clingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I visited Nairobi in April 2013 as part of our "around the world tour" and our stay at this hotel was part a delightful Kenya experience. Conveniently located for travelers wishing to overnight before flying to Masai Mara and the Serengeti or businessmen wishing to visit Nairobi (I visited with a client some months earlier), this is an upmarket convenient location.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear The Musiks,

Many thanks for taking your time to review us on trip advisor and for your fantastic feedback. It was indeed a pleasure hosting you while in Nairobi.

I have shared your comments with the entire team.

We hope to have another opportunity to host you in magical Kenya in the near future.

Best wishes,
Allan Clingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I attended a Business Forum at the Crowne Plaza and spent 4 nights at the hotel. The staff, room and comfort of the bed was very pleasant. However, the Bar area was very dated and at times seemed very over crowded. It was also a challenge to get service at times. The conference facilities were very good except for the A/V team who were not professional at all and made the event challenging.

Room Tip: The 5 floor with access to Executive lounge provides a good area for quiet meetings and allows one t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Ian B,

We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your review on your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest standards. I assure you that I have shared your comments with the entire team.

We hope that you shall give us another opportunity to welcome you back to magical Kenya.

Best wishes,
Allan Clingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
international
Level Contributor
167 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and i stayed here 2 nights on business. After arriving at night after a long journey, we wanted nothing more than a good nights sleep. Unfortunately, our deluxe room was filled with mosquitoes and the repellent in the room was depleted. After fighting them for hours, we called the front desk who brought more repellent. But they kept coming. We finally realized that behind the closed curtain, housekeeping had left the window open! Even after solving this, the A/C did not work well and we found the food in the restaurant sub-par. The 8 km from the airport are actually very far given the dreadful Nairobi traffic (it took an hour to get to the hotel from JKIA airport at 8 PM). We travel a lot in Africa and do not hold their hotels to Western standards, but given these prices, we expected more. We will not come back.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear steff0566,

Many thanks for taking your time to give us your feedback on your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We have taken note of your comments and assure you that will share with the entire team.

We hope this isolated incident has not marred your impression of our hotel and we look forward to the opportunities of welcoming you back to our hotel in the not so distant future.

Best wishes,
Allan Clingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Comfortable hotel with very friendly staff and pleasant rooms. Currently having a refresh of some of the common areas. Security was acceptable and the taxi service was very good. On occasionally the food let it down although the breakfasts were superb.

Room Tip: Tricky as I only stayed in one at the side overlooking the new road and football pitch and it was fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear danielcZ8348CR,

Many thanks for taking your time to give us your feedback on your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We have taken note of your comments and assure you that will share with the entire team.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Magical Kenya.

Best wishes,
Allan Clingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
InterContinental Nairobi
#30 of 129 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#9 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.