We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #16 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Very nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were welcomed well at the Hotel, quick booking and visit to the rooms. Upon Arrival to the room we noted that the TV was not functional and had to be moved to anew room. The stay was fantastic, great rooms, nice foods and happy staff.
The only thing they need to do is check on the bathrooms...the handles at the bath-tab came off the wall and I had to return and knock them back to the wall!!...were they for beauty? the shower room had its own issues that one has to continuously press the switch/knob to change from the main shower to the hand-held shower. If you get your hand off the knob it automatically goes to the hand-held shower.
Above all, I did not steal the wine,...these guys trusted us so much that no one check whether we consumed thier wine

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    131
    36
    10
    4
See reviews for
18
49
30
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent a week there for business and found it much more refreshing than the usual business hotels downtown. Hotel is only 5 years old - that helps a lot. Friendly staff. Food good, seems to be cooked in small batches so tastes fresh; Good variety although sometimes hard to find meat that isn't smothered in sauce. Location in Upper Hill makes it difficult to drive to central business district because of limited access roads and infinite traffic snarls. Lots of construction in area but noise not heard in hotel. Happy hour in the pub Wednesday 5:50-7:30. Free shopping shuttle on weekends.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear g r,

We appreciate your great feedback on stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi. It was indeed our pleasure hosting you while in Nairobi.

We are delighted to read that you had a refreshing stay with us and that our team supported you, made you feel important and helped you feel restored and balanced. I will with great pleasure share this with them because this is what they stand for.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

Best wishes,
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staff is phenomenal, and accommodating. Facilities are clean and comfortable. Beds provide for a great nights sleep every time. Road Access leaves a bit to be desired but it's improving. Health club is the best of the 4/5 stars in the area. So why not excellent?? I stay here every month for at least a week, and have been for over a year, the one issue is inconsistency. Small quirky things like, having a bathrobe and slippers, ordering a plate and it being the same as last time. These are such small things which should be standardized, but when you need these items it really is a pain to have to call and request them or to complain about the plate. It makes me feel like they I'm always complaining whereas in fact I'm just requesting the comforts and great food dishes which gives me the desire to return. Maybe I'm being too hard by not rating as excellent, but I hate the feeling of bothering the very friendly staff with these request every month. These points do not take away from it being the best to date. And certainly relaxing after a hard day at work or play.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Many thanks Terral B S for your candid feedback on your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi. It has indeed been a pleasure hosting you and we are delighted to read that our hotel colleagues take great care of you.

Crowne Plaza Nairobi strives to provide exemplary services to all our guests; being perceptive to our guests needs and working with others seamlessly to help them be successful. Your comments have been noted and will be acted upon.

Thank you for recommending Crowne Plaza Nairobi to other trip advisor reviewers.

We appreciate your most continued loyalty- IHG Rewards Platinum membership.

Best wishes,
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently missed our connecting flight in Nairobi, and booked a room last minute at this hotel. What a beautiful place! The lobby is big, bright, and airy. The bed was so comfortable and had a great shower! But, best of all, the staff was so friendly and accommodating to all our needs -- it made the frustrating and inconvenient layover a million times easier! Even though we were unlucky when we missed our connection, we were very lucky to find this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear gerie74,

We appreciate your time to give us your great feedback your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

It was indeed a pleasure to host you while on transit and we are delighted to read that you had a great experience. I will with pleasure share your feedback with the team and I hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back in future.

Best wishes,
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I agree with others here who praise the hotel - all facilities and all staff were excellent. I was placed here, not by choice, but by a travel agent's package. I would not stay here again by choice unless I was on business to see one of the banks or embassies in the immediate area. The area may be wonderful in 4 or 5 years but for now it is a wasteland of really, REALLY bad dirt roads, big construction projects everywhere around it and no redeeming amenities anywhere near it. It is a gilded cage.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Stoic_Warrior,

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback on your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We are delighted to read that you found the hotel facilities & staff excellent but sad that the environment and roads are not in the best state. We anticipate their completion by end of this year. There are more amenities too coming up in upper hill and this will make the area livelier.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you in future.

Best wishes.
Ken Musili
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A fantastic and pleasant stay in Nairobi. The rooms are clean, well organized and comfortable. The staff is friendly and and ready to help. The breakfast is wonderful with variety of options one can have. Keep up the good work. Should have more vegetarian options.
- by Rupesh D

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Many thanks Rupesh D for taking the time to give such an amazing review on Tripadvisor on your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We are delighted to read through your feedback and with great pleasure I will share your comments with the team. It is wonderful to know that our hotel colleagues make it happen for our guests. As for the food options, I have shared your suggestions with the Chef and his team.

It has been a pleasure hosting you and thank you for your continued loyalty- IHG Rewards membership.

Best wishes,
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and go out of their way to accommodate the guests needs. The quality and selection of food for breakfast and dinner buffets could be improved, given the price charged. Similarly the quality and selection of food at the coffee lounge can be vastly improved and it could offer light meal alternatives to the full buffet. With few other dining-out options in the vicinity, improving food service could enhance the hotel experience immensely. The hotel is conveniently located for business in Upper Hill area of Nairobi which is fast developing into the new business district. The roads in the area, unfortunately, are terrible and presents and unfavorable picture when approaching the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on 5th floor facing front of hotel are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you RAnilC for your time to review us on trip advisor. We appreciate your feedback, both positive and constructive. I have shared your comments and suggestions with the team and I assure you that they have taken them seriously. As for the roads in the area, we anticipate the completion in the next few months. This will make movement around upper hill much easier, hassle-free and create a favorable picture of the hotel.

Thank you for your patronage hoping to welcome you back soon!

Best wishes,
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.